Quick answer
- Choose Audible if you already use a mainstream audiobook subscription and want erotica titles inside it, or you want a very large catalogue. Plans start at $8.99 a month with a 30-day trial, and the Erotica category showed 55,012 titles on October 27, 2026.
- Choose Dipsea if you want a specialist library of produced erotic and romance audio for one flat price, $12.99 a month or $69.99 a year, with no per-title purchases.
- The difference in kind: Audible sells one audiobook selection or credit a month, and extra titles are bought at full price. Dipsea has no credits: the subscription covers the library.
- Offline: both say you can download. Audible's home page says "Download titles to listen offline"; Dipsea's store text says "Download your favorite stories".
- Age and content: we could not confirm a minimum age or an explicit-content rule in Audible's Conditions of Use. Dipsea's Terms set 18+ with a sign-up checkbox. Neither publishes a sentence saying all characters are adults.
Audible is a store with an Erotica category among many. Dipsea is a service that exists to sell erotic and romance audio. Both are subscriptions, both run on iPhone, Android and the web, and both state downloads. After that they diverge, and the divergence is a matter of how the product is built. This Audible vs Dipsea page covers the Erotica category only, not the rest of Audible. The table sets out the fields both records carry, as checked in October 2026.
| Checked Oct 28, 2026 | Audible (Erotica category) | Dipsea |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $8.99/mo | $12.99/mo |
| Free tier | No | No |
| Free trial | 30 days | 7 days free, annual plan only |
| Credits or coins | Credits: Standard members select 1 audiobook a month; Premium Plus gives 1 credit a month and credits roll over; extra titles are sold at full price | No |
| Audio stories | Yes | Yes |
| Voice narration | Not confirmed | Yes |
| Interactive stories | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| Branching choices | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| AI stories | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| Custom stories | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| Offline reading | Yes | Yes |
| Explicit content | Not confirmed | Yes |
| iPhone app | Yes | Yes |
| Android app | Yes | Yes |
| Web version | Yes | Yes |
| Creator program | Not confirmed | Yes |
| How to cancel | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| Says all characters are adults | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| Store age rating | 13+ on Google Play | App Store 18+; Google Play Mature 17+ |
| Minimum age in its own terms | Not confirmed | 18 |
| Library | Erotica category: 55,012 titles on 2026-10-27 | 1000+ audio stories and audiobooks |
| New stories | Not confirmed | New releases weekly |
| Content rules | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
"Not confirmed" means the pages we read do not say, which is different from "no". Three rows need a reading note. For Audible the minimum-age, explicit-content and character-age answers are all "not confirmed" because its Conditions of Use were read once through a page fetch and our page-text tool returned no text for the legal pages, so this is a gap in our reading and not a finding that the pages are silent. For Dipsea the "minimum age in its own terms" row is empty because the figure sits in the age-check field instead: its Terms say 18 or older.
A retailer and an app are different products
Audible's record describes it as a general audiobook retailer and subscription that has a top-level Erotica category, and it is covered here for that catalogue alone. Its home page lists audiobooks, podcasts and Originals. The Erotica category is one shelf in a store whose other shelves we did not read.
Dipsea is the reverse: erotic and romance audio is the whole product. Its home page calls the stories "professionally written and voice-acted", and the narration comes from voice actors it recruits. Many series are full-cast, and the library also holds single-narrator audios, sleep scenes, guided wellness audio and romance novels to read. We have not listened to either service, so we say nothing about how any title sounds.
Library: a category count against a company claim
Audible's Erotica category page showed 55,012 titles on October 27, 2026. Its filters show 51,603 under Literature & Fiction and 2,870 under Sex Instruction. Those two add up to 54,473, which is 539 short of the total, and the page does not say where the difference sits. The count will have moved since. It is a catalogue count from a general retailer's own page, and the category mixes fiction with instruction titles. We did not audit it title by title.
Dipsea's FAQ post, dated May 9, 2024, says "1000+ audio stories and audiobooks", with new releases weekly, and the App Store listing repeats it. That is the company's claim and not a count. The two figures are different kinds of number, so do not set them against each other as a ratio: one is a live category total, the other a floor stated by the seller. What the sizes imply is a different shopping experience. In a catalogue of 55,012 you search for what you want. In a library the seller puts at 1000+, the service has already done some of the choosing. Dipsea's home page tags include contemporary, fantasy, paranormal, historical and Regency, Western, sapphic, queer, M/M, M/F/M and "why-choose". Audible's category page records only the two sub-categories. Narrators are not recorded for Audible.
How you pay: a monthly selection against a flat subscription
Audible's home page lists two plans. Standard is $8.99 a month and lets you select one audiobook a month. Premium Plus is $14.95 a month and gives one credit a month, with credits that roll over. Extra titles are sold at full price; the amount is not recorded. Dipsea has no coins, credits or per-story purchases, only the subscription. Whether Standard's monthly selection covers the Erotica category is not stated on the pages we read.
| Cost | Audible | Dipsea |
|---|---|---|
| Entry plan | Standard, $8.99 a month: one audiobook selection a month | Monthly, $12.99: the whole library |
| Other plan | Premium Plus, $14.95 a month: one credit a month, credits roll over | Annual, $69.99, worded "only $5.83/month": the whole library |
| Annual | No regular annual price confirmed; a limited-time "$99 for a year of Premium", "like $8.25/mo", with no end date shown | $69.99 |
| Trial | 30 days on each plan for new members | 7 days, annual plan only |
| Twelve months of the entry plan (our arithmetic) | $107.88 at $8.99 | $155.88 monthly, or $69.99 annual |
| An extra title | Full price; amount not recorded | Nothing to buy: no extra titles |
The sums depend on what you listen to. If you take one audiobook a month, Audible's Standard plan works out at $8.99 a title and Premium Plus at $14.95 a credit, both before any extra titles. If you listen to several items a month from a single library, Dipsea's flat price covers all of them. A year of Standard costs $107.88, which is $37.89 more than Dipsea's annual $69.99 and $48.00 less than twelve monthly Dipsea payments. That comparison is not like for like, since one buys a title a month and the other buys access to a library, so we leave the choice to what you plan to hear. The limited-time $99 offer has no stated end date and is not a regular price. The detail on Dipsea is at what Dipsea costs. There is no separate pricing page for Audible on this site; the plans above come from its home page. Our guide to how story app credits work explains the credit model.
Free access and trials
Neither has a standing free plan. Audible's home page says "Each plan offers a 30-day free trial to new members", and "Try for $0.00 ... Auto renews for $8.99 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime." Whether a card is required is not stated. Dipsea's trial is 7 days, on the annual plan only, billed $69.99 when it ends, and the monthly plan has none. Its Terms say Dipsea "may" let you listen to some content free at sign-up, which is not a promise. The trial is longer at Audible and covers both plans; at Dipsea it covers the cheaper-per-month plan only.
Apps, web and offline
Both run on iPhone, Android and the web, and both state downloads. Audible's Android app has 100M+ downloads on Google Play, and its iPhone listing is the general "Audible: Audiobooks & Podcasts" app from Audible, Inc. Dipsea's Android app has 500K+ downloads and was updated on July 31, 2026; its iPhone app was updated on August 25, 2026. Download counts are the stores' ranges and say more about a general retailer's reach than about erotica. Our offline reading page lists the services that document downloads.
Age, content rules and privacy
This is the sharpest contrast in how the pages read. Dipsea's sign-up checkbox says "By checking this box, I certify I am at least 18 years old", and section 4(a) of its Terms says "You may use the Services only if you are 18 years or older". Its apps are rated 18+ on the App Store and 17+ on Google Play. Its home page promises "your fantasy, uncensored" and tags the most explicit material "Extra Spicy".
Audible's Conditions of Use, last updated September 10, 2025, were read once, and no sentence on a minimum age or on explicit or adult content was found, though adult titles are on sale in the Erotica category. Its Google Play listing rates the general app 13+, a rating for the whole retailer and not for the category, and the App Store rating was not recorded. A reader who wants to see a service's age rule stated on its own pages will find one at Dipsea. A reader who is happy to buy inside a mainstream store should know that we could not confirm what the store's terms say about the category.
Neither publishes a sentence saying all characters are adults. For Audible the catalogue is too large to audit, and we looked only at the Conditions of Use. For Dipsea we searched the Terms, FAQ, About, Write for Us and sign-up pages and the store text. That describes the pages we read, not the catalogues. A card descriptor and a cancellation walkthrough are not recorded for either. Audible's home page promises "Cancel anytime".
Which one should you pick?
- Best for a very large catalogue: Audible, whose Erotica category showed 55,012 titles.
- Best for a flat price covering a whole erotic audio library: Dipsea, with no credits or per-title purchases.
- Best for a longer trial: Audible, at 30 days on every plan for new members.
- Best for one title a month at the lowest entry price: Audible Standard, at $8.99 a month.
- Best for a service whose terms address age in so many words: Dipsea, with its checkbox and clause. Audible's Conditions of Use gave us no equivalent sentence on a single read.
- Best for narration by recruited voice actors and full-cast series: Dipsea. Audible's narrators are not recorded.
If you want to see the wider field, Audible alternatives and Dipsea alternatives weigh the options, and Dipsea vs Quinn sets Dipsea against a creator marketplace. The model difference here is the one our comparison of subscription and credit-based story apps takes up. The audio erotica section and our page on erotic audio stories give the background, and the pairs are all listed in the comparisons section.
FAQ
Does Audible have erotica?
Yes. Its Erotica category showed 55,012 titles on October 27, 2026, with sub-categories for Literature & Fiction (51,603) and Sex Instruction (2,870). We did not audit the titles, and the Conditions of Use contain no sentence on explicit content that we could find.
Is Dipsea cheaper than Audible?
It depends on the plan. Audible Standard is $8.99 a month for one audiobook selection, against Dipsea's $12.99 for the whole library. Dipsea's annual plan, $69.99, is below Audible's cheapest twelve months at $107.88, though the two buy different things.
Do Audible and Dipsea have a free trial?
Audible gives new members 30 days on each plan and auto-renews at $8.99 a month afterwards. Dipsea gives 7 days on the annual plan only, billed $69.99 when it ends. Neither states whether a card is needed.
Can you listen offline on Audible and Dipsea?
Both say so. Audible's home page says "Download titles to listen offline". Dipsea's Google Play text says "Download your favorite stories to listen offline". We found no limits described for either.
Is Dipsea only for erotica?
It also carries sleep audio, guided wellness audio and romance novels to read, alongside the erotic and romance stories. Audible is the opposite: a general retailer in which erotica is one category.
Do Audible or Dipsea say all characters are adults?
No. We found no such sentence for either. Dipsea states a minimum age of 18 for the listener. For Audible we could not confirm a minimum age in the Conditions of Use.
Sources
Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 28, 2026).
- audible.com: Home page: plans, trial, credits, offline, limited-time annual offer
- audible.com: Erotica category: 55,012 titles and sub-category counts
- audible.com: Conditions of Use, last updated September 10, 2025
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing
- play.google.com: Google Play listing: rated 13+, 100M+ downloads
- dipseastories.com: Home page: tags, 'Your fantasy, uncensored', 'Extra Spicy'
- dipseastories.com: Sign-up page: $69.99/year with 7-day trial, 18+ checkbox
- support.dipseastories.com: Help Center FAQs: trial rules, monthly versus annual, supported…
- dipseastories.com: FAQ post dated 2024.05.09: 1000+ stories, weekly releases
- dipseastories.com: Terms of Service: operator, 18+ eligibility, free-content sentence
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: seller, 18+, version, price text
- play.google.com: Google Play listing: Mature 17+, offline downloads
- app.dipseastories.com: Web app
- dipseastories.com: Write for Us: paid writing
- dipseastories.com: Voice act for us page

