Erotica Apps

Best Kindle+ Alternatives

Subscription library

The best Kindle+ alternative depends on what you want to change. Everand is the same price and the same borrowing model, Spicify and Epictos charge a fraction of $11.99 for one genre, Wattpad has a free tier, and Smashwords sells files you keep. Kindle+, formerly Kindle Unlimited, is $11.99 a month plus taxes in the US.

$11.99/mo

Free tier: No

Open on the App Store
Kindle+ (formerly Kindle Unlimited) App Store screenshot 1
Kindle+ (formerly Kindle Unlimited) App Store screenshot 2
Kindle+ (formerly Kindle Unlimited) App Store screenshot 3
Kindle+ (formerly Kindle Unlimited) App Store screenshot 4

Official App Store screenshots, published by Kindle+ (formerly Kindle Unlimited).

Updated

Quick answer

  • Closest: Everand, from $11.99 a month, is the only other all-you-can-borrow library in our records. Its description names ebooks, audiobooks and podcasts, where Kindle+'s adds comics, manga and magazines.
  • Cheaper, for one genre: Spicify (dark romance, $4.99 a month on the website) and Epictos (iPhone only, $5.99 a month) cost about half as much, with a catalogue that is a small fraction of the size.
  • Free tier: Wattpad is free with ads, and Premium is from $4.99 a month on its web page, but it is a social platform and not a licensed library.
  • Keep what you read: Smashwords sells DRM-free ebooks by the title, and erotica is hidden until a registered user switches it on.
  • For authors: KDP Select asks for Kindle Store exclusivity on the ebook for each 90-day term. Draft2Digital (which feeds Smashwords) says it requires none, Apple Books says the same, and Google Play Books' position is not confirmed.

Why look for a Kindle+ alternative

Kindle+ is what Kindle Unlimited became, and the rename has made it harder to find what it does and does not say; our news item on the rename has the background and our Kindle+ review the record. The reasons to look elsewhere are specific:

  • You borrow. Titles come with a cap of 20 at a time, and the subscription stays active until the next billing date after you cancel. Amazon says you will not receive a refund of fees already paid. Twelve payments of $11.99 are $143.88 before taxes, and you own nothing at the end.
  • No erotica rule is stated. Amazon's publishing guidelines say it does not sell content that "contains pornography" and do not define the word. The Kindle+ pages we read do not name erotica as a sub-product or mention an age check inside the Kindle app.
  • Erotica is not a labelled part of it. Amazon names mystery, thrillers, romance, science fiction and fantasy as example genres across more than five million ebooks, a vendor claim we did not count.
  • Prices outside the US are not recorded. Memberships exist in more than 30 countries and regions, and we kept only the US figure.
  • For authors, exclusivity. KDP Select, the programme that puts a book into the Kindle+ pool, requires the ebook to be exclusive to the Kindle Store for each 90-day enrolment period, which matters to writers as well as readers.

Amazon's Kindle+ page carries the price and the 30-day trial for new subscribers, and what Kindle+ costs is set out in Kindle+ pricing.

The best Kindle+ alternatives, by what you give up

No service in our records matches Kindle+ for size, so every alternative gives up something. We picked five and ordered them by how much of the Kindle+ idea they keep. Readers choosing between Kindle+ and its closest rival can also read Everand alternatives, and the alternatives index has the other thirteen pages.

Everand

Best for keeping the subscription idea

$11.99/mo

Type
Subscription library of ebooks, audiobooks and podcasts
Free tier
No
Library
Millions of audiobooks and ebooks (vendor claim)
Explicit content
Unclear: an Erotica category exists for mature audiences; limits for licensed titles are not stated
Creator program
Not confirmed
Web version
Yes

Everand is a subscription library of ebooks, audiobooks and podcasts, "From $11.99/month after trial" on its home page. The trial is 30 days on the website or 7 days through the App Store, each with one free title. It has a dedicated Erotica category that, according to our record of its blurb, is for mature audiences and needs a subscription to browse. Terms set 18 as the minimum age, and cancelling is done in account settings.

Against Kindle+, the price is level, we found no 20-title cap, and its description names podcasts where Kindle+'s names comics, manga and magazines. What it shares is the gap: the rule for licensed erotica titles is not stated. Everand against Kindle+ sets them side by side.

Visit everand.comFull Everand page

Spicify

Best flat fee for dark romance, with a far smaller library

$4.99/mo

Type
dark romance audiobook, book and Webtoon platform (iPhone, Android, web)
Free tier
Not confirmed
Audio stories
Yes
Interactive stories
Not confirmed
AI stories
Not confirmed
iPhone app
Yes
Android app
Yes

Spicify sells dark romance for adults 18+ as books, multi-voice audiobooks and Webtoons, all Spicify Originals. The website lists Ink & Desire at $4.99 a month for unlimited reading, marked "No Coins / No Ads", Voices in the Dark at $14.99 with audiobooks, and All Obsessions Unlocked at $19.99 with Webtoons as well. The FAQ claims 100+ titles, so this is a different kind of catalogue from five million. It runs on iPhone, Android and the web.

The caveats are many. The $4.99 was seen from a European IP, and the App Store lists items with the same names at $49.99, $149.99 and $199.99 with no period stated. Its own pages disagree on what is free. Voices are AI, the FAQ says, and listening offline is "not yet" possible. Its refund policy says all payments are final. We found no statement on whether explicit content is allowed, and none that all characters are adults.

Visit spicifyapp.comFull Spicify page

Epictos

Best iPhone plan with offline reading

$5.99/mo

Type
dark romance novel reader (iPhone only, solo developer)
Free tier
Not confirmed
Audio stories
Not confirmed
Interactive stories
Not confirmed
AI stories
Not confirmed
iPhone app
Yes
Android app
Not confirmed

Epictos is a dark romance reader for iPhone only, with weekly ($2.99), monthly ($5.99) and yearly ($39.99) plans on the US App Store. Its listing claims 500+ novels, new chapters every day, offline reading and no ads, and the yearly plan works out at $3.33 a month. The App Store rates it 18+.

The evidence behind it is thin. The seller is an individual developer, the Terms are Apple's standard licence, the privacy policy sets only a floor of 13, the listing does not say what each plan unlocks, we found no Android listing, and the website is a policies portal and not a reader. It suits a single-genre reader who wants an ad-free iPhone library and accepts a one-person operation.

Open on the App StoreFull Epictos page

Wattpad

Best low-cost general platform with a free tier

$4.99/mofree tier

Type
Social reading and writing platform for web fiction and fan fiction
Free tier
Yes
Library
Not confirmed
Explicit content
Only in stories rated Mature (17+), between consenting adults; pornography is banned
Creator program
Yes
Web version
Yes

Wattpad is a social platform for web fiction and fan fiction. Reading is free with ads, and Premium removes ads and adds unlimited offline stories, from $4.99 a month on the web page, billed in local currency, or $5.99 a month on the App Store. A 7-day trial is offered. Paid Wattpad Originals unlock with Coins, and Premium includes five free Originals a month.

It is not a licensed library. Stories come from members and from Wattpad Originals, adult material is a labelled part and not the product, and its guidelines allow explicit scenes only in stories rated Mature, between consenting adults, while banning content made primarily for sexual arousal. The App Store rates the app 16+.

Visit wattpad.comFull Wattpad page

Smashwords

Best for owning the file, with a written erotica rule

Pay per title

Type
Independent DRM-free ebook store (web only), no subscription
Free tier
Yes
Library
Over one million original DRM-free ebooks (vendor claim)
Explicit content
Yes, hidden by default: registered users switch on 'Filtering' to see erotica
Creator program
No
Web version
Yes

Smashwords is a web ebook store with no subscription. Books are DRM-free, which means the file works on any e-reader or app, and the About page claims over a million of them, nearly 100,000 priced at free. Its Erotica Content Guidelines (March 10, 2026) say erotica is words-only, that pornography has never been allowed, and that erotica stays hidden until a registered user switches it on.

You trade the all-you-can-read fee for a price on every book, and there are no apps. Whether it costs less than $11.99 a month depends on how many books you buy, which we cannot work out without title prices.

Visit smashwords.comFull Smashwords page

Kindle+ and its alternatives side by side

Kindle+ heads the table, and the blanks are as informative as the figures.

PlatformMonthlyYearlyFree trialOffline readingExplicit contentiPhone appAndroid app
Kindle+ (formerly Kindle Unlimited)$11.99Not confirmed30-day free trial for new subscribers who have not tried Kindle+YesUnclear: pornography is not sold; no erotica-specific rule on the pages readYesYes
Everand$11.99Not confirmed30 days free when subscribing on the website; a 7-day trial via the App Store; both include 1 free titleYesUnclear: an Erotica category exists for mature audiences; limits for licensed titles are not statedYesYes
Spicify$4.99Not confirmedNot confirmedNoNot confirmedYesYes
Epictos$5.99$39.99Not confirmedYesNot confirmedYesNot confirmed
Wattpad$4.99Not confirmed7-day free trialUnlimited for Premium; limits for free users not statedOnly in stories rated Mature (17+), between consenting adults; pornography is bannedYesYes
SmashwordsNot confirmedNot confirmedNot confirmedYesYes, hidden by default: registered users switch on 'Filtering' to see eroticaNoNo

Only Everand matches Kindle+ on price and library type, and only Smashwords states in writing what it will carry. The small apps compete on price and nothing else, which is a fair trade only if one genre is all you read.

If you are an author leaving KDP Select

Kindle+ pays authors from a monthly KDP Select Global Fund, based on pages read, with no fixed per-page rate. Enrolment is free for 90 days and requires the ebook to be exclusive to the Kindle Store for the term, although print and other formats may be sold elsewhere. Whether erotic titles can earn from Kindle+ is not stated on the pages we read, and KDP Terms 5.4.8 say Amazon owes no royalties on a book it finds in breach of its Content Guidelines.

Three other routes are on record. Draft2Digital says it does not require exclusivity: on Smashwords.com sales the writer receives 75% of list price for sales of $2.99 or more and 40% below that, after a $20 one-time activation fee and a $12 yearly fee unless the account earned $100 or more in the prior twelve months, and Draft2Digital says not all partner stores accept erotica. Apple Books for Authors states 70% royalties on every ebook and "No hidden fees or exclusivity requirements". Google Play Books offers a 70% split in most countries to partners who accepted its 2019 terms, and 52% otherwise; its exclusivity position is not confirmed. The creator pages cover the detail: how erotica platforms pay writers, subscription against pay per story and platforms that ban erotica.

How to choose

  • You read widely and want one fee: Everand. Check the Erotica category after the trial starts, since it sits behind the subscription.
  • You read one genre and want to pay less: Spicify or Epictos, and treat both as a small shelf, not a replacement.
  • You want to try something free: Wattpad, or see the best free erotica apps.
  • You want to keep what you buy: Smashwords, or a per-title store such as Apple Books, which has no subscription.

FAQ

Is Kindle Unlimited the same as Kindle+?

Yes. Amazon renamed Kindle Unlimited as Kindle+, and its pages updated on October 22, 2026 use the new name. The US price on those pages is $11.99 a month plus taxes.

What is a cheaper alternative to Kindle Unlimited?

Spicify's Ink & Desire is $4.99 a month on its website and Epictos is $5.99 a month on the US App Store, but each holds one genre. Wattpad Premium is from $4.99 a month. Per-title stores such as Smashwords cost nothing until you buy.

Does Kindle+ allow erotica?

Amazon's pages do not say. The publishing guidelines say it does not sell content that "contains pornography" and do not define the word. The pages we read neither name erotica as part of the subscription nor exclude it.

Can I keep books after cancelling Kindle+?

No. Kindle+ is a borrowing library, the subscription stays active until the next billing date, and Amazon says fees already paid are not refunded.

Is there a Kindle+ alternative for authors?

Authors who want to avoid KDP Select exclusivity can publish through Draft2Digital to Smashwords and other stores, or direct to Apple Books and Google Play Books. Each has its own content rules, and none guarantees an erotic title will be accepted or carried.

Sources

Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 28, 2026).