Erotica Apps

Story Apps With Character Customisation

Five services in our records let you set who a story is about: Pirr, Satinaire, Smuthie, DreamPress AI and Erota. The range runs from naming a character to a cast the model keeps across chapters, and the free tiers cap it. Pirr's free plan allows one character per story and three saved, against three per story and unlimited saved on Premium.

Updated

Quick answer

  • Who has it: 5 services in our records let you customise characters: Pirr, Satinaire and Smuthie among the apps, DreamPress AI and Erota among the platforms. It is the shortest list in this section. A service not listed has published no answer, which is not a no.
  • The range: from Personalize characters, names, and setting (Satinaire) to up to four characters who star in a story and its next chapters (Erota) and Consistent characters across every image on DreamPress AI Pro.
  • Free: 4 of the 5 have a usable free tier, and the free tiers cap the feature. Pirr allows one character per story and three saved; Premium raises that to three per story and unlimited saved.
  • Not covered: choice-game apps such as Choices are not on the list. Their records are silent on whether you can change the protagonist.

Character customisation is setting who the story is about: a name, pronouns, an appearance, sometimes your own role in the plot. Only five of the services in our records say you can do this, and four of the five are AI services. This page is one of the erotica app features we track. It is short because the data is short, and where the records go quiet we say so.

What character customisation means, and how far it goes

We define it as setting who the story is about: names, pronouns, appearance, sometimes the reader's own role. The caveat that goes with the feature is its range, from swapping a name to building a character the model keeps between stories. A listing that says "customise your character" can mean either, and the sentence alone does not tell you which.

Three levels show up in the records. The first is relabelling: you give the protagonist a name and a setting. The second is a set-up for one story: names, pronouns, genre, mood, location and plot. The third is persistence: the character is saved and reused, or the model keeps it consistent across chapters or images. Only the third gives you something to come back to.

It helps to see the other end. Love Island: The Game's help centre answers Can I play as a male? by saying there is no male player character, and Choices sells outfits for diamonds. Neither record counts these as customisation, and neither service is on the list. One limits who you can play, and the other is a purchase.

How we grouped the five

We grouped by how much each record says the character carries, since that is the part that differs: names and setting only, a cast set up for the story, or a cast that is kept. A service missing here has published no answer, which is not the same as no.

ServiceWhat the record says you can setWhat carries overFree tier and limits
SatinairePersonalize characters, names, and setting (Google Play)Not stated; the account-deletion page lists custom characters among deleted dataFree Android app with ads; how much customisation is free is not stated
SmuthieCustomize characters, scenarios, dynamics, and even the mood.Not statedNo free tier described; subscription items from $5.99 to $69.99, periods not stated
PirrNames, pronouns, genre, vibe, location and plotSaved characters: 3 free, unlimited on PremiumFree: 1 character per story. Premium: up to 3
ErotaOptional characters, up to four per storyThey star in your story and its next chapters15 daily credits; Apprentice model only
DreamPress AIPersonas and characters you create; group chatsPro: consistent characters across images, long-term memory; free: story memoryFree: 15 daily credits; images cost 3 credits each

Names and setting (Satinaire and Smuthie)

Both services say you can personalise the cast but publish little detail. Satinaire is an Android-only app of AI-written romance serials, with an adjustable spice level, and its Google Play text says you can personalise characters, names and setting. Smuthie goes further on paper, listing characters, scenarios, dynamics and mood, but both stores show a last update in July 2025, so whether the app is maintained is not confirmed. For either, the records do not say what is saved, how many characters you can have or whether any of it is free.

A cast set up for the story (Pirr)

Pirr's FAQ is the fullest statement of what you set: Name your characters, choose their pronouns, set the genre, the vibe, the location, and the plot. It is an interactive romance app that writes its stories line by line with an AI model, in text only. Its tiers draw the line between the second and third level. The free plan allows one character per story and three saved characters. Premium allows up to three characters per story and unlimited saved characters; the website prints $8.99 and $12.99 without saying which is which, and the App Store charges $12.99 a month. Pirr's FAQ also says the stories you create remain private until you decide to publish them.

A cast that is kept (Erota and DreamPress AI)

Erota's form lets you pick up to four characters, optional, and says they star in your story and its next chapters. That is persistence across chapters, within the model's limits. The free account covers the Apprentice model only, at one credit a story, and the larger models need paid credits.

DreamPress AI treats the character as a standing object. Its free tier has personas, group chats and "self-updating story memory and living lore", and its Pro tier adds Consistent characters across every image and long-term memory, for $9.99 a month on the web or $12.99 on iOS. Images are metered: covers, portraits and scene art cost three credits each on the free tier. The cost of a chapter in credits is not published, and nor are the memory sizes.

Free or paid access

Four of the five are in the record's free column: Pirr, Satinaire, DreamPress AI and Erota. Smuthie is the one that is not, because its listings describe no free tier. The free column describes the service, not the feature, so the useful comparison is what each free tier does to the customisation itself. Pirr rations the number of characters. Erota rations the model. DreamPress AI rations images and the long-term memory that keeps characters consistent. Satinaire does not say. At Pirr and Erota the paid tier lifts a cap. At DreamPress AI the consistency features are Pro-only.

For the wider picture on credits, see custom stories, where the credit arithmetic is worked out for the services that publish it.

What you type, and what the rules say about it

A character you create can say a lot about you: the names, pronouns and traits you chose. The records say little about how any of it is handled. Pirr says your stories stay private until you publish them, and Satinaire's deletion page lists custom characters among the data removed with an account. For the others, nothing is recorded. Our guide to how reading apps use your data covers the general position.

The content rules apply to custom characters too. Pirr's code of conduct says all characters involved in sexual or explicit sexual content must be aged 18 or older, and its homepage says the code prohibits sexual content involving real people or minors. DreamPress AI requires all characters to be over 18, Erota bans sexual content involving people under 18, and Satinaire bans depicting them in sexual or romantic contexts. A custom character is not a way round any of this.

Limits to know about

  • The list is short. Most services in our records say nothing on this, which is silence, not a no.
  • The sentences are marketing. We cannot say what the options contain: appearance, personality, relationships or voice are not itemised by any record.
  • Persistence is claimed, not shown. Erota's next-chapters promise and DreamPress AI's consistency are vendor statements. How well a model remembers a character is not something a listing proves.
  • Two apps are thin. Satinaire's record has no limits, and Smuthie has not been updated since July 2025.
  • Explicit content differs. Erota and DreamPress AI allow it for adults, Pirr behind an opt-in switch, Satinaire at spice level 4 and above with an 18+ restriction. Smuthie's explicitness is not stated.

Which service suits which reader

These match a need to what the records show. They are not rankings.

  • You want your own name and pronouns in a romance: Pirr, which says so in its FAQ, with a free plan of one character per story.
  • You want a cast across several chapters: Erota, which says the characters carry into the next chapters.
  • You want pictures that match: DreamPress AI, whose Pro tier promises consistent characters across images.
  • You use Android and want a ready library with a custom option: Satinaire.
  • You want a choice-driven romance you can reshape: Smuthie, with the maintenance caveat above.

The page on interactive stories covers the choice games where you play a ready-made protagonist. For romance specifically, see interactive romance apps, and for help weighing the options, how to choose an erotica app.

FAQ

Which story apps let you name your own character?

Pirr says you can name your characters and choose their pronouns. Erota lets you pick up to four optional characters, DreamPress AI lets you create personas and characters, Satinaire says you can personalise characters and names, and Smuthie lists customised characters. These five are all our records contain.

Do the characters carry over between chapters?

Erota says the characters you pick star in your story and its next chapters, and DreamPress AI Pro promises consistent characters across images and long-term memory. Pirr lets you save characters, three on the free plan. The other two do not say.

Is character customisation free?

Partly. Pirr, Satinaire, DreamPress AI and Erota have free tiers, but they cap the feature: Pirr at one character per story, Erota to its Apprentice model, DreamPress AI by credits per image. Smuthie describes no free tier.

Can I use a real person as a character?

Not at Pirr in sexual content: its homepage says the code of conduct prohibits sexual content involving real people. The other records do not state a rule on real people for custom characters.

Do choice-game apps let you customise the protagonist?

The records are silent. Choices sells outfits, and Love Island: The Game has no male player character. Neither is recorded as customisation.

Sources

Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 27, 2026).