Erotica Apps

Best Everand Alternatives

Subscription library

The best Everand alternative depends on whether you want to keep renting. Kindle+ is the same price and the same borrowing model, Smashwords and Apple Books sell titles you keep, Audible rations audio by credit, and Dipsea is a flat-price audio specialist. Everand is from $11.99 a month and its Erotica category needs a subscription to browse.

$11.99/mo

Free tier: No

Visit everand.com
Everand App Store screenshot 1
Everand App Store screenshot 2
Everand App Store screenshot 3
Everand App Store screenshot 4

Official App Store screenshots, published by Everand.

Updated

Quick answer

  • Same model: Kindle+ is $11.99 a month plus taxes in the US, with a 30-day trial for new subscribers, and lets you borrow up to 20 titles at a time. Everand is "from $11.99/month after trial".
  • Keep the files: Smashwords sells DRM-free ebooks by the title, and Apple Books has no subscription. Both are pay-per-title and both list free titles, and paying per book is cheaper only if you read less than a subscription's worth.
  • Which state a rule: Smashwords publishes written erotica guidelines and hides erotica until a registered user switches it on. Everand, Kindle+ and Audible state none for licensed erotica titles in the pages we read.
  • Audio first: Dipsea is $12.99 a month for voice-acted audio and romance, and Audible is $8.99 for one audiobook a month. Neither sells a general ebook shelf like Everand's.
  • The honest limit: no other service in our records bundles ebooks, audiobooks and podcasts in one subscription, so every alternative drops something.

Why look for an Everand alternative

Everand is the ebook, audiobook and podcast subscription from Scribd, Inc., and our Everand review covers it in full. The reasons to look elsewhere are about terms, not quality:

  • You rent. It is a subscription that "continues until canceled", so nothing you read is yours afterwards. The Subscriber Agreement calls all fees nonrefundable except as set out in a Refund Policy page we did not read.
  • The trial depends on where you subscribe. The App Store text offers 30 days free on the website or 7 days through the App Store, and both include one free title. Whether a card is needed is not stated.
  • The Erotica category is behind the paywall. According to our record of its blurb, the category's selection is for mature audiences and needs a subscription to browse, so you cannot see what is in it before paying.
  • The rule for licensed titles is not stated. The Global Terms require users to be at least 18 and ban uploaded content that is, in a reasonable person's view, "pornographic" or "obscene", but that rule is written for what users upload, not for the titles Everand licenses from publishers.
  • Ratings disagree. The App Store rates it 18+ and Google Play lists it as Everyone, while the terms set 18. We record both sides.
  • A plan we cannot describe. The App Store lists "Everand Plus" at $16.99 beside two $11.99 items, and the listing does not say what Plus includes.

The Everand home page carries the current price. We have no separate pricing page for it.

The best Everand alternatives, by rent or own

Only one alternative is a rental library like Everand. The others change the model, so each pick says what you give up. For the questions this page does not ask, see the alternatives hub.

Kindle+ (formerly Kindle Unlimited)

Best for the nearest subscription library

$11.99/mo

Type
Ebook and audiobook subscription library (borrow model)
Free tier
No
Library
More than 5 million ebooks plus thousands of audiobooks, comics, manga and magazines (vendor claim)
Explicit content
Unclear: pornography is not sold; no erotica-specific rule on the pages read
Creator program
Yes
Web version
Yes

Kindle+, formerly Kindle Unlimited, is Amazon's borrowing library. The US price is $11.99 a month plus taxes, the same figure as Everand's headline, and new subscribers get a 30-day trial. Amazon claims more than five million ebooks and thousands of audiobooks, comics, manga and magazines. You read in the Kindle app on iOS, Android, Mac, PC and the web, or on a Kindle device, and cancelling leaves the subscription active until the next billing date with no refund of fees already paid.

Against Everand: there are no podcasts in Amazon's description, it works inside the Kindle app and not a library app of its own, and its pages state no erotica policy. Amazon's publishing guidelines say it does not sell content that "contains pornography", without defining the word. Everand against Kindle+ compares them dimension by dimension.

Open on the App StoreFull Kindle+ (formerly Kindle Unlimited) page

Smashwords

Best for owning DRM-free files, with a written erotica rule

Pay per title

Type
Independent DRM-free ebook store (web only), no subscription
Free tier
Yes
Library
Over one million original DRM-free ebooks (vendor claim)
Explicit content
Yes, hidden by default: registered users switch on 'Filtering' to see erotica
Creator program
No
Web version
Yes

Smashwords is an ebook store, not a subscription. Since January 2026 it is a dedicated store only, and it describes itself as a Draft2Digital company. Its About page claims over a million original DRM-free ebooks, including nearly 100,000 priced at free, and DRM-free means the file works on any e-reader or app. There is no monthly fee and no trial to run out.

It is the one service here with a detailed written rule. Its Erotica Content Guidelines (updated March 10, 2026) say erotica is "words-only", that pornography has never been allowed, and that erotica is hidden from search and home-page listings until a registered user affirmatively switches it on. The costs: you pay per title, there is no iPhone or Android app, and audio is not confirmed on the pages we read.

Visit smashwords.comFull Smashwords page

Apple Books

Best pay-per-title option on Apple devices

Pay per title

Type
Ebook and audiobook store and reader app (buy per title)
Free tier
Yes
Library
Millions of bestsellers, new releases and classics (vendor claim)
Explicit content
Unclear: 'prohibited explicit or objectionable content' is not allowed and the term is not defined
Creator program
Yes
Web version
Not confirmed

Apple Books is a free app and store with, in Apple's words, "no subscription or monthly commitment". Titles are priced individually, thousands of free ones are listed, you can sample before buying, and downloads work offline. It handles audiobooks as well as ebooks, and plays them on iPhone, iPad, CarPlay, Apple Watch, Mac and Vision Pro.

There is no Android app. Apple's content rule is one line, "Books cannot contain prohibited explicit or objectionable content", and it is not defined, while its metadata page tells writers how to flag a sexually explicit book. We found no Erotica genre in its web charts, though some entries in the Romance chart are rated "explicit". The gap between the rule and the store is open and unresolved.

Open on the App StoreFull Apple Books page

Audible (Erotica category)

Best if audio is the point, accepting a credit system

$8.99/mo

Type
general audiobook retailer and subscription, covered for its Erotica category
Free tier
No
Library
Erotica category: 55,012 titles on 2026-10-27
Explicit content
Not confirmed
Creator program
Not confirmed
Web version
Yes

If most of what you use Everand for is audiobooks, Audible is the specialist. Standard is $8.99 a month for one audiobook, Premium Plus is $14.95 for one credit that rolls over, and every plan has a 30-day trial. Its Erotica category held 55,012 titles on October 27, 2026. Downloads work offline.

It is cheaper per month than Everand and rations what you get: one title a month, not a library. It has no ebooks, and the Conditions of Use contain no explicit-content rule we could find. The credit arithmetic is on our Audible alternatives page.

Visit audible.comFull Audible (Erotica category) page

Dipsea

Best specialist if audio and romance are the point

$12.99/mo

Type
audio erotica app
Free tier
No
Audio stories
Yes
Interactive stories
Not confirmed
AI stories
Not confirmed
iPhone app
Yes
Android app
Yes

Dipsea is a subscription library of voice-acted erotic and romance audio, with multi-chapter series (many full-cast), single-narrator audios, audiobooks, sleep audio and romance novels to read. It claims 1000+ stories, runs on iPhone, Android and the web, and its Google Play text mentions offline downloads. Pricing is flat: $12.99 a month or $69.99 a year, with a 7-day trial on the annual plan only.

Against Everand it is a specialist and not a general library. The pages we read mention no podcasts and no ebook shelf beyond its romance novels, there is no standing free plan, and its terms set 18 as the minimum age through a sign-up checkbox. It is the pick if the reason you use Everand's Erotica category is to listen. Dipsea alternatives covers where to go from there.

Visit dipseastories.comFull Dipsea page

Everand and its alternatives side by side

Everand is first. The age check column shows who states one, and Not confirmed again marks silence in the pages we read.

PlatformMonthlyFree trialOffline readingAge checkiPhone appAndroid app
Everand$11.9930 days free when subscribing on the website; a 7-day trial via the App Store; both include 1 free titleYesTerms only: 'You must be at least 18 years old to use the Services'YesYes
Kindle+ (formerly Kindle Unlimited)$11.9930-day free trial for new subscribers who have not tried Kindle+YesNot confirmedYesYes
SmashwordsNot confirmedNot confirmedYesTerms: users must be 18 or older; erotica additionally hidden until a registered user switches it on. No document check describedNoNo
Apple BooksNot confirmedNoYesNot confirmedYesNo
Audible (Erotica category)$8.9930 daysYesNot confirmedYesYes
Dipsea$12.997 days free, annual plan onlyYesSelf-declaration: a checkbox at sign-up, 'By checking this box, I certify I am at least 18 years old'YesYes

The table shows what is missing: Kindle+, Apple Books and Audible state no age check or minimum age on the pages we read, and the three that do are Everand, Smashwords and Dipsea. A reader who wants a flat monthly price, a stated minimum age and a written erotica policy in one service will not find all three here.

How to choose

  • You read a lot and want one fee: Kindle+, since it is the only other all-you-can-borrow library, and you lose the podcasts and the Everand app.
  • You read a few books a month and want to keep them: Smashwords, or Apple Books on an Apple device. Work out your own break-even, because per-title prices vary and we did not record them.
  • You want a rule on paper: Smashwords first, then Literotica, whose Content Guidelines are also detailed, though it is a community site and not a store. Apple's rule is a single line, and Everand's and Kindle+'s are silent on licensed erotica.
  • You mostly listen: Dipsea for a flat price, or Audible if you want its catalogue and accept credits. The same sums, with the specialists added, are on the Audible page.
  • You want to pay nothing: Literotica is free and needs no account, though it is a community site and not a licensed library. The best free erotica apps lists the rest.

Whichever subscription you try, the mechanics of ending it are in how to cancel a story app subscription, and free against paid erotica apps explains what a trial costs when it ends.

FAQ

Is Everand the same as Scribd?

Everand is the company behind Scribd's ebook and audiobook subscription, and its operator is Scribd, Inc. The App Store lists an in-app purchase called "Scribd Membership" at $11.99 beside "Everand Legacy" and "Everand Plus".

What is the closest alternative to Everand?

Kindle+, at $11.99 a month plus taxes in the US with a 30-day trial. Both are subscription libraries of ebooks and audiobooks. Kindle+ adds comics, manga and magazines and is read in the Kindle app; Everand adds podcasts.

Is there an Everand alternative with no subscription?

Yes. Smashwords sells DRM-free ebooks by the title and Apple Books sells ebooks and audiobooks by the title, with no subscription at either. Google Play Books works the same way and also runs on Android.

Does Everand state a rule on erotica?

Not for licensed titles on the pages we read. The Global Terms require users to be 18, and the content rule covers what users upload. The Erotica category blurb says the selection is for mature audiences.

Can I cancel Everand in the app?

Yes. The Subscriber Agreement says you may cancel through your account settings on the site or in the app, and access continues until the paid period ends. Fees are otherwise nonrefundable.

Sources

Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 28, 2026).