Quick answer
- Free: the pages disagree. The store text says "The first chapter or trailer of every story is always free". The FAQ says "All books on Spicify are free to read with ads". We print both, and the home page's third wording, below.
- Price: the website lists $4.99, $14.99 and $19.99 a month for three tiers. The App Store lists six purchases: the same three tier names at those prices and again at $49.99, $149.99 and $199.99, with no billing periods.
- Purchases: Google Play says "No ads or in-app purchases", while the App Store lists six and carries an advertising flag.
- Voices: the FAQ says narration uses AI voice technology. There is no offline listening; it is streaming only.
- Age: the Terms say 18+ only. The App Store rates it 18+ and Google Play 17+. Whether explicit content is allowed, and the ages of characters, are not stated.
What Is Spicify?
Spicify describes itself as "Cinematic Dark Romance": books, audiobooks and Webtoons in one place. Every title is a Spicify Original, and the About page says the catalogue is "designed for mature audiences (18+)". The operator is Spicify LLC, named in section 12 of the Terms and as seller on both stores. It is very new. The App Store listing first appeared on October 19, 2025 and shows 2 ratings, Google Play shows 100+ downloads, and the Terms and privacy policy are dated September 12, 2026.
The App Store version, 1.0.8, was updated on September 14, 2026, and the Google Play listing on October 24, 2026. Both are current.
Spicify review: who it suits
On what the pages say, Spicify suits a listener or reader who wants one dark romance catalogue as text, audio and Webtoon, on Android or the web as well as iPhone, and who accepts AI voices. It suits less well anyone who wants to know what they are paying for before they pay, because the free-versus-paid line is described three ways. It also lacks offline listening, which the FAQ says is "Not yet".
What is on offer
The stores' "popular genres" line names dark romance, mafia romance, billionaire, LGBTQ+, reverse harem, polyamorous, enemies to lovers and forbidden love; the About page adds fantasy, paranormal, GL and BL. The FAQ puts the library at "100+ titles and all Spicify Originals", a claim and not a count. New content is "released weekly" according to the FAQ, while the App Store says "every month", so the two vendor claims differ. Our pages on dark romance apps, billionaire romance apps and LGBTQ erotica apps show where it sits among the others.
The FAQ answers the narration question directly: "Spicify uses advanced AI voice technology and cinematic sound design to deliver immersive, multi-voice storytelling crafted for each story." The Terms go further and allow AI to assist with "creation, development, editing, adaptation, narration, visualization, personalization, or other production processes". That is a permission, not a statement that the stories are AI-written, so we do not say they are. Our page on apps with audio lists who else offers it. The service is available in most countries except the United Arab Emirates, per the FAQ.
Is Spicify free? The pages disagree
This is the point to read slowly, because every page we read speaks to it and no two agree. The table sets them side by side. We have not installed the app, so we cannot say which description matches what a new user sees.
| Where | What it says |
|---|---|
| App Store and Google Play text | "The first chapter or trailer of every story is always free." |
| FAQ ("Are the books really free to read?") | "Yes. All books on Spicify are free to read with ads." The Ink & Desire subscription removes ads. |
| Home page | "All Spicify Originals are free to read." |
| Pricing page | Each paid plan is marked "No Coins / No Ads". |
| Google Play | "No ads or in-app purchases. Full access is arranged externally through secure login." |
| App Store | Six in-app purchases and an advertising flag. |
The advertising evidence is as mixed. The FAQ says free reading comes with ads, the App Store flags advertising, and the privacy policy names Google AdMob, Meta Audience Network and Unity Ads as mediation partners. Google Play says there are no ads and its listing carries no ads label. Our guide to finding free erotica covers the usual meanings of free in this field. Until the pages converge, treat "free" here as unconfirmed, whichever of the three wordings you prefer.
How much Spicify costs
| Plan | Price | Billed | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ink & Desire (website) | $4.99 | month | Unlimited reading: all books, no ads, 'No Coins / No Ads'. Website price via Stripe; seen from an EU IP |
| Voices in the Dark (website) | $14.99 | month | Reading and audiobooks: everything in Ink & Desire plus unlimited audiobooks |
| All Obsessions Unlocked (website) | $19.99 | month | Reading, audiobooks and Webtoons, early access, exclusive content and the Subscribers Club. FAQ calls $19.99 a launch price, original price $24.99 |
| Ink & Desire (App Store, US) | $49.99 | not stated | App Store item of the same name; the period is not in the item name |
| Voices in the Dark (App Store, US) | $149.99 | not stated | App Store item of the same name; the period is not in the item name |
| All Obsessions Unlocked (App Store, US) | $199.99 | not stated | App Store item of the same name; the period is not in the item name |
Checked October 27, 2026. Source: spicifyapp.com. Prices change with region, promotions and the store you buy through.
The website's pricing page lists three monthly tiers, paid through Stripe: Ink & Desire at $4.99 (all books, no ads), Voices in the Dark at $14.99 (adding unlimited audiobooks) and All Obsessions Unlocked at $19.99 (adding Webtoons, early access, exclusive content and a Subscribers Club). The FAQ calls $19.99 a launch price, with an original price of $24.99. We read these from a European IP, and the prices were shown in dollars. There are no coins.
The page has a Yearly toggle marked "Save 15%", but the text we read shows monthly prices only, so no yearly website price is confirmed. The App Store prints six items: each tier name at the monthly figure and again at $49.99, $149.99 and $199.99, without billing periods. The arithmetic is suggestive. Each higher price is about 83 percent of twelve months at the website rate (twelve months of $4.99 is $59.88, and $49.99 is 83.5 percent of that), which would fit annual plans, but the item names do not say so, so we do not record them as yearly.
The Refund Policy, last updated September 12, 2026, says "All payments are final" and "Refunds are not available", with cancellation giving no refund for the current period, except where mandatory consumer law applies. You cancel where you bought: account settings, the Stripe customer portal or Apple subscriptions. See cancelling a story app subscription for the general steps.
iPhone, Android and the web
| Where | Available | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| iPhone and iPad | Yes | Last updated 2026-09-14 (version 1.0.8). Seller Spicify LLC; App Store rating 18+ when read; free; category Entertainment; carries the 'Contains: Advertising' flag and the 'Age Assurance' in-app control. |
| Android | Yes | Last updated Oct 24, 2026. Developer Spicify (About the developer: Spicify LLC); 100+ downloads. The listing text says 'No ads or in-app purchases. Full access is arranged externally through secure login.' and shows no in-app purchases badge; the inventory notes a page-data price range of $0.49 - $299.99 per item that is not confirmed. |
| Web browser | Yes | FAQ: 'You can use Spicify on iOS, Android, and any modern web browser.' The site has Discover, Series and Webtoons sections. |
The FAQ says "You can use Spicify on iOS, Android, and any modern web browser", and the site has Discover, Series and Webtoons sections. Google Play describes the service as available "exclusively via streaming", and the FAQ gives that as the reason for no offline listening. Our offline reading page lists the services that do offer it.
For writers
The Creators page describes a promoter (affiliate) programme only, "earning commissions on eligible subscriptions you inspire", with rates and payout terms shown in a creator agreement before you join. No page we read invites story submissions. Other services are covered in how erotica platforms pay writers.
Privacy, billing and age
Adults-only appears in the Terms (section 1: "Spicify is intended for adults 18+ only. By creating an account or using the platform, you confirm that you are at least 18 years old"), in the privacy policy (intended only for adults aged 18 and older and is not directed to children
), in the FAQ, and in the footer of every page. The App Store rates it 18+ and has an "Age Assurance" in-app control; Google Play rates it Mature 17+. No document check is described, and how the app checks age at sign-up was not seen, because we install nothing.
None of the pages we read says whether explicit sexual content is allowed or banned, and none states the ages of characters. Google Play says "All content is fictional", which is not the same thing. That describes the pages, not the catalogue. Account deletion is documented in the app (Settings, Account, Delete Account) and on a web page; we found no way to clear reading history short of deleting the account, and our page on deleting reading history explains the difference. The App Store privacy card declares tracking and linked data, and Google Play's Data safety section says location, app activity and device IDs may be shared with third parties.
Pros
- Adults-only is written into the Terms, the privacy policy, the FAQ and every page footer
- Three plan prices are published on the website
- Account deletion steps are published, in the app and on a web page
- Updated on Google Play on October 24, 2026
- Narration by AI voices is disclosed in the FAQ
Cons
- The store text, FAQ and home page describe what is free three different ways
- Google Play says no ads or in-app purchases, while the App Store lists six purchases and an advertising flag
- No refunds: all payments are final
- No offline listening yet
- Very new: 2 App Store ratings and 100+ Google Play downloads
- No statement on explicit content or on the ages of characters
Best Spicify alternatives
The nearest alternatives differ on the points where Spicify is unclear. Quinn uses independent human voice creators and lists $7.99 a month on its About page. Satinaire is Android-only, says its stories and narration are AI-generated, and is free to start with ads between chapters, though it publishes no coin prices. Smuthie is the choice-driven option, though neither store has updated it since July 25, 2025. For a text-only reader on iPhone, Crave publishes ten subscription prices and a character-age sentence in its Terms. The apps section lists every other review.
FAQ
Is Spicify free?
The pages disagree. The store text says the first chapter or trailer of every story is always free, the FAQ says all books are free to read with ads, and the home page says all Spicify Originals are free to read. We have not resolved this without installing the app.
How much is Spicify?
The website lists $4.99, $14.99 and $19.99 a month for its three tiers. The App Store lists six purchases, those three prices and $49.99, $149.99 and $199.99, without billing periods.
Does Spicify have ads?
The FAQ says free reading has ads and the App Store carries an advertising flag. Google Play says "No ads or in-app purchases".
Does Spicify use AI voices?
Yes, per the FAQ: "advanced AI voice technology". The Terms also allow AI-assisted production, which is a permission and not a statement that the stories are AI-written.
Can you listen to Spicify offline?
Not yet, per the FAQ. It is streaming only.
Is Spicify on Android?
Yes. Google Play lists it as rated Mature 17+, last updated October 24, 2026, with 100+ downloads. There is also an iPhone app and a web version.
Final verdict
Spicify is a very new dark romance service with a wide catalogue claim, AI voices and clear adults-only wording, and a free tier that its own pages describe in three ways. If you want one catalogue as text, audio and Webtoons on any device, its three published tiers are a fair starting point, with no refunds. If you need to know what is free before you start, or whether the app carries ads, it is not yet possible to say. We have not installed or listened to it, so this is a read of the website, two store listings and its policies.
Sources
Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 27, 2026).
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: seller, 18+ with Age Assurance, version 1.0.8 updated…
- play.google.com: Google Play listing: Mature 17+, updated Oct 24, 2026, 100+ downloads, 'No…
- spicifyapp.com: Home page: free-to-read claim, '18+ only.' footer, links to Terms, Privacy,…
- spicifyapp.com: Terms of Service: 18+ eligibility, automatic renewal, AI-assisted content,…
- spicifyapp.com: Privacy policy: adults only, service providers, account deletion
- spicifyapp.com: Refund Policy: no refunds, how to cancel
- spicifyapp.com: Pricing page: three monthly tiers, 'No Coins / No Ads'
- spicifyapp.com: FAQ: free with ads, prices, AI voices, no offline listening, regions, age…
- spicifyapp.com: Account deletion page
- spicifyapp.com: Creator programme: affiliate commissions
- spicifyapp.com: About page: every title is a Spicify Original, mature audiences 18+




