Erotica Apps

Erotica Apps With Custom Stories

Eleven services in our records write a story to your own prompt, characters or preferences, and ten of them say they use AI to do it. Nine have a usable free tier, though what it buys is a few credits, and whether the story can be explicit depends on the model: Erota and NovelX are built for it, while StoryLoom bans pornographic content.

Updated

Quick answer

  • Who has it: 11 services in our records write stories to your prompt, characters or preferences: 4 apps and 7 platforms. A service not listed has published no answer, which is not a no.
  • Two kinds: eight make the custom story the product, from a form, a scenario or an editor. Three, Satinaire, Smuthie and Outfox Stories, add it to a library of ready-made stories.
  • Explicit follows the model: Erota and NovelX are built for explicit stories, AI Dungeon, Pirr, DreamPress AI, Satinaire and Outfox Stories allow it behind an adult gate, NovelAI, DreamGen and Smuthie are not confirmed, and StoryLoom bans it.
  • Free: 9 of the 11 have a usable free tier. StoryLoom's is two short stories a month; Erota's is 15 daily credits that expire at the end of the day.
  • Cost per story: only two publish enough to work out. A StoryLoom read-only story costs about $2.50 on its Standard plan, and an Erota story on the Artisan model about 10 cents.

A custom story is one written to your own specification: a prompt, a cast of characters, a set of preferences. The services below do this on demand, and almost all of them use AI. That makes this feature the one where content rules matter most, because the limits come from the model and its filters, not from the app wrapped around it. It is one of the erotica app features we track, and it overlaps with our pages on AI-generated stories and character customisation.

What "custom stories" means, and how it differs from AI-generated

We define custom stories as stories generated to the reader's own prompt, characters or preferences. The caveat that goes with the feature is plain: it is nearly always an AI feature, so the limits on explicit content follow the model, not the app. Ten of the eleven say they use AI. Smuthie's listings never say it, though it generates stories from your choices without saying how.

The difference from AI-generated stories is about who starts it. In an AI-generated library the service decides what to write and you read it. In a custom story you decide, and the service writes. Satinaire sits across the line: its library is AI-written, and its site says If a trope you crave doesn't exist yet, the app can spin one for you.

How we grouped the 11

We grouped on how central the custom story is to each service, using each one's own description. A service not listed has published no answer on custom stories, which is not the same as no.

Custom is the product (8)

For these the prompt is the way in. They differ in what you supply: a form, a scenario, or your own writing.

ServiceWhat you supplyWhat the free tier gives
ErotaA homepage form: sex acts, themes, perspective, written style, length, language and AI model, with up to four characters15 daily credits that expire at the end of the day; Apprentice model only
NovelXA story idea, then character development and chapters; a separate Story Chat10 generation tokens; what a token buys is not defined
StoryLoomA genre and a detail, or your own path at each chapterTwo short stories (bobbins) a month, six in total per account
DreamPress AIGuided wizards for stories and chats, personas, and writing or rewriting on the page15 daily credits once email is verified, plus 50 bonus credits for verifying
DreamGenA scenario of its own or one you create, with AI characters200 monthly credits and 25 daily credits
AI DungeonA custom scenario, or a community adventureA free tier with 4k tokens of context on most models and no monthly credits
NovelAIYou write in a document editor and the model continues; a Text Adventure modeNo free plan; a one-time trial of 50 text generations
PirrGenre, vibe, location, plot, character names and pronouns, and your own tags20 Standard AI actions a day, one character per story, three saved

Custom is an extra on a library (3)

ServiceWhat you supplyWhat the free tier gives
SatinaireCharacters, names and setting; a trope the library lacksFree Android app with ads; how much of the custom feature is free is not stated
SmuthieTone, setting and characters in "create your own adventure"None described; both stores show a last update in July 2025
Outfox StoriesAI chats and AI text adventures beside reader-written storiesFree AI use is capped; the Premium page implies about 10 text generations a day

Which of them allow explicit content

This is the part of the feature that decides whether a service is any use to you, and the records sort the eleven into four buckets:

  • Explicit is the product: Erota (Custom Explicit Erotic stories written by AI) and NovelX, whose home page title is "AI Erotic NSFW Story Generator".
  • Allowed for adults, behind a gate: AI Dungeon through an account-wide Mature setting, Pirr through an opt-in NSFW mode in Advanced Settings that is off by default, DreamPress AI behind an 18+ entry gate with a "Sexual and Erotic Content" section in its policy, Satinaire for content at "spice level 4" or higher, and Outfox Stories for Mature (18+) content under its guidelines.
  • Not confirmed: NovelAI and DreamGen, whose terms neither ban nor permit adult content in so many words, and Smuthie, whose adult intent is clear but whose explicitness is not stated.
  • Excluded: StoryLoom, whose acceptable use policy says pornographic content is not permitted although its App Store rating is 18+.

"Allowed" is not the same as unrestricted. Every service that allows explicit content also bans sexual content involving people under 18, and AI Dungeon runs a filter for it even on the Mature setting. Our guide to whether AI story apps allow NSFW covers the rules service by service.

Free or paid access, and what a story costs

Nine of the 11 are in the record's free column: Pirr, Satinaire, StoryLoom, AI Dungeon, DreamGen, DreamPress AI, Erota, NovelX and Outfox Stories. Smuthie and NovelAI are not. The free tiers are samplers. They cap you by the day, the month or the account, and some limit the model: Erota's free credits cover only its Apprentice model. See free AI erotica stories for the free options in more depth.

Two services publish enough to work out what a story costs.

  • StoryLoom. A full-length story of seven chapters is one spool, $5.99 bought singly. A story you only read costs half a spool, about $3. The Standard plan, $9.99 a month, gives two spools: four read-only stories, about $2.50 each. Plus gives eight for $17.99, about $2.25 each, and Premium twelve for $24.99, about $2.08. Narration changes the sum: a narrated story costs a whole spool, so the same plans give half as many. The choices inside a story are not priced.
  • Erota. Its FAQ prices a story at 1 credit on the Apprentice model, 2 paid credits on Artisan and 4 on Master, and listening at 8 credits at Standard quality. Premium is $9.90 a month for 200 monthly credits, so a credit is about 5 cents: roughly 10 cents for an Artisan story and 20 cents for a Master story, before listening. The homepage model picker labels the models "Artisan (3x)" and "Master (4x)", which does not match the FAQ. We record both and do not reconcile them.

For the rest, the cost of one story is not published. DreamPress AI prints credit top-ups, from 400 for $4.99 (1.25 cents each) to 12,000 for $99.99 (0.83 cents each), but not the credit cost of a chapter. NovelX does not define a token, Pirr does not print the credits in its packs, and DreamGen publishes pack prices but not what a generation costs. NovelAI sells unlimited text generation on every paid tier from $10 a month, so there is no per-story sum to do. Our guide to how story app credits work explains why the unit price matters.

What you type, and where it goes

A custom story means typing your own fantasies into a service. The records say little about this, and what they say is worth knowing:

  • Pirr's FAQ says stories you create remain private until you decide to publish them yourself.
  • DreamGen's terms-and-privacy FAQ says private stories are not used to train models unless you opt in, which is off by default, and that automated moderation scans private content.
  • AI Dungeon says private and unlisted adventures are not subject to its community guidelines, though a separate rule against sexual content involving people under 18 applies to them.
  • Satinaire's account-deletion page lists custom story drafts and custom characters among the data it deletes.

For the others, the records do not say. See how reading apps use your data for the wider picture.

Limits to know about

  • Quality is untested. We have not used any of these services, and a store listing says nothing about how coherent a long story stays. AI Dungeon's published context window runs from 4k tokens free to larger sizes on paid tiers.
  • Credits run out. Erota's free credits expire at the end of each day, DreamPress AI's monthly Pro credits do not roll over, and its bought packs never expire. The rules differ by service.
  • A stale app. Smuthie has not been updated since July 2025.

Which service suits which reader

These match a need to what the records show. They are not rankings.

  • An explicit story from a form, paid by the story: Erota, which publishes its credit costs.
  • A playable scenario to steer: AI Dungeon or DreamGen, both with free tiers.
  • Writing with the model rather than reading its output: NovelAI, which has no free plan but unlimited text generation once you subscribe.
  • Romance with characters you name: Pirr or DreamPress AI.
  • A known price per story, and no explicit content: StoryLoom.
  • A library first, custom second: Satinaire on Android, or Outfox Stories on the web.

For ranked picks, see the custom erotic story generators page and the wider list of the best AI erotica apps.

FAQ

Can you get custom erotica stories written for you?

Yes, on services that generate them on demand. Erota and NovelX are built for explicit stories, and AI Dungeon, Pirr, DreamPress AI, Satinaire and Outfox Stories allow them for adults behind a gate. Ten of the eleven say a model writes the result.

Is there a free custom erotic story generator?

Several have free tiers: Erota gives 15 daily credits, DreamPress AI 15 daily credits, DreamGen 200 monthly and 25 daily, and NovelX 10 generation tokens. The free tiers cap what you can make, and Erota's covers only its Apprentice model.

How much does a custom story cost?

Where it is published, little: about 10 cents for an Artisan story on Erota's Premium plan, and about $2.50 for a read-only story on StoryLoom's Standard plan. For most services the per-story cost is not published.

Are custom stories private?

It depends on the service. Pirr says your stories stay private until you publish them, and DreamGen says private stories are not used for training unless you opt in. For the rest, the records are silent.

Can a custom story be narrated?

Some services read the result aloud. Erota charges 8 credits at Standard quality, DreamPress AI bundles narration with each generation, and NovelAI offers text-to-speech on every paid tier. The page on voice narration covers who uses synthetic voices.

Sources

Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 27, 2026).