Quick answer
- Free: a free tier of 200 monthly credits and 25 daily credits. Its context window and model access are not stated on the pages we read.
- Price: list prices of $7.83 (Starter), $19.35 (Advanced) and $48.30 (Pro) a month. The first month is shown at 20 percent off on the first two and 30 percent off on Pro.
- What the tiers sell: context window, at 5,000, 15,000 and 30,000 tokens. Advanced and Pro carry the same 2,250 monthly credits, so Pro's extra $28.95 buys double the context and cheaper packs.
- Adult content: not confirmed. The Terms bar illegal content and sexual content involving people under 18 (
including fictional minors
), and contain no other sexual-content ban. - Where: the web. We found no store listing and no company name.
What Is DreamGen?
DreamGen is an AI story writer and role-play platform. Its home page says you can play games with your favorite AI characters or generate stories of any genre
, and that you define the world, steer the plot
while the AI does as you say. You can jump into one of its scenarios or create your own. The page title adds an image generator, and the docs have a page on generating images, though images are outside what we compare.
The About page calls DreamGen an independently run business
and says it was founded on the belief that people should be free to express and entertain themselves in any way they choose, as long as it's done in private and no other person is actively involved, exposed, or harmed in the process
. The Terms say The Service is provided by [1]
, and the footnote is empty in the text we read, so no company name is published.
DreamGen review: who it suits
On the published pages, DreamGen suits a reader who wants to run role-plays and stories from a scenario they define, would like to start on a free tier, and does not mind a credit system with a context ladder on top. The web app is at v2.dreamgen.com.
It is a weaker fit if you want to know in advance what you may write, because the Terms do not say, or if you want a finished library, narration or a phone app: none of those appears on the pages we read.
Whose model is it, and what is allowed
The content rules at an AI story service follow whoever supplies the model. DreamGen's pricing page separates what is included from what is metered. Paid plans list access to basic and premium AI models, marked "unlimited*", while third-party models cost credits, with up to 60 percent off select ones on Pro. A default model, GLM 5.2, is described as costing Pro users 0 credits. We did not record a list of the third-party models, and the pages do not say whether their providers' own limits apply on DreamGen.
DreamGen's own rules are thin. The Terms, updated 2026/03/23, bar content that is or could reasonably be considered illegal in the United States, the EFTA countries or your own jurisdiction, and content that Depicts, describes, or promotes sexual content involving minors, including fictional minors
. They contain no other sexual-content ban, and no sentence says that explicit content between adults is allowed. We record that as not confirmed. Published content falls under in-app Community Guidelines that need a login, which we did not read.
One detail matters for private writing. The Terms & Privacy FAQ says automated moderation scans private content, and that private stories are not used to train models unless you opt in, which is off by default. For the wider question see our guide to NSFW rules at AI story apps.
What the tiers hold: context, credits and "unlimited"
Context is how much of your story the model can see when it writes the next passage, counted in tokens. A larger window helps a character or a rule from an hour ago stay in view. DreamGen sells it directly: Starter has a 5,000-token window, Advanced 15,000 and Pro 30,000. NovelAI's documentation puts four characters to a token for its own models, which would make 5,000 tokens about 20,000 characters; DreamGen publishes no such ratio, so treat that as a rough yardstick only.
The ladder is not a straight line. Starter to Advanced costs $11.52 more and triples the window, and takes monthly credits from 375 to 2,250. Advanced to Pro costs $28.95 more and doubles the window, but leaves monthly credits at 2,250 and extra daily credits at 75. What Pro adds is the 30,000-token window, a 20 percent discount on credit packs and the third-party model discounts. If you do not use third-party models, Pro is mostly a context purchase.
| Plan | List price | Context | Monthly credits | Per 1,000 plan credits | Per 1,000 tokens of context |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $7.83 | 5,000 | 375 | $20.88 | $1.57 |
| Advanced | $19.35 | 15,000 | 2,250 | $8.60 | $1.29 |
| Pro | $48.30 | 30,000 | 2,250 | $21.47 | $1.61 |
Those per-unit figures are our arithmetic on the list prices, and a crude yardstick: they ignore the model access and discounts. They do show that Advanced is the cheapest of the three per token of context and per credit.
The asterisk on "unlimited*" matters. The FAQ definition did not render on the page we read, and the page's embedded data shows monthly token caps on the included models, so we treat "unlimited" as capped. We cannot say what the cap is.
Credits and credit packs
Monthly credits reset once a month. The extra daily credits are used only after the monthly credits run out, and they reset every day. A ceiling for what a plan can offer in a 30-day month, if you used the daily credits every day, is 950 for the free tier (200 plus 25 a day), 1,725 for Starter (375 plus 45 a day) and 4,500 for Advanced or Pro (2,250 plus 75 a day). That is a ceiling, not a promise: the pages do not say how many credits a story or a model costs.
One-off packs exist but are not shown as visible cards; they sit in the pricing page's embedded data. Small is 750 credits for $5.39, Medium 3,000 for $18.29 (labelled "Save 15%") and Large 9,000 for $51.79 ("Save 20%"). That works out at $7.19, $6.10 and $5.75 per 1,000 credits. A Large pack is cheaper per credit than the credits inside any plan, so if credits are all you need, the plan's value lies in the context window and the included models. Our guide to how story app credits work covers the general trap.
How much DreamGen costs
| Plan | Price | Billed | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | month | 200 monthly credits and 25 daily credits; context window and model access not stated |
| Starter | $7.83 | month | 5000 tokens context window; unlimited* access to basic and premium AI models; 375 monthly credits; 45 extra daily credits; 0% discount on credit packs; 0% discount on third-party models. 'Unlimited*' carries an asterisk and the FAQ definition did not render; the page data shows monthly token caps on the included models, so treat 'unlimited' as capped. |
| Advanced | $19.35 | month | 15000 tokens context window; unlimited* basic and premium models; 2250 monthly credits; 75 extra daily credits; 0% discount on credit packs; 0% discount on third-party models. 'Unlimited*' carries an asterisk and the FAQ definition did not render; the page data shows monthly token caps on the included models, so treat 'unlimited' as capped. |
| Pro | $48.30 | month | 30000 tokens context window; unlimited* basic and premium models; 2250 monthly credits; 75 extra daily credits; 20% discount on credit packs; up to 60% discount on select third-party AI models. 'Unlimited*' carries an asterisk and the FAQ definition did not render; the page data shows monthly token caps on the included models, so treat 'unlimited' as capped. |
| Credit Pack: Small | $5.39 | once | 750 credits |
| Credit Pack: Medium | $18.29 | once | 3000 credits (callout 'Save 15%') |
| Credit Pack: Large | $51.79 | once | 9000 credits (callout 'Save 20%') |
Checked October 27, 2026. Source: v2.dreamgen.com. Prices change with region, promotions and the store you buy through.
The prices above are the struck-through list prices. The page also shows $6.26 for the first month of Starter, $15.48 for Advanced and $33.81 for Pro, at 20, 20 and 30 percent off; the embedded data says that applies to a first purchase only. No trial is stated, and we do not count the first-month discount as one. No annual price is published on the pages we read.
Prices, credits and context windows come from the rendered pricing page, which redirects from dreamgen.com/pricing. The Free product has no visible card; its figures come from the same embedded data and from the docs, which say every user, free ones included, gets monthly and daily credits. The home page promises a generous free tier, no strings attached
. For the plan-level view see free AI erotica stories.
Renewal, cancelling and refunds
Terms section 6.1 says subscription fees are billed in advance on a recurring basis. Section 6.2 says you are responsible for managing your subscription through the account management page or by emailing support@dreamgen.com. The pricing page has a FAQ entry, "How can I cancel my subscription?", whose answer did not render for us.
The refund rule is blunt: All purchases are final and non-refundable
, with two exceptions, as required by consumer protection law, or at the sole discretion of the service. The Terms are governed by Swiss law (section 13). Our guide to cancelling a story app subscription has the general routine.
Age, rules and privacy
Users must be 18 or over, and section 2 of the Terms has them represent and warrant that they are of age. No check is described. We found no sentence saying that all characters are adults on the Terms, the Privacy Policy, the Terms & Privacy FAQ, the About page, the home page or the pricing page. The only age rule on characters is the one-line ban above. That describes the pages we read, and we have not audited any story.
The Privacy Policy lists account information, payment information via processors, and the content you create and generate as what it collects. Our page on whether erotica apps are private compares the policies in this niche.
Web version and apps
| Where | Available | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Web browser | Yes | App and pricing are at v2.dreamgen.com. |
The app and pricing live at v2.dreamgen.com. We found no iPhone or Android listing, so we do not say either way. Audio, offline reading and character customisation are not confirmed on the pages we read.
Pros
- A free tier with monthly and daily credits, and a first-month discount on paid plans
- Context sizes are published for every paid tier
- Credit packs are cheaper per credit than the credits inside a plan
- Private stories are not used for training unless you opt in
Cons
- Free-tier context and model access, and the cap behind "unlimited*", are not stated
- Purchases are non-refundable except where the law requires or the service decides
- Automated moderation scans private content
- No company name, no sentence permitting explicit content and no store apps
Best DreamGen alternatives
For a flat subscription with no free tier, NovelAI sells unlimited text on three tiers; see NovelAI alternatives for how it compares. AI Dungeon has a free tier and tiers that run from 4k to 64k tokens of context. DreamPress AI gives free daily credits with narration and chaptered stories. Erota generates explicit stories to a form and says all its characters are adults.
Every service of this kind is in the AI story section, and the platform reviews cover the wider set. For role-play style tools, see AI interactive erotica, and apps with custom stories for the others that write to your prompt.
FAQ
Is DreamGen free?
There is a free tier. The pricing page's embedded data lists a Free product with 200 monthly credits and 25 daily credits, and the home page promises a generous free tier. Its context window and model access are not stated.
How much does DreamGen cost?
List prices are $7.83 a month for Starter, $19.35 for Advanced and $48.30 for Pro. The first month shows $6.26, $15.48 and $33.81. One-off credit packs cost $5.39, $18.29 and $51.79.
Does DreamGen allow NSFW content?
Not confirmed. The Terms bar illegal content and sexual content involving people under 18, fictional ones included, and contain no other sexual-content ban, but no sentence permits explicit content. The Terms & Privacy FAQ says automated moderation scans private content.
What is the difference between Starter, Advanced and Pro?
Context window: 5,000, 15,000 and 30,000 tokens. Advanced and Pro have the same 2,250 monthly credits; Pro adds a 20 percent discount on credit packs and up to 60 percent off select third-party models.
Can I get a refund from DreamGen?
The Terms say all purchases are final and non-refundable, except as required by consumer protection law or at the service's sole discretion.
Is there a DreamGen app?
We found no iPhone or Android listing. It runs in a browser at v2.dreamgen.com.
Final verdict
DreamGen suits a reader who wants a free place to start AI role-play and story writing and is happy to read a credit and context ladder before paying. The Advanced tier is the cheapest per token of context, and Pro is mostly a bigger window. Before you pay, note the gaps: no stated rule on adult content, no company name, and no refunds. We have not used it, so this reads the published prices and terms.
Sources
Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 27, 2026).
- dreamgen.com: Homepage: free-tier wording, story generator and role-play description
- v2.dreamgen.com: Tiers, prices, credits, context windows, credit packs (rendered page and…
- v2.dreamgen.com: Terms of Service updated 2026/03/23: 18+, prohibited content, billing,…
- v2.dreamgen.com: Privacy Policy updated 2026/03/23
- v2.dreamgen.com: Terms & Privacy FAQ: training opt-in, moderation of private content, deletion
- dreamgen.com: About page: creative-freedom statement, 'independently run business'
