Quick answer
- What it is: an AI writing partner for authors, not a reading app. For authors choosing a platform to publish on, see how to publish erotica.
- Adult content: depends on the model. The docs rate Muse, Sudowrite's own, as
Virtually none
for content filtering, and its OpenAI-based models asStrict
, inheriting OpenAI's moderation. - Price: web, $19, $29 and $59 a month for Hobby & Student, Professional and Max, or $10, $22 and $44 a month paid annually. The iPhone app charges $24.99, $39.99 and $84.99 a month.
- Free: no free plan. The pricing page offers a trial with no credit card; the docs describe a refund in the first week.
- Characters under 18: the Terms prohibit using the service to create sexually explicit content featuring people under 18. We found no sentence saying all characters are adults.
What Is Sudowrite?
Sudowrite is an AI writing partner for novelists. Its pricing page lists Write, Rewrite, Describe, Expand, Brainstorm and an AI chat for fiction, with a Story Bible, continuity across a series, and Feedback (developmental edits, line edits and beta reads) on the two upper plans. The company behind the store listings is Human Plus Plus, Inc.; the Terms refer only to "the Operator", so the legal entity named in them is not confirmed.
It has a web app and companion apps for iPhone and Android. There is no library to read, no interactive story and no reader-facing choice; it is a tool for producing a manuscript, and that is why we keep it out of our rankings of reading apps.
Sudowrite review: who it suits
On the published pages, Sudowrite suits an author drafting a novel who wants a model tuned for fiction and is happy to pay by credits. It does not suit someone who wants stories to read, a finished library, narration or a game. If your interest is publishing what you write, our page on the payment processors that treat adult content writers differently covers one of the next steps.
Whose model is it? Two content rules in one product
The content rules at an AI writing service follow whoever supplies the model, and Sudowrite is the clearest case in this section. It offers its own models, Muse and Ballad, which its pricing page calls Sudowrite's AI models just for fiction
, alongside 30 or more others. Those others include OpenAI-based models, and they do not behave like Muse.
The docs page on choosing a model (last updated January 14, 2026) rates Muse like this: Content Filter Level: Virtually none. Handles any content from dark and gritty to light and humorous, including graphic or mature themes that other AIs might refuse. Use discretion, but know Muse won't shy away from adult content.
It rates the OpenAI-based models as Strict, inheriting OpenAI's content moderation. Avoids explicit sexual content and extreme violence
.
So the same prompt can be written by one model and refused by another, inside one subscription. Which model you select decides what you get. The Terms add a complication. Their list of prohibited uses includes any obscene or immoral purpose
, which sits awkwardly beside the docs' description of Muse. The Terms and the model docs are both Sudowrite's, and we do not know how the Terms phrase is applied. We also do not know whether the iPhone and Android apps apply the same filters as the web app.
For the wider picture, see our guide to NSFW rules at AI story apps.
Credits, not context
Most services in this section sell tiers on context size. Sudowrite does not publish one. Its memory is described as the Story Bible, series support and what it calls a saliency engine, with no token figures. What it sells instead is credits: 225,000 a month on Hobby & Student, 1,000,000 on Professional and 2,000,000 on Max. Unused credits roll over for 12 months on Max only.
The docs are candid that credits do not map to words. Use depends on words read, words written and the model, and 1 million credits of the Professional plan might allow you to generate anywhere from 50,000 to 500,000 AI words in a month
. That is a tenfold spread. On Professional at $29 a month it works out at between about 6 cents and 58 cents per thousand AI words, depending on what you ask for and which model does it.
The step between plans is uneven. Hobby & Student to Professional costs $10 more at monthly billing and gives more than four times the credits (225,000 to 1,000,000), plus Feedback. Professional to Max is almost exactly a doubling: $29 to $59 monthly, or $22 to $44 paid annually, for twice the credits and 12-month rollover. One more discrepancy: the rendered pricing page prints "450,000" beside "1,000,000" for Professional, while the docs plans page and the page's structured data say 1,000,000. We record the docs figure and have not resolved the difference.
How much Sudowrite costs
| Plan | Price | Billed | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hobby & Student, paid monthly | $19.00 | month, paid monthly | 225,000 credits per month |
| Hobby & Student, paid annually | $10.00 | month, paid annually | 225,000 credits per month |
| Professional, paid monthly | $29.00 | month, paid monthly | 1,000,000 credits per month; includes the Feedback feature (developmental edits, line edits, beta reads) |
| Professional, paid annually | $22.00 | month, paid annually | 1,000,000 credits per month; includes the Feedback feature (developmental edits, line edits, beta reads) |
| Max, paid monthly | $59.00 | month, paid monthly | 2,000,000 credits per month; unused credits roll over for 12 months |
| Max, paid annually | $44.00 | month, paid annually | 2,000,000 credits per month; unused credits roll over for 12 months |
| App Store: Hobby & Student Monthly | $24.99 | month | iOS subscription item as named on the listing |
| App Store: Professional Monthly | $39.99 | month | iOS subscription item as named on the listing |
| App Store: Max Monthly | $84.99 | month | iOS subscription item as named on the listing |
| App Store: Credit Pack 100k | $5.89 | once | 100k credits (as named in the item) |
| App Store: Credit Pack Tier 2 Small 200k | $10.90 | once | 200k credits (as named in the item) |
| App Store: Credit Pack Tier 1 Medium 500k | $22.49 | once | 500k credits (as named in the item) |
| App Store: Credit Pack Tier 2 Medium 600k | $22.49 | once | 600k credits (as named in the item) |
| App Store: Credit Pack Tier 1 Large 1750k | $57.90 | once | 1750k credits (as named in the item) |
| App Store: Credit Pack Tier 2 Large 1900k | $57.90 | once | 1900k credits (as named in the item) |
| App Store: Credit Pack Tier 2 XL 4000k | $116.99 | once | 4000k credits (as named in the item) |
Checked October 27, 2026. Source: docs.sudowrite.com. Prices change with region, promotions and the store you buy through.
The web rows are US-dollar prices from the pricing page and the docs plans page. The rendered pricing page shows the annual view ($10, $22, $44); both terms are in the docs. Paying annually cuts the per-month price by about 47 percent for Hobby & Student, 24 percent for Professional and 25 percent for Max. The yearly total is not printed, so twelve times the monthly figure ($120, $264, $528) is our arithmetic, not a quoted charge.
The rows beginning "App Store" are in-app purchase items from the US listing, and they are dearer. The iPhone app charges $24.99, $39.99 and $84.99 a month, monthly billing only: $5.99, $10.99 and $25.99 more than the web monthly price, or about 32, 38 and 44 percent more. A year of the iOS Hobby & Student plan would come to $299.88, against $120 for ten dollars a month on the web. Google Play shows no price range in the data we read.
The App Store credit packs run from 100k credits for $5.89 to 4000k for $116.99. Two ladders share prices: 500k and 600k are both $22.49, and 1750k and 1900k are both $57.90. The listing does not say which a given account is offered, and the pack list may be partial. At $2.92 per 100,000 credits the largest pack costs about what Professional's credits do on the web ($29 for 1,000,000, or $2.90), so packs are not a cheap way round a plan. Web credit-pack prices were not recorded. See what Sudowrite costs for the plan-level view and how story app credits work for the general trap.
Trial, refunds and where the pages disagree
The pricing page says Start Free Trial · No credit card, cancel anytime
. The docs trial page says that if Sudowrite is not for you, just let us know within the first 7 days and we'll not only cancel your plan but also refund you
. The trial length is not stated. A refund implies a charge, which sits oddly beside "no credit card", and we do not resolve it. Documents stay exportable without a plan.
The refund rule is the clearest contradiction. The Terms say Due to the nature of digital services, we do not refund fees on cancellation.
The docs, on the trial page (last updated February 17, 2026) and the plans page, promise a refund in the first week. Both are published and we do not know which prevails. If a refund matters to you, email before the week ends and keep the reply.
The Terms say the subscription renews automatically each month, and that you can cancel from the account membership page or by emailing. The pricing page promises an "EZ Cancel Guarantee". Our guide to cancelling a story app subscription has the general routine. We did not record what the Terms say about who owns generated text, so we make no claim on it.
The age rule and what we did not find
Users warrant that they are at least 18. The Terms also prohibit using the service to create sexually explicit content featuring minors or content that sexually exploits minors
. That is a single line, not a detailed policy. We found no sentence stating that all characters are adults on the Terms, the Privacy Policy, the pricing page or the docs pages on plans, credits, the trial and model choice; the Terms bar content and bind users, not characters. The mobile apps are rated 4+ on the App Store and Everyone on Google Play, which says nothing about what Muse will write. For how the services here handle your data, see whether erotica apps are private.
Mobile apps and web version
| Where | Available | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| iPhone and iPad | Yes | 'Sudowrite - AI Novel Writing', seller Human Plus Plus, Inc., Free with in-app purchases, category Utilities. |
| Android | Yes | Rated Everyone, in-app purchases. The Google Play listing data did not expose a price range. |
| Web browser | Yes |
The iPhone app is "Sudowrite - AI Novel Writing" from Human Plus Plus, Inc., free with in-app purchases and listed under Utilities. The Android app carries in-app purchases too. The web app is the full product.
Pros
- Its own fiction model, Muse, with a published content filter level of "virtually none"
- Annual billing cuts the monthly price by 24 to 47 percent
- Credit rollover for 12 months on Max
- Documents stay exportable without a plan
Cons
- Its OpenAI-based models are strict, and the Terms ban "any obscene or immoral purpose"
- The Terms and the docs disagree on refunds
- iOS prices run 32 to 44 percent above the web monthly price
- No free plan, no published context size, and credits that convert to words by a tenfold range
Best Sudowrite alternatives
If you want unlimited generated text for a flat price, NovelAI sells three tiers with memory figures published; see NovelAI against Sudowrite. If you want control over which model's rules apply, NovelCrafter ships no model and lets you connect your own. For AI story tools aimed at readers rather than authors, the AI story section lists each one, and platform reviews covers the rest. More on how these tools work is in our entry on the AI story generator.
FAQ
Does Sudowrite allow NSFW content?
It depends on the model. The docs say Sudowrite's own Muse has virtually no content filter and handles graphic or mature themes, while its OpenAI-based models are strict and avoid explicit sexual content. The Terms also prohibit "any obscene or immoral purpose".
Is Sudowrite free?
There is no free plan. The pricing page offers a free trial with no credit card, and the docs promise a refund in the first week. The trial length is not stated.
How much is Sudowrite?
On the web, Hobby & Student is $19 a month ($10 paid annually), Professional $29 ($22) and Max $59 ($44). On the iPhone app the monthly plans are $24.99, $39.99 and $84.99.
Can I get a refund from Sudowrite?
The sources disagree. The Terms say fees are not refunded on cancellation. The docs say to email within the first week for a refund.
Is Sudowrite a reading app?
No. It is a writing tool for authors. It has no library of stories to read and no interactive stories.
Is there a Sudowrite app?
Yes, for iPhone (rated 4+) and Android (rated Everyone), plus the web app. Whether the mobile apps apply the same content filters as the web is not confirmed.
Final verdict
Sudowrite is a drafting tool for authors, and the thing to understand before paying is that its content rules belong to the model you pick: Muse is documented as nearly unfiltered, the OpenAI-based models as strict. Do the web, not the iPhone app, if price matters, and read the refund contradiction before relying on either version of it. We have not used it, so this reads the published plans and docs.
Sources
Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 27, 2026).
- sudowrite.com: Homepage: footer links to terms and privacy
- sudowrite.com: Plans, trial wording, feature list, models, credit rollover on Max
- docs.sudowrite.com: Docs: plans, monthly and annual prices, credits, first-week refund
- docs.sudowrite.com: Docs: trial and 7-day refund, last updated February 17, 2026
- docs.sudowrite.com: Docs: what credits are, words-per-credit example
- docs.sudowrite.com: Docs: models and their content filter levels, last updated January 14, 2026
- sudowrite.com: Terms and Conditions: 18+, minors wording, obscene or immoral purpose,…
- sudowrite.com: Privacy policy (footer link)
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: Human Plus Plus, Inc., 4+, in-app purchase list
- play.google.com: Google Play listing: Everyone, in-app purchases




