Erotica Apps

Best Audible Alternatives

Audiobook store

The best Audible alternative for erotica depends on how you want to pay. Dipsea and Quinn are specialists with unlimited listening, Everand and Kindle+ are general subscription libraries, Google Play Books sells by the title, and Bloom Stories has a free rotating selection. Audible's Standard plan is $8.99 a month for one audiobook.

$8.99/mo

Free tier: No

Visit audible.com
Audible (Erotica category) App Store screenshot 1
Audible (Erotica category) App Store screenshot 2
Audible (Erotica category) App Store screenshot 3
Audible (Erotica category) App Store screenshot 4

Official App Store screenshots, published by Audible (Erotica category).

Updated

Quick answer

  • Unlimited listening: Dipsea is $12.99 a month and Quinn is $7.99, and both are audio-led specialists. Audible Standard is $8.99 for one audiobook a month, so Quinn is cheaper and gives you everything in its library.
  • A general library instead: Everand, from $11.99 a month, and Kindle+, $11.99 plus taxes in the US, both bundle audiobooks with ebooks. Neither is a credit system.
  • No subscription: Google Play Books sells audiobooks one at a time on iPhone and Android, with a "For mature audiences" flag that publishers must set.
  • Free: Bloom Stories gives a free account a rotating selection of audios, with no time limit stated. Literotica's audio also costs nothing and needs no account, but it is a community site and not a pick here.
  • What Audible does not tell you: its Erotica category held 55,012 titles on October 27, 2026, and we found no explicit-content rule or minimum age in the Conditions of Use we read.

Why look for an Audible alternative

Audible is a mainstream audiobook retailer, covered here only for its Erotica category, and the case for leaving is about how it charges and what it says. The details are in our Audible review; the points that matter for an alternative are these.

  • One title a month. Standard members select one audiobook a month for $8.99. Premium Plus is $14.95 for one credit a month, and credits roll over. Extra titles are sold at full price, a figure we did not record. A listener who finishes several books a month pays per title on top of the plan.
  • No standing free plan, and an auto-renewing trial. Each plan offers a 30-day trial to new members. The home page says "Auto renews for $8.99 a month after 30 days", and whether a card is needed to start is not stated.
  • A huge category, too large for us to audit. The Erotica category counted 55,012 titles, 51,603 filed under Literature & Fiction and 2,870 under Sex Instruction. That is a general retailer's catalogue, and we cannot say what any given title contains.
  • No rule we could find. We read the Conditions of Use (last updated September 10, 2025) once and found no sentence on explicit content, a minimum age or the characters in a story. The Content Restrictions section is about lawful use. That describes the page we read and is not a claim that no rule exists.
  • The yearly price is unconfirmed. A $99-a-year Premium offer was on the home page, with no end date shown, and it is not a regular price.

The Audible home page carries the plan terms. There is no separate pricing page on this site, because the plans are two lines long.

The best Audible alternatives, by how you want to pay

Audible is a credit system, so the sensible way to choose is by payment model first and library second. We picked six that cover the unlimited, borrowed, per-title and free routes. The other alternatives pages start from different questions, because someone leaving a credit system wants something different from someone leaving a coin app.

Everand

Best general subscription with audiobooks and ebooks

$11.99/mo

Type
Subscription library of ebooks, audiobooks and podcasts
Free tier
No
Library
Millions of audiobooks and ebooks (vendor claim)
Explicit content
Unclear: an Erotica category exists for mature audiences; limits for licensed titles are not stated
Creator program
Not confirmed
Web version
Yes

Everand is the nearest general-library subscription: the home page says "From $11.99/month after trial", and the App Store text describes millions of audiobooks and ebooks, plus podcasts from participating publishers. The trial is 30 days on the website or 7 days through the App Store, and both include one free title. It has a dedicated Erotica category that, according to our records of its blurb, is for mature audiences and needs a subscription to browse. The apps support offline listening, and cancelling is done in account settings on the site or the app.

It costs more than Audible Standard, $11.99 against $8.99, in exchange for no credit counting. The terms set 18 as the minimum age, yet Google Play lists the app as Everyone, a gap we record without resolving. The rules for licensed titles are not stated, as at Audible.

Visit everand.comFull Everand page

Dipsea

Best specialist with unlimited listening

$12.99/mo

Type
audio erotica app
Free tier
No
Audio stories
Yes
Interactive stories
Not confirmed
AI stories
Not confirmed
iPhone app
Yes
Android app
Yes

Dipsea inverts Audible's trade-off: a claimed 1000+ stories, against 55,012 titles in Audible's Erotica category, but all of it included in one price. The flat $12.99 a month covers voice-acted series, audiobooks, single-narrator audios and sleep audio, with offline downloads mentioned on the Google Play text and a web app. Annual is $69.99 with a 7-day trial.

It is $4 a month above Audible Standard. In return nothing is rationed, though by its own claim the library is a small fraction of Audible's category, and there is no standing free plan. Our Audible against Dipsea page lines the two up.

Visit dipseastories.comFull Dipsea page

Quinn

Best lower-priced specialist

$7.99/mo

Type
audio erotica app
Free tier
Not confirmed
Audio stories
Yes
Interactive stories
Not confirmed
AI stories
Not confirmed
iPhone app
Yes
Android app
Yes

Quinn is $7.99 a month for unlimited listening, which is a dollar under Audible Standard and gives every audio in the library instead of one a month. Creators upload their own recordings, Quinn Originals add known actors, and the App Store lists a yearly plan at $59.99, where twelve Audible Standard months are $107.88. It runs on iPhone, Android and the web.

The trade-off is the opposite of Audible's: an open marketplace instead of publisher-licensed audiobooks, no stated free plan or trial, no library count and no offline listening stated. Audible lets you start with a trial; Quinn does not say you can.

Visit tryquinn.comFull Quinn page

Kindle+ (formerly Kindle Unlimited)

Best for borrowing narrated ebooks

$11.99/mo

Type
Ebook and audiobook subscription library (borrow model)
Free tier
No
Library
More than 5 million ebooks plus thousands of audiobooks, comics, manga and magazines (vendor claim)
Explicit content
Unclear: pornography is not sold; no erotica-specific rule on the pages read
Creator program
Yes
Web version
Yes

Kindle+, formerly Kindle Unlimited, is $11.99 a month plus taxes in the US with a 30-day trial. Amazon says audio narration is available for thousands of titles and that thousands of ebooks include a companion audiobook at no additional cost, so a reader who owns a Kindle app can switch between reading and listening. You can borrow up to 20 titles at a time with no due dates, and the claimed library is more than five million ebooks.

Two limits matter here. The audio side is a subset, thousands of audiobooks against millions of ebooks, so it is not an Audible replacement for a heavy listener. And the pages we read state no erotica rule beyond "pornography" being excluded from sale, and do not define it.

Open on the App StoreFull Kindle+ (formerly Kindle Unlimited) page

Google Play Books

Best with no subscription, on iPhone and Android

Pay per title

Type
Ebook and audiobook store and reader app (buy per title)
Free tier
Yes
Library
Millions of ebooks, audiobooks, comics and manga (vendor claim)
Explicit content
Only with educational, artistic, historical or documentary value, and a 'For mature audiences' flag
Creator program
Yes
Web version
Not confirmed

Google Play Books is a free app that sells ebooks and audiobooks by the title, so there is no monthly fee and no credit to run out. It runs on both iPhone and Android. Its publisher policy allows sexually explicit content "with educational, artistic, historical, or documentary value" if the publisher marks the title "For mature audiences", and bans pornographic content, so the store has a rule that Audible's pages do not print.

It is only cheaper if you buy fewer titles than a plan would give you, and we cannot work that out without per-title prices. The policy does not say whether an erotic novel passes the "value" test, and what Google removes in practice is not published. It has no Erotica category on its Books home, though search returns erotica titles.

Open on the App StoreFull Google Play Books page

Bloom Stories

Best for human-made audio, with a free selection

Free tierplan prices need an account

Type
audio erotica platform, two live front-ends (bloomstories.com and audiodesires.com)
Free tier
A selection of free audios with a free account: changing weekly on bloomstories.com, monthly on audiodesires.com
Library
1000+ audios; 500+ multi-voice stories
Explicit content
Yes
Creator program
Yes
Web version
Yes

Bloom Stories is an audio-only platform whose FAQ says it never uses AI to write, record or edit a story. It sells full-cast Signature Series, multi-voice stories, second-person episodes, sleep audio and licensed romance audiobooks, claims 1000+ audios, and runs on the web and in iPhone and Android apps. A free account gets a selection that changes each week on bloomstories.com, with no time limit stated. It lists English, German, Spanish and French.

It costs more than Audible, not less. The monthly price could not be confirmed, because the sign-up page source shows $29.95 and audiodesires.com says $29.99, and the yearly $131.40 is well above twelve Audible Standard payments at $107.88. The audiobook shelf is a collection among others and not the whole catalogue, and offline listening is not stated. It answers a different question from the credit system: who made the audio.

Visit bloomstories.comFull Bloom Stories page

Audible and its alternatives side by side

Audible heads the table, and the Explicit content column is the one to read: each service's own stance, in its own words where it gave one. Not confirmed is silence.

PlatformMonthlyFree tierFree trialOffline readingExplicit content
Audible (Erotica category)$8.99No30 daysYesNot confirmed
Everand$11.99No30 days free when subscribing on the website; a 7-day trial via the App Store; both include 1 free titleYesUnclear: an Erotica category exists for mature audiences; limits for licensed titles are not stated
Dipsea$12.99No7 days free, annual plan onlyYesYes
Quinn$7.99Not confirmedNot confirmedNot confirmedYes
Kindle+ (formerly Kindle Unlimited)$11.99No30-day free trial for new subscribers who have not tried Kindle+YesUnclear: pornography is not sold; no erotica-specific rule on the pages read
Google Play BooksNot confirmedYesNot confirmedYesOnly with educational, artistic, historical or documentary value, and a 'For mature audiences' flag
Bloom StoriesNot confirmedA selection of free audios with a free account: changing weekly on bloomstories.com, monthly on audiodesires.comNot confirmedNot confirmedYes

What a year costs, on published prices: Audible Standard is $107.88 for twelve audiobooks, one a month. Everand and Kindle+ are $143.88 each before taxes. Dipsea is $69.99 on its annual plan or $155.88 monthly, and Quinn is $59.99 on the App Store or $95.88 monthly. Bloom Stories lists $131.40 a year and no confirmed monthly price. Google Play Books has no yearly figure because you pay per title. Only the first of these rations what you can listen to.

How to choose

  • You listen to one or two audiobooks a month: Audible's model fits, and no alternative here is clearly cheaper. Stay, unless the missing erotica rule matters to you.
  • You listen to a great deal of erotica: an unlimited specialist, Dipsea or Quinn, because a credit system punishes volume.
  • You also read ebooks: Everand or Kindle+, and Everand against Kindle+ compares the two.
  • You want to pay only for what you pick: Google Play Books, with the policy gap in mind.
  • You want to try audio erotica for nothing: a free Bloom Stories account, or Literotica's free audio, then see free audio erotica for the services with free tiers.

The ranked list of audio erotica apps orders the specialists, and apps with audio erotica lists every service whose record says it has audio. If you start a trial, the steps for ending it are in how to cancel a story app subscription.

FAQ

Does Audible have erotica?

Yes. Audible has a top-level Erotica category, which held 55,012 titles on October 27, 2026: 51,603 under Literature & Fiction and 2,870 under Sex Instruction. We have not audited it, and we found no explicit-content rule in the Conditions of Use we read.

Is there an Audible alternative with unlimited listening?

Yes. Dipsea ($12.99 a month) and Quinn ($7.99) are audio-led specialists with a flat price. Everand and Kindle+ ($11.99 a month each) are general libraries with ebooks and audiobooks, and Kindle+ lets you borrow up to 20 titles at a time.

Is there a free alternative to Audible for erotica?

Literotica's audio is free and needs no account. Bloom Stories and BLANCHEstories also have free routes, a rotating selection and a free version with ads. Audible itself has a 30-day trial that renews into a monthly charge.

Is Quinn cheaper than Audible?

Per month, yes: $7.99 against $8.99 for Audible Standard. The difference is what you get. Quinn includes everything in its library, and Audible Standard includes one audiobook a month. Over a year, Quinn's App Store plan is $59.99 and twelve months of Audible Standard are $107.88.

Can I listen offline with these alternatives?

Audible, Everand and Kindle+ state offline listening. Dipsea's Google Play text mentions downloads. Quinn and Bloom Stories do not state it.

Sources

Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 28, 2026).