Quick answer
- Choose NovelAI if you want to write or play in one place with unlimited text generation for a flat price: $10, $15 or $25 a month, a Text Adventure mode and AI text-to-speech included. It has no free plan and no native app.
- Choose Sudowrite if you are drafting a novel and want fiction-tuned tools (Write, Rewrite, Describe, Expand, Brainstorm, chat), a Story Bible, a choice of models and iPhone and Android apps. It costs $19, $29 or $59 a month, or $10, $22 or $44 a month paid annually.
- The difference in kind: NovelAI sells unlimited text and tiers its memory. Sudowrite sells monthly credits and a toolset, and is a writers' tool and not a reading or playing app.
- Adult content: at Sudowrite it depends on the model: its own Muse is documented as
Virtually none
for content filtering, its OpenAI-based models asStrict
. At NovelAI the answer is not confirmed either way. - Conflicts, unresolved: Sudowrite's Terms and docs disagree on refunds, and its pricing page prints two credit figures for one plan. NovelAI's Terms and Privacy Policy name different company addresses.
Both put a language model beside a writer, and both ask for a monthly fee. NovelAI is described in our record as a subscription storyteller, where you write in a document with the model continuing, or play a text adventure. Sudowrite is described as an AI writing partner for novelists, where the author prompts and steers and the model drafts, rewrites and expands scenes. The table sets out the fields both records carry, as checked in October 2026.
| Checked Oct 28, 2026 | NovelAI | Sudowrite |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $10.00/mo | $19.00/mo |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Free trial | Yes | Yes |
| Credits or coins | Anlas, the currency for images and other metered actions; text generation is unlimited on every paid tier | Monthly credits; use depends on words read, words written and the model |
| Audio stories | Yes | Not confirmed |
| Voice narration | Yes | Not confirmed |
| Interactive stories | Yes | No |
| Branching choices | No | No |
| AI stories | Yes | Yes |
| Custom stories | Yes | Not confirmed |
| Offline reading | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| Explicit content | Not confirmed: the terms do not restrict adult content, but no sentence states that it is permitted | Depends on the model: Sudowrite's own Muse model has 'virtually none' content filtering; its OpenAI-based models avoid explicit sexual content |
| iPhone app | No | Yes |
| Android app | No | Yes |
| Web version | Yes | Yes |
| Creator program | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| How to cancel | Through the payment processor or NovelAI's payment center; tier privileges stay until the paid period ends | From the account membership page or by email |
| Says all characters are adults | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| Store age rating | Not confirmed | 4+ on the App Store; Everyone on Google Play |
| Minimum age in its own terms | 18 | Not confirmed |
| Library | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| New stories | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| Content rules | No published rule on sexual content involving minors found in the pages read: Terms of Service, Privacy Policy, docs FAQ, docs Subscription page and docs Explore page. This describes the pages read, not a claim that NovelAI has no policy. The Terms require users to be 18 or older. The only content rule found is for uploads to the public Explore gallery: 'No NSFW.' | Minors: Terms prohibit use 'to create sexually explicit content featuring minors or content that sexually exploits minors'. Users must be 18+. The same list bars 'any obscene or immoral purpose'. |
"Not confirmed" means the pages we read do not say, which is different from "no". Two rows need a reading note. Sudowrite's "No" for interactive stories and branching choices reflects that it is a co-writing tool with no reader-facing choices, recorded from its feature list. And "Explicit content" is a conditional answer for Sudowrite, which depends on the model, and "not confirmed" for NovelAI, whose Terms do not say adult content is permitted.
A storyteller and a writing tool
NovelAI's home page says "Build stories, worlds, and characters with an AI that writes with you" and describes the generator as built "to write with you, not for you". Its docs describe a document editor with the model continuing, and a Text Adventure mode with Do and Say commands. It also offers AI text-to-speech and image generation, and its home-page title reads "AI Anime Image Generator & Storyteller". Its text generation is "powered by GLM 4.6" by its own home page.
Sudowrite's pricing page lists Write, Rewrite, Describe, Expand, Brainstorm and chat, with continuity across a series and a Story Bible. Muse and Ballad are its own models for fiction, alongside 30 or more others, and the Professional and Max plans add a Feedback feature covering developmental edits, line edits and beta reads. It is a tool for the person drafting a book. If you are choosing where to publish what you write, our pages on the best erotica platforms for writers and how to publish erotica cover that side. The glossary entry for an AI story generator sets out the terms.
NovelAI vs Sudowrite on price
NovelAI's prices renew every 30 days. Sudowrite's web prices are shown both ways, billed monthly and billed annually, with the per-month figure for the annual term. Sudowrite's yearly totals are not printed; twelve times the monthly figure is our assumption.
| Tier | NovelAI | Sudowrite |
|---|---|---|
| Free | No free plan. A one-time "Paper" trial: 50 text generations, 30 image generations, 100 text-to-speech generations | No free plan. A trial marked "No credit card, cancel anytime"; its length is not stated |
| Entry | Tablet, $10: unlimited text, 8,192 tokens of memory, 1,000 bonus Anlas | Hobby & Student, $19 monthly or $10 a month paid annually: 225,000 credits |
| Middle | Scroll, $15: 12,288 tokens, 1,000 bonus Anlas | Professional, $29 monthly or $22 annually: 1,000,000 credits and Feedback |
| Top | Opus, $25: 28,672 tokens, 10,000 bonus Anlas, Opus-only models | Max, $59 monthly or $44 annually: 2,000,000 credits, 12-month rollover |
| iPhone | No app; installable web app | App Store: $24.99, $39.99 and $84.99, monthly only |
The sticker prices start at the same place only if you pay Sudowrite annually: Hobby & Student at $10 a month matches NovelAI's Tablet at $10. Over a year NovelAI's 30-day cycle means about 12.2 payments, so Tablet comes to about $121.67, against $120 if Sudowrite's annual rate is a straight twelve months. Paid monthly, Sudowrite's entry plan is $9 higher. At the top, NovelAI's Opus is $25 against $59 monthly or $44 annually. The iPhone prices are higher still: $5.99, $10.99 and $25.99 above the web monthly price on the three plans.
The meters are different in kind. NovelAI makes text unlimited on every paid tier and sells Anlas for images and other metered actions; what the tiers differ in is memory. Sudowrite meters everything in credits that depend on words read, words written and the model. Its docs say there is no one-to-one relationship with words: 1 million credits of the Professional plan might allow you to generate anywhere from 50,000 to 500,000 AI words in a month
. On Professional at $29 that is between about 6 cents and 58 cents per thousand AI words, a tenfold spread (our arithmetic from the docs' range). NovelAI cannot be put on that scale, because its text is unlimited. The detail is on what NovelAI costs and Sudowrite pricing, and our guide to how story app credits work explains the model.
Adult content and whose model decides
At Sudowrite the answer depends on the model. The docs, last updated January 14, 2026, rate its own Muse as Content Filter Level: Virtually none. Handles any content from dark and gritty to light and humorous, including graphic or mature themes that other AIs might refuse.
The OpenAI-based models are rated Strict, inheriting OpenAI's content moderation. Avoids explicit sexual content and extreme violence
. The Terms list "any obscene or immoral purpose" among prohibited uses, which sits awkwardly beside the Muse description, and we do not know how it is applied. We also do not know whether the iPhone and Android apps apply the same filters as the web app.
NovelAI says less. Its Terms, effective December 8, 2025, require users to be 18 or older and contain no clause restricting adult content, and no sentence says it is permitted. An absence of a ban is not a permission, so we record the answer as not confirmed. Its home page markets image generation with "No restrictions. No compromises.", a claim about images. The one NSFW rule we found is "No NSFW." for uploads to the public Explore gallery. The whole picture of who allows what is in our guide to whether AI story apps allow NSFW.
The rules on characters under 18
Both require users to be 18. Sudowrite's Terms say "You must be at least 18 years of age to use the Website and Services", and users warrant it; no check is described. On content, the Terms prohibit use to create sexually explicit content featuring minors or content that sexually exploits minors
. That is a single line and not a detailed policy. For NovelAI, we found no published rule on sexual content involving characters under 18 in the Terms, Privacy Policy, docs FAQ, Subscription page or Explore page. Its /guidelines, /rules and /content-policy addresses return a 404, and the in-app Explore upload guidelines sit behind a login we did not use. That describes the pages we read, not a claim that NovelAI has no policy.
Neither service publishes a sentence saying all characters are adults. The Terms of each bind the user, not the characters. The Sudowrite mobile apps are rated 4+ on the App Store and Everyone on Google Play, which says nothing about what Muse will write; NovelAI has no store listing to rate.
Where each company's own pages disagree
Both records carry contradictions between pages the company published. We print them as found and resolve none.
| Question | One page says | Another page says |
|---|---|---|
| Sudowrite: refunds | The Terms: "Due to the nature of digital services, we do not refund fees on cancellation." | The docs promise a refund if you tell them within the first 7 days (trial page) or first week (plans page) |
| Sudowrite: Professional credits | The rendered pricing page prints "450,000" beside "1,000,000" | The docs and the page's structured data say 1,000,000. We record the docs figure |
| Sudowrite: the trial | The pricing page says "No credit card" | The docs describe a refund, which implies a charge. The trial length is not stated |
| NovelAI: where the company is | The Terms: a Delaware-based limited liability company, mailing address in Sheridan, Wyoming | The Privacy Policy names Anlatan Inc. of Boston, Massachusetts as controller |
| NovelAI: memory size | The docs FAQ still gives 3072 to 8192 tokens | The tier table gives 8,192, 12,288 and 28,672. We use the tier table |
On Sudowrite's operator, the store developer is Human Plus Plus, Inc., but the Terms refer only to "the Operator", so the legal entity named in the Terms is not confirmed. If a refund matters, email Sudowrite before the first week ends and keep the reply.
Apps, cancelling and privacy
NovelAI is a web app installable as a Progressive Web App; its docs FAQ answers the phone-app question with the mobile browser and that install route, so no store price exists to compare. Sudowrite has a web app, an iPhone app from Human Plus Plus, Inc. and an Android app.
Sudowrite's Terms say the subscription renews automatically each month and can be cancelled from the account membership page or by email, and its pricing page promises an "EZ Cancel Guarantee". NovelAI renews exactly 30 days after payment and cancels through the payment processor or its payment center, with tier privileges kept until the paid period ends; its Terms offer no refunds unless explicitly granted. NovelAI's Privacy Policy summarises itself this way: your stories are end-to-end encrypted and we cannot read them, and we do not store the prompts you send for generation.
That is the policy's own statement, which we report and have not tested. Sudowrite's privacy policy is linked from its home page and we did not record its contents. Documents stay exportable without a Sudowrite plan.
Which one should you pick?
- Best for unlimited text on a flat price: NovelAI, on every paid tier.
- Best for the lowest monthly price: NovelAI, at $10 against $19 for Sudowrite's entry plan billed monthly.
- Best for novel-drafting tools and a Story Bible: Sudowrite.
- Best for choosing between models with different filters: Sudowrite, whose docs rate Muse and its OpenAI-based models separately.
- Best for iPhone and Android apps: Sudowrite. NovelAI is web only.
- Best for a text adventure and built-in text-to-speech: NovelAI.
- Best for a trial that asks for no card: Sudowrite, by its pricing page. The docs imply a charge, so check.
The two serve overlapping but different readers: NovelAI suits someone who writes or plays for its own sake, Sudowrite someone producing a manuscript. For the player-side pair, see AI Dungeon vs NovelAI, and for the wider field NovelAI alternatives and the AI stories section. Every pair is in the comparisons section.
FAQ
Is NovelAI or Sudowrite cheaper?
NovelAI at the entry point: $10 a month against $19 for Sudowrite's Hobby & Student plan billed monthly. Sudowrite's annual rate for that plan is also $10 a month. The two meter differently, with NovelAI unlimited in text and Sudowrite in credits.
Does NovelAI or Sudowrite have a free trial?
NovelAI has a one-time "Paper" trial of 50 text generations, 30 image generations and 100 text-to-speech generations. Sudowrite's pricing page offers a trial with no credit card, and does not state its length. Neither has a free plan.
Does Sudowrite allow NSFW?
It depends on the model. The docs rate Sudowrite's Muse as "Virtually none" for content filtering and its OpenAI-based models as "Strict". The Terms prohibit "any obscene or immoral purpose" and bar sexually explicit content featuring minors.
Does NovelAI allow NSFW?
Not confirmed. The Terms require users to be 18 or older and restrict nothing, but no sentence says adult content is permitted. The only NSFW ban we found is on public Explore uploads.
Can you get a refund from Sudowrite?
Its pages disagree. The Terms say fees are not refunded on cancellation, while the docs promise a refund within the first 7 days. We do not know which prevails, so email before the week ends and keep the reply.
Do NovelAI and Sudowrite say all characters are adults?
No. We found no such sentence for either. Both require users to be 18. Sudowrite's Terms add a line on sexually explicit content featuring minors, and we found no published rule on characters under 18 in the NovelAI pages we read.
Sources
Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 28, 2026).
- novelai.net: Homepage: product description, 'No restrictions' image-generation claim,…
- docs.novelai.net: Docs Subscription page: tiers, prices, trial, renewal, text-to-speech,…
- docs.novelai.net: Docs FAQ: no free version, no phone app (PWA), Opus bundle value,…
- novelai.net: Terms of Service effective December 8th, 2025: operator, 18+ rule, refunds,…
- novelai.net: Privacy Policy effective September 10th, 2026: controller address, encryption…
- docs.novelai.net: Docs Explore page: 'No NSFW' upload guideline
- docs.novelai.net: Docs Text Adventure page: Do / Say modes
- docs.novelai.net: Tier table image on the Subscription page
- sudowrite.com: Homepage: footer links to terms and privacy
- sudowrite.com: Plans, trial wording, feature list, models, credit rollover on Max
- docs.sudowrite.com: Docs: plans, monthly and annual prices, credits, first-week refund
- docs.sudowrite.com: Docs: trial and 7-day refund, last updated February 17, 2026
- docs.sudowrite.com: Docs: what credits are, words-per-credit example
- docs.sudowrite.com: Docs: models and their content filter levels, last updated January 14, 2026
- sudowrite.com: Terms and Conditions: 18+, minors wording, obscene or immoral purpose,…
- sudowrite.com: Privacy policy (footer link)
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: Human Plus Plus, Inc., 4+, in-app purchase list
- play.google.com: Google Play listing: Everyone, in-app purchases

