Quick answer
- People: Dipsea recruits voice actors, Bloom Stories calls its stories
100% human-made
and says it uses no voice cloning, Quinn hosts independent voice creators plus Quinn Originals with known actors, and OhCleo's creators record their own audio. OhCleo also allows AI-generated voices. - Synthetic: Spicify, Satinaire, Erota, NovelAI and DreamPress AI say or show that the voice is AI.
- Silent: femtasy, BLANCHEstories, Ferly, Yuu, Audible's Erotica category, NovelX, StoryLoom and Erotic Stories - Erotica do not say whether a person or a model reads.
- Cost: synthetic is not automatically cheaper. Spicify's AI-voiced tier is $14.99 a month, above Dipsea's $12.99 and Quinn's $7.99, and Erota charges 8 credits to hear a story it writes for 1.
- Performers' pay: none of the services publishes a rate.
Why it matters who is reading
In audio erotica the voice is most of the product, and listeners follow performers rather than titles (our glossary entry on the narrator goes into this). Hired performance and synthetic narration are two different things to buy. One is a recording made by a person, usually credited under a name or stage name. The other is a voice model reading whatever text it is given, often text that was itself generated a minute earlier.
Listings rarely make the difference easy to see. We sorted every audio service in our records by what its own pages say. Where a page is silent, we say so and do not guess.
Services that say a person is reading
Dipsea. The home page calls the stories professionally written and voice-acted, and many series are full-cast audio dramas. The site has a Voice act for us
page, and the narration is by voice actors that Dipsea recruits. We recorded nothing about AI voices there, so we claim nothing either way.
Bloom Stories. This is the most explicit statement in the field. Its FAQ answers a question about AI with We never use AI to write, record, or edit any of our stories
, adding no LLMs, no voice cloning and no AI-produced images. The one AI feature it had, a chat called Bloom Chat, was discontinued. Its iPhone listing still advertises AI roleplay chatbots, which is a useful reminder that a store listing can lag the site. The statement is on bloomstories.com; we recorded no equivalent from its sister front-end, audiodesires.com.
Quinn. The About page calls its creators the voice actors on Quinn
. They are independent performers who upload their own audio, alongside Quinn Originals with known actors, and the Code of Conduct says creators are vetted before their content is shared. Listeners can tip a creator with Roses, which the Terms say pay the creator the monetary value less fees; the percentage is not stated.
OhCleo. Independent creators record and upload their own audio and may use pseudonyms. The same FAQ says AI-generated voices are allowed if they comply with the policies, so a listener cannot assume any one track has a human voice. We did not find a statement on whether a track using an AI voice is marked as such. Creators are paid through listening-based revenue sharing, monthly, at a rate the pages do not state.
Services that say the voice is synthetic
- Erota offers text-to-speech voices named Ethan, Thomas, Scarlett and Isabella, at Standard or HD quality, with an option for added sounds. It is AI text-to-speech and the pages do not call it narration by a person. The FAQ prices a listen at 8 credits a story at Standard and 16 at HD.
- NovelAI describes
NovelAI's very own customizable AI voice technology
. Text-to-speech is unlimited on every paid tier, from $10 a month, and the one-time free trial includes 100 generations. - DreamPress AI says narration is bundled with every generation. Pro adds automatic character voices and custom blends; replaying a narration costs 1 credit on the free plan.
- Spicify answers the question in its own FAQ. Asked whether the narrators are real or AI voices, it says it
uses advanced AI voice technology and cinematic sound design
. - Satinaire discloses it in the Terms:
All stories, illustrations, character voices, and narration available through Satinaire are generated, in whole or in part, by artificial intelligence systems.
Google Play says the same of its audiobooks. The home page, however, saysOriginal voice work on every premium chapter
. We follow the Terms and the store text, which are the stronger statements, and flag the conflict.
The disclosure often sits in a different place from the sales copy: Spicify's in an FAQ answer, Satinaire's in a section of its Terms. A listing that stays quiet is not a listing that has said anything.
Services that do not say
| Service | What the pages say about the voice |
|---|---|
Narrated audios read by 50+ voices. Whether all are original productions is not stated. | |
| Original, exclusive stories, with or without music. Who narrates is not stated. | |
| All content is audio-based. Whether the stories are voice-narrated is not stated. | |
| Described as audiobook-like stories. Narration is not confirmed. | |
| A general retailer with 55,012 titles in the category. We did not research who narrates them, and the catalogue is too large to audit. | |
| Offers an audiobook and a Listen to a Story option for supported chapters. Voice details are not confirmed. | |
| StoryLoom | Narration is included on every plan. The pages do not say whether the voice is a recording of a person or synthetic. |
| Its listing says the stories are AI-generated and not curated. It does not say who or what reads them aloud. |
Silence is not evidence either way. femtasy's 50+ voices could be performers, and a service that sells AI-written stories might still hire readers. The point is only that the reader has to ask.
What each model costs
Hired performance usually arrives as a flat subscription. Quinn charges $7.99 a month, Dipsea $12.99 a month or $69.99 a year, and OhCleo $4.99 for a month on the US App Store. Bloom Stories' yearly price is $131.40 on both its sites, and its monthly price could not be confirmed.
Synthetic narration is priced in other ways, and the pricing does not follow a simple rule that machines are cheaper.
| Service | How narration is charged | The arithmetic |
|---|---|---|
| Erota | Credits per listen | A story is 1 credit on the Apprentice model and a Standard-quality listen is 8, so hearing it costs eight times as much as writing it. On Premium ($9.90 for 200 monthly credits) that is 25 listens, about 40 cents each, if nothing else is bought. |
| NovelAI | Included in every paid tier | $10 a month for unlimited text-to-speech and text generation. It voices what you write or what the model continues, not a library. |
| Spicify | An audio tier above the reading tier | Reading is $4.99 a month; the plan with unlimited audiobooks is $14.99. Audio adds $10.00 a month. |
| DreamPress AI | Bundled, with a credit for replays on Free | Pro is $9.99 a month on the web and includes narration and chat replays. |
On those figures an AI-voiced tier can cost more than a hired-voice library. Spicify's audio tier at $14.99 is above Dipsea's $12.99. What differs is what you get: Spicify's titles are originals on its own platform, Dipsea's are a larger claimed library of 1000+ stories, and neither number is a count we could verify.
Paying the people who read
None of the services we cover publishes what a performer is paid. Quinn pays creators the value of tips less fees. OhCleo shares revenue by listening. Dipsea's Write for Us page says all writing opportunities are paid, and it has a separate page for voice actors, with no rate. Bloom Stories takes voice and writer applications by email. For a listener the useful consequence is small but real: on a marketplace, tipping is a direct route to the performer, while on a salaried or commissioned library it is not.
Voices raise one more question that text does not, which is who is depicted. Mastercard's published statement on adult content, from 2021, describes documented consent and documented age and identity verification for people depicted and for uploaders, and our records note that it matters mainly for platforms hosting audio of real people. Quinn says creators are vetted. Whether either marketplace meets that standard is not something their pages tell us, and we do not say that they do.
How to check a listing yourself
- Search the FAQ for a question about AI, real narrators or voices. Spicify asks it of itself; most do not.
- Read the Terms for the words
artificial intelligence
, as Satinaire's disclosure shows. - Treat store listing text with caution. Bloom Stories' still advertises features its site says are gone.
- Look for named performers or a credit line. Where you cannot follow a voice, a catalogue is harder to use than its size suggests.
- Play a sample before paying, which OhCleo and femtasy both offer in some form.
That checklist is general advice, not a finding about any one service. For the rest of the audio erotica section, see where erotic audio stories live, the feature page on voice narration and the best audio erotica apps. To compare listening with reading, there is audio erotica against reading.
FAQ
Is audio erotica read by real people?
On four services the pages say so: Dipsea, Bloom Stories, Quinn and OhCleo, although OhCleo also allows creators to use AI voices. Five others say the voice is synthetic, and eight do not say.
Which services say they do not use AI?
Bloom Stories says on its FAQ that it never uses AI to write, record or edit its stories, with no LLMs, no voice cloning and no AI-produced images. No other service in our records makes a statement that strong.
Does Dipsea use AI voices?
Dipsea's pages describe voice-acted stories and a page for recruiting voice actors. We found no statement about AI voices either way, so we do not claim one.
Can OhCleo creators use AI voices?
Yes. The FAQ says AI-generated voices are allowed if they comply with OhCleo's policies. We did not find a statement on whether such tracks are labelled.
Is AI text-to-speech cheaper than a human narrator?
Not by the published prices. Spicify's AI-voiced audiobook tier is $14.99 a month, which is above Dipsea at $12.99 and Quinn at $7.99, although NovelAI includes unlimited text-to-speech in a $10 plan.
Sources
Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 28, 2026).
- dipseastories.com: Home page: tags, 'Your fantasy, uncensored', 'Extra Spicy'
- dipseastories.com: Sign-up page: $69.99/year with 7-day trial, 18+ checkbox
- support.dipseastories.com: Help Center FAQs: trial rules, monthly versus annual, supported…
- dipseastories.com: FAQ post dated 2024.05.09: 1000+ stories, weekly releases
- dipseastories.com: Terms of Service: operator, 18+ eligibility, free-content sentence
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: seller, 18+, version, price text
- play.google.com: Google Play listing: Mature 17+, offline downloads
- app.dipseastories.com: Web app
- dipseastories.com: Write for Us: paid writing
- dipseastories.com: Voice act for us page
- tryquinn.com: Home page: trending audios, 'the app for audio erotica'
- tryquinn.com: About page: price, Roses, creators, FAQ, gift price
- tryquinn.com: Terms of Service: 18+ eligibility, creator payments
- tryquinn.com: Terms text: operator and last-update date
- tryquinn.com: Public category list (about 220 tags)
- tryquinn.com: Code of Conduct: vetting, explicit images, minors
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: 18+, $59.99/year, Rose packs, privacy card
- play.google.com: Google Play listing: Mature 17+
- ohcleo.com: Home page: free account, 3 stories in full, 18+ screen
- ohcleo.com: FAQ: 18+ only, creator rules, prohibited content, AI voices, pricing note,…
- ohcleo.com: Public sitemap used for the catalogue count and the 2026-10-27 keyword scan
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: OhCleo AB, 18+, in-app purchase prices
- play.google.com: Google Play listing: Mature 17+
- bloomstories.com: Bloomstories.com home and FAQ: free tier, AI stance, $10.95/mo yearly…
- bloomstories.com: Bloomstories.com sign-up page: 18+ checkbox and, in the page source, the…
- bloomstories.com: Imprint: Quicku GmbH
- bloomstories.com: Bloomstories.com Terms: 18+ eligibility, operator
- audiodesires.com: Audiodesires.com home and FAQ: second front-end, $29.99 monthly, $131.40…
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: 18+, version, no in-app purchases
- play.google.com: Google Play listing: Mature 17+