Quick answer
- Last updated: July 25, 2025 on both the App Store (version 1.1.1) and Google Play, as read on October 27, 2026, about 15 months later. Both listings are still up.
- Price: three App Store items, Smuthie PRO at $5.99 and Smuthie+ at $9.99 and at $69.99, none with a billing period. Google Play prints only a range, $5.99 to $69.99 per item.
- Free: free to download. The listings describe no free tier and no trial.
- What it does: you choose what happens at the end of each chapter, or build your own story by setting tone, setting and characters.
- Age: rated 16+ on the App Store and in the 13+ tier on Google Play. The terms document has no age or adult-content wording.
What Is Smuthie?
Smuthie is listed as "Smuthie - Custom spicy books" on the App Store and "Smuthie: Custom spicy books" on Google Play. Both listings sell it as an interactive romance app: "In Smuthie, every story is an interactive journey. At the end of each chapter, you decide what happens next." The seller on both stores is KRNL SRL of Milan, Italy, and the App Store shows a first release on July 1, 2025.
The developer's own website, krnl.ai, describes a company building apps on AI models and does not mention Smuthie. That is why the one thing worth knowing first is about the listings, not the site.
Not updated since July 25, 2025
The App Store's newest version is 1.1.1 and its version history dates it July 25, 2025; the note reads "More control on next chapter creation! Bug fix and improvements". Google Play shows "Updated on Jul 25, 2025". We read both on October 27, 2026, about 15 months later. The app therefore went three and a half weeks from first release to its last update and has had none since.
Both listings are still live, with 73 ratings on the App Store and 10K+ downloads on Google Play. Whether the app is still maintained, or still works on a current phone, is not something the listings tell us, and we have not installed it. It is a fact about the dates, and it is the first thing to weigh before paying.
Smuthie review: who it suits
On the listing's own description, Smuthie suits a reader who wants to steer a romance by choosing tone, setting and characters, and who accepts an app whose listings have not changed since July 2025. It is a weaker fit if you want a published price with a billing period, a library you can size up first, or an app with an active release history. Nothing on either listing mentions audio, offline reading or a web version.
Choices, custom stories and the library
The listings describe three things. Each story ends its chapters with a decision ("Your choices unlock new twists, new desires, and new depths to each character's story. The path isn't fixed."). You can also "create your own adventure. Set the tone, pick the setting, design the characters", and "Customize characters, scenarios, dynamics, and even the mood". Our pages on branching choices, custom stories and character customisation show which other services say the same.
The listings never say AI. They refer to "Smuthie's story engine" generating stories from your choices without explaining how, and the developer's site says its apps use AI models while not naming this one. We therefore do not say the stories are AI-written. The library is described only as "A library that keeps growing" with "a diverse catalog of stories", with no count, genre list or story length. No terms or help pages explain how many chapters a story runs.
Is Smuthie free?
The App Store shows it as free to download. Neither listing describes a free tier, a free chapter or a trial, so we record none. What a new user can read before paying is not something the public pages answer.
How much Smuthie costs
| Plan | Price | Billed | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| Smuthie PRO (App Store, US) | $5.99 | not stated | Subscription tier named 'Smuthie PRO'; the billing period is not in the item name |
| Smuthie+ (App Store, US) | $9.99 | not stated | Subscription tier named 'Smuthie+'; the billing period is not in the item name |
| Smuthie+ (App Store, US) | $69.99 | not stated | Second item named 'Smuthie+' at a higher price; the billing period is not in the item name |
Checked October 27, 2026. Source: apps.apple.com. Prices change with region, promotions and the store you buy through.
The App Store lists three in-app items: Smuthie PRO at $5.99, Smuthie+ at $9.99 and a second Smuthie+ at $69.99. None carries a billing period in its name, and Google Play prints only a range of $5.99 to $69.99 per item, never individual prices. The two Smuthie+ prices differ by a factor of seven, which would fit a monthly plan beside a yearly one, but nothing on either listing says so. We have not tried to turn them into a price per month or per chapter. There are no coins: only subscription-style items are listed.
Apple's guidelines ask apps to "clearly describe what the user will get for the price" before asking anyone to subscribe, and the in-app purchase screen may say more than the store listing does. We did not see it. Our guide to cancelling a story app subscription covers the general steps while the app's own cancellation route is unrecorded.
iPhone and Android
| Where | Available | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| iPhone and iPad | Yes | Last updated 2025-07-25 (version 1.1.1), about 15 months old. Seller KRNL SRL; App Store rating 16+ when read; free; category Books. |
| Android | Yes | Last updated Jul 25, 2025, about 15 months old. Developer KRNL SRL; 10K+ downloads when read; in-app items listed at $5.99 - $69.99 per item (Google Play prints a range only, no individual prices; recorded as printed). |
It runs on both phone platforms. We found no web version, and the developer's site does not mention the app. Our list of erotica apps for Android shows what else runs there.
Privacy, billing and age
The App Store rates it 16+ and lists frequent mature or suggestive themes. Google Play puts it in its 13+ tier with a "Suggestive Themes" descriptor. The listing links a terms document, a PDF, which contains no age or adult-content wording, and a privacy-policy PDF whose file name is "Privacy Policy - Mirage_KRNL.pdf", not named for Smuthie. We did not read the privacy PDF. How the app checks age at sign-up is unknown, because we install nothing and create no accounts.
Adult intent is clear from the wording ("spicy" in the title, "a steamy affair", "bold, intimate narratives"), but sexual explicitness is not stated anywhere we read. We looked for a statement that all characters are adults in the terms document and the two store descriptions and did not find one. That describes the pages we read, not the stories.
On data, the App Store privacy card lists data used to track you, linked to you and not linked to you, each limited to contact information. Google Play's Data safety section says no data is shared with third parties, that the app may collect personal info, app activity and two other types, that data is encrypted in transit and that you can request deletion. Our page on whether erotica apps are private explains how far such declarations can be trusted. We recorded no card descriptor, cancellation route, refund rule or trial terms.
Pros
- Reader choices at the end of each chapter, plus a build-your-own-story mode, in the vendor's description
- Runs on both iPhone and Android
- Google Play's Data safety section says no data is shared with third parties
Cons
- Both listings were last updated on July 25, 2025
- The three prices carry no billing period
- The terms document has no age wording and no statement about the ages of characters
- The developer's website does not mention the app
Best Smuthie alternatives
Three services come closest, and each differs on the point that matters here. Pirr is the other text-only interactive romance app, where you choose genre, characters and setting and the story adapts as you go. It publishes $12.99 a month and $99.99 a year on the App Store, has a free tier, and keeps explicit mode off until an adult turns it on in settings. Satinaire also lets you set the spice level and tropes, but it is Android-only and says its stories and narration are AI-generated. Spicify covers dark romance as books and audio rather than interactive stories. If choices are the point, our page on the best interactive erotica apps compares the wider field, and the apps section lists every review.
FAQ
Is Smuthie still updated?
Neither store shows an update since July 25, 2025. The App Store's newest version is 1.1.1 and Google Play says "Updated on Jul 25, 2025", both read on October 27, 2026. Whether the developer maintains it behind the scenes is not stated.
Is Smuthie free?
It is free to download. Neither listing describes a free tier or a trial, so we cannot say what you can read without paying.
How much is Smuthie?
The App Store lists Smuthie PRO at $5.99 and Smuthie+ at $9.99 and $69.99, with no billing periods. Google Play shows a range of $5.99 to $69.99 per item.
Is Smuthie on Android?
Yes. Google Play lists it under the developer KRNL SRL, with 10K+ downloads, last updated July 25, 2025.
Who makes Smuthie?
KRNL SRL, based in Milan, Italy, per the App Store seller line and Google Play's developer block. The company's own site does not mention the app.
Does Smuthie use AI?
The listings do not say. The developer's site says its apps use AI models but does not name Smuthie, so we make no claim either way.
Final verdict
Smuthie is a choice-driven romance app whose listings have not changed since July 25, 2025. If steering a story and building your own is the draw, and you are comfortable subscribing to prices with no stated period in an app with no release history this year, it matches what its listing describes. If you want evidence of a maintained product or a clear price, the better-documented services listed above are the safer choice. We have not installed it, so this is a summary of two store listings.
Sources
Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 27, 2026).
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: seller KRNL SRL, 16+, version 1.1.1 updated 2025-07-25,…
- play.google.com: Google Play listing: updated Jul 25, 2025, 10K+ downloads, rating label,…
- firebasestorage.googleapis.com: Terms PDF linked from the listing
- loopsie.s3.amazonaws.com: Privacy-policy PDF linked from the listing (not read)




