Quick answer
- Who has it: 11 services in our records offer voice narration: 5 apps and 6 platforms. A service not listed has published no answer, which is not a no.
- A person narrates (4): Dipsea (voice actors it recruits), Quinn (creators and the actors in Quinn Originals), Bloom Stories (
100% human-made
) and OhCleo, where creators record their own audio but AI voices are allowed. - The voice is synthetic (5): Satinaire, Spicify, DreamPress AI, Erota and NovelAI say so in their own terms, FAQ or pricing pages.
- Narrated, narrator not stated (2): femtasy (
50+ voices
) and Kindle+. - Free: 5 of the 11 have a usable free tier. Of the four with human narrators, only OhCleo and Bloom Stories let a free account listen.
Voice narration is a story read aloud, and the question that matters to most listeners is who or what is reading. The word covers a hired actor, an independent performer, and a text-to-speech engine, and a store listing seldom tells you which. This page sorts the 11 services in our records by what each says about its narrators. It is one of the erotica app features we track.
What "voice narration" means, and what has changed
We define voice narration as narration recorded by a person, as opposed to a device's own text-to-speech. The caveat that goes with it has become the main point: synthetic narration is becoming common and is not the same product. Where a service says which it uses, the record says so, and that is why the list is sorted below and not just printed.
The list is broader than the definition. Five of the 11 services appear because they offer narration, and each says the voice is AI. They are included so that the reader can see the difference, and they are grouped apart. A human performance and a generated voice can both sit under one word on a store listing, and the price tells you little about which you are getting.
How we grouped the 11
We grouped by what each service says about its narrators, in its own words: a person, a machine, or nothing. The groups describe statements, not what you will hear, since we have not listened to any of them.
Group 1: a person narrates (4)
| Service | What it says about who narrates | Free access |
|---|---|---|
Professionally written and voice-acted, many series full-cast; narration by voice actors it recruits, with a "Voice act for us" page | None; a 7-day trial on the annual plan only | |
Independent creators, whom its About page calls the voice actors on Quinn, plus Quinn Originals with known actors; creators are vetted before content is shared | None stated | |
Human narration, multi-voice and full-cast; its FAQ says 100% human-madeand that it never uses AI to write, record or edit its stories | A rotating free selection with a free account | |
Independent creators record and upload their own audio, but the FAQ says Yes, AI-generated voices are allowed if compliant with OhCleo policies | A free account hears three stories in full; some tracks are marked FREE |
Dipsea says it recruits its voice actors, and Bloom Stories calls its stories human-made. Quinn and OhCleo are marketplaces, which is a different promise: the performers are independent, and the service sets the rules. Quinn says its creators are vetted. For a listener who wants people only, OhCleo's rule matters, because it explicitly allows AI-generated voices; on a marketplace, either may be present unless a listing says otherwise. Bloom Stories is the only service in the group that says it never uses AI at all.
Group 2: the voice is synthetic (5)
| Service | What it says about the voice | How listening is paid for |
|---|---|---|
The Terms say narration is generated by AI, and Google Play says AI-narrated audiobooks for every chapter; the home page instead says Original voice work on every premium chapter | Free Android app with ads | |
The FAQ answers a question about real narrators or AI with advanced AI voice technology and cinematic sound design | Audiobooks from the $14.99 tier on the web | |
AI narration, with Automatic character voices, plus custom blendson Pro | Replays cost 1 credit on Free; Pro is $9.99 a month on the web | |
| AI text-to-speech with four named voices, Standard or HD quality and optional sex sounds | 8 credits a story at Standard, 16 at HD, on paid tiers | |
Text-to-speech from NovelAI's very own customizable AI voice technology | Unlimited on every paid tier from $10 a month; 100 generations in the free trial |
The pricing logic is different in this group. Where a person narrates, the records show a subscription or a free selection. Where a machine does, two of the five meter listening in credits: Erota per story and DreamPress AI per replay. NovelAI bundles text-to-speech into its paid tiers, and Satinaire gives its narration away with ads. A synthetic voice can therefore cost more or less than a human one, depending on how much you listen. Satinaire contradicts itself on the question, and we treat its Terms and its store text as the stronger statements.
Spicify is worth a second look because multi-voice audiobooks are one of its three formats. Its terms go further than its FAQ, permitting AI to assist with narration among other production processes. That is a permission, and not a statement that its stories are AI-written. The same distinction runs through the page on AI-generated stories.
Group 3: narrated, but the narrator is not stated (2)
- femtasy promises
Narrated audios where you're the main character
and50+ voices to discover
. Whether each voice is a person, and whether all are original productions, is not stated in the pages we read. - Kindle+ says
Audio narration is available for thousands of Kindle+ titles
and that thousands of ebooks come with a companion audiobook at no extra cost. Amazon's pages do not say who narrates. It is a general library, not an erotica service.
Audio services that say nothing about who narrates
The feature list undercounts the silence. Of the 23 services in our records that offer audio, 11 other than these do not state who narrates: BLANCHEstories, Erotic Stories - Erotica, Ferly, StoryLoom, Yuu, NovelX, Apple Books, Audible, Everand, Google Play Books and Literotica. FanFiction.Net's app reads stories aloud by text-to-speech. StoryLoom includes narration on every plan but does not say whether the voice is recorded or synthetic, and NovelX offers an "Audiobook" without voice details. Our page on audio erotica sets out the whole field.
Free or paid access
Five of the 11 are in the record's free column: OhCleo, Satinaire, Bloom Stories, DreamPress AI and Erota. The other six, Dipsea, Quinn, Spicify, femtasy, Kindle+ and NovelAI, have no free tier confirmed. The free column describes the service, not the narration. Erota lists listening as a paid-tier feature, and DreamPress AI charges a credit per replay on Free.
So for a listener who wants people reading and nothing to pay, the options are narrow: OhCleo's three free stories, Bloom Stories' rotating selection, and the trials at Dipsea (seven days, annual plan only) and femtasy (30 days, annual plan only). Dipsea's monthly plan is $12.99 and Quinn's $7.99. The audio hub has the full comparison, and free audio erotica goes through the free options.
How to tell which you are getting
General advice, not tested by us. Look for a statement before you pay: an FAQ or terms page that says who narrates is the best evidence, and Bloom Stories, Spicify and Satinaire each state it in so many words. A narrator credit on the listing is useful. A marketplace is the hardest case, because creators upload their own audio and a policy may allow generated voices. If the service does not say, treat it as unknown. Our glossary entry on the narrator explains the role.
Limits to know about
- Statements, not listening. We have not listened to any narration, so we cannot say how any voice sounds.
- Statements can conflict. Satinaire's home page and its Terms disagree.
- "Full-cast" and "known actors" are claims. Dipsea, Bloom Stories and Quinn Originals describe them; the records name no performers.
- Silence is not a no. A service with no AI statement may or may not use AI voices.
Which service suits which reader
These match a need to what the records show. They are not rankings.
- You want a statement that people narrate: Bloom Stories, Dipsea or Quinn. Bloom Stories is the only one that also says it never uses AI.
- You want variety from independent performers: Quinn or OhCleo, accepting the OhCleo caveat on AI voices.
- You want the story written and read for you: Erota, DreamPress AI or NovelAI, where the voice is synthetic by their own description.
- You already pay for a general library: Kindle+ has narration for thousands of titles, without saying who narrates.
For a ranking with stated criteria, see the best audio erotica apps. Our page on voice narrated erotica goes through the field from the listener's side, and the AI stories section covers the services that generate their audio.
FAQ
Which erotica apps use human narrators?
Dipsea says its stories are voice-acted by actors it recruits, Quinn's audio comes from independent creators and the actors in Quinn Originals, and Bloom Stories says its narration is human-made. OhCleo's audio is recorded by its creators, but its FAQ allows AI voices too.
Which erotica apps use AI voices?
Satinaire, Spicify, DreamPress AI, Erota and NovelAI say the voice is synthetic. OhCleo allows creators to use AI-generated voices. NovelX and StoryLoom offer narration but do not say what kind.
Does Dipsea use AI voices?
The pages we read call its stories professionally written and voice-acted
and say the narration is by voice actors it recruits. They do not mention AI voices, so we do not say either way.
Is AI narration cheaper than a human narrator?
Not necessarily. Some synthetic narration is metered in credits, such as 8 credits a story at Erota or 1 credit per replay on DreamPress AI's free tier. Some is bundled into a plan, such as NovelAI's unlimited text-to-speech, and Satinaire gives it away with ads. The human-narrated services in our records charge a subscription or offer a free selection. Which costs less depends on how much you listen.
How can I tell whether audio erotica is AI?
Check the listing, FAQ and terms for a statement, because that is where the services that say so put it. If none is given, it is unknown. A marketplace like OhCleo allows both.
Sources
Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 27, 2026).
- dipseastories.com: Voice act for us page
- tryquinn.com: About page: price, Roses, creators, FAQ, gift price
- bloomstories.com: Bloomstories.com home and FAQ: free tier, AI stance, $10.95/mo yearly…
- ohcleo.com: FAQ: 18+ only, creator rules, prohibited content, AI voices, pricing note,…
- satinaire.com: Terms of Service: operator, 17 minimum and 18+ gate, AI disclosure, content…
- spicifyapp.com: FAQ: free with ads, prices, AI voices, no offline listening, regions, age…
- dreampress.ai: Free and Pro plans, web prices, top-ups, cancellation answer, 18+ gate text
- erota.ai: Homepage: product, story form options, voices, languages, character picker
- docs.novelai.net: Docs Subscription page: tiers, prices, trial, renewal, text-to-speech,…
- femtasy.com: Pricing page: annual $109.99, monthly $15.99, trial rules, 700+ audios, 50+ voices
- aboutamazon.com: Amazon article 'Kindle Unlimited is now Kindle+', updated October 22,…