Erotica Apps

Kindle+ (formerly Kindle Unlimited) Review

Subscription library

Kindle+ (formerly Kindle Unlimited) is Amazon's borrowing library for ebooks and audiobooks: $11.99 a month plus taxes in the US, a 30-day trial for new subscribers, up to 20 titles at a time, and nothing to keep once the subscription ends. This Kindle+ review covers what borrowing means, what Amazon's pages say about erotica and what we could not confirm.

$11.99/mo

Free tier: No

Open on the App Store
Kindle+ (formerly Kindle Unlimited) App Store screenshot 1
Kindle+ (formerly Kindle Unlimited) App Store screenshot 2
Kindle+ (formerly Kindle Unlimited) App Store screenshot 3
Kindle+ (formerly Kindle Unlimited) App Store screenshot 4

Official App Store screenshots, published by Kindle+ (formerly Kindle Unlimited).

Updated

Quick answer

  • Price: $11.99 a month plus taxes in the US, per Amazon's own explainer. Other countries have local prices that we did not record.
  • Free: no free catalogue. Amazon's FAQ says new subscribers who have not tried Kindle+ are eligible for a 30-day free trial. Whether a card is needed is not stated, but an Amazon account needs a valid payment method.
  • Borrowing: up to 20 titles at a time with no due dates while you subscribe. Cancel and you lose access to the titles at the next billing date, with no refund of fees already paid.
  • Name: Kindle Unlimited is now Kindle+. Amazon's article carries an update note dated October 22, 2026, and our news item on the rename has the detail.
  • Erotica: the pages we read state no erotica policy. Amazon's publishing rules say pornography is not sold and do not define the word.

What Is Kindle+ (formerly Kindle Unlimited)?

Kindle+ is a monthly subscription that gives access to millions of ebooks, plus thousands of audiobooks, comics, manga and magazines, read in the free Kindle app or on Kindle devices. Amazon's article "Kindle Unlimited is now Kindle+: Everything you need to know" was updated on October 22, 2026 to say that Kindle Unlimited has been renamed. The old sign-up path still loads and is titled "Sign up to Kindle+ for a Free Trial", and Amazon's price-change help page says "Kindle Unlimited (now Kindle+)". The amazon.de and amazon.co.uk pages show the same Kindle+ page.

That is why this page carries both names. Most people still search the old one. The operator is Amazon; the exact legal entity for Kindle+ is not confirmed on the pages we read.

Kindle+ review: who it suits

Going by Amazon's pages, Kindle+ suits a reader who finishes many books a month and wants one flat fee instead of paying per title, on a phone, tablet, computer or Kindle device. It is a weaker fit in four cases. If you want to keep what you read, you cannot: the titles are borrowed. If you want a stated erotica policy, none is published on the pages we read. If you want the lowest price while reading little, a per-title store may cost less, and we cannot work that out without the title prices. If you are outside the US, we did not record your price.

What "borrowing" means

Kindle+ is a lending library, not a purchase. Amazon's wording is "Borrow up to 20 books at a time with Kindle+ and return them anytime without due date restrictions as long as you have an active subscription". Magazine issues count toward the 20-title limit. You look for the Kindle+ badge on a book page, download the title to the Kindle app or a Kindle device, and read or listen.

The condition is in the cancellation text: your subscription "will remain active until your next billing date, after which you'll lose access to your Kindle+ titles". Titles leave when the subscription ends. Nothing you borrowed becomes yours, and Amazon says that if you cancel, "you will not receive a refund of any subscription fees paid". Twelve payments of $11.99 come to $143.88 before taxes, and at the end of that year you own none of the books you borrowed.

Our page on subscription against credit-based story apps explains how this model differs from paying per chapter or per title.

What you can get for free

There is no free catalogue. The one free route is the trial: the FAQ says "New subscribers who have not tried Kindle+ are eligible for a 30-day free trial." Amazon's explainer sends readers to the Kindle+ page to check eligibility. The pages we read do not say whether the trial needs a card on file.

Kindle+ is not part of Prime. Amazon's explainer answers the question with "No. Kindle+ is a distinct monthly subscription", and adds that Prime members get a free book every month through Amazon First Reads and can explore a curated selection of the Kindle+ catalogue. We read that answer on Amazon's article directly on October 27, 2026.

How much Kindle+ costs

PlanPriceBilledWhat you get
Kindle+ (US, monthly)$11.99monthBorrow up to 20 titles at a time with no due dates: ebooks, audiobooks, comics, manga and magazines; read in the free Kindle app or on Kindle devices. Plus taxes. 30-day free trial for new subscribers.

Checked October 27, 2026. Source: aboutamazon.com. Prices change with region, promotions and the store you buy through.

The only published price is the US monthly one. The explainer says "In the U.S., a Kindle+ subscription costs $11.99 a month plus taxes", and the FAQ gives "$11.99 USD/month plus taxes". Taxes sit on top and vary by place, so the amount on your card will be higher than $11.99 in many places. There are no coins or credits, and no annual plan appears on the pages we read.

Billing is monthly and continues until you cancel. If you want the mechanics of ending a subscription across services, see our guide to cancelling a story app subscription, and for a closer look at the figures, what Kindle+ costs.

What is in the library

Amazon's FAQ claims "more than 5 million eBooks, thousands of audiobooks, comics, manga, and magazines", while its explainer says "millions of eBooks". Both are claims, not counts we made. The explainer names mystery and thrillers, romance, science fiction and fantasy as genres you can search, and says titles span "all genres".

Audio is included: narration is available for thousands of Kindle+ titles, shown by a headphone icon next to the Kindle+ logo, and thousands of ebooks come with a companion audiobook at no additional cost. Our page on apps with voice narration compares the services that say they use human narrators; Amazon's pages we read do not say who narrates.

What Amazon's rules say about erotica

Erotica is not a labelled part of the subscription on the pages we read, and no erotica-specific rule for Kindle+ is published there. The closest text is Amazon's publishing rule for the Kindle Store, which is not specific to Kindle+. The KDP Content Guidelines say: We don't sell certain content including content that we determine is hate speech, promotes the abuse or sexual exploitation of children, contains pornography, glorifies rape or pedophilia, advocates terrorism, or other material we deem inappropriate or offensive.

Two things follow, and one does not. The word "pornography" is not defined on the pages we read. Whether erotic titles are in the Kindle+ catalogue is not stated, and neither is whether erotic titles can earn from Kindle+. What we cannot say is that any given book is safe, available or allowed; the guidelines are general and Amazon decides. Our guide to why erotica apps disappear from the App Store covers the neighbouring rules at the app stores.

Apps, devices and offline reading

WhereAvailableNotes
iPhone and iPadYesAmazon Kindle app, free; seller AMZN Mobile LLC. The Kindle+ subscription is read in this app.
AndroidYesAmazon Kindle app (Amazon Mobile LLC), 100M+ downloads.
Web browserYesAmazon: 'The Kindle app is available on iOS, Android, Mac, PC, and the web'.

Amazon says "The Kindle app is available on iOS, Android, Mac, PC, and the web" and is included on Alexa tablets. Titles are downloaded to Kindle devices and the app, which gives you offline reading; the help page tells you to "look for the Kindle+ subscription badge, download, and start reading". The App Store lists the Kindle app as rated 13+ and Google Play lists it as Teen. The services that document offline use are on our offline reading page.

For writers

Authors reach Kindle+ through KDP Select, which the KDP page calls a free 90-day programme. The ebook must be exclusive to the Kindle Store for each 90-day enrolment, though print and other formats can be sold elsewhere, and an author has three days from the start to cancel. Pay comes from the KDP Select Global Fund, based on Kindle Edition Normalized Pages read, and Amazon says you are paid for the first time a subscriber reads a given page. The fund's size is reviewed monthly, so there is no fixed per-page rate. The KENP report shows reading and listening activity.

KDP Terms 5.4.8 let Amazon withhold or recover royalties for a breach, and the Content Guidelines ban "pornography" without defining it. How this sits beside other routes is in how to publish erotica and platforms that ban erotica.

Privacy, billing and age

An Amazon account with a valid payment method is required. No minimum age is stated for Kindle+ itself on the pages we read; Amazon's Conditions of Use were not read. We also found no age check or adult gating inside the Kindle app, and no sentence stating that all characters are adults. That describes the pages we read, not the catalogue. We did not record a card descriptor, a privacy policy address or the Data safety section. If the statement line matters, read what erotica apps look like on a bank statement and check the first charge yourself.

Pros

  • One flat monthly price with no coins, credits or per-title charges
  • Up to 20 titles at a time, with no due dates while you subscribe
  • Companion audiobooks at no extra cost on thousands of ebooks
  • Read in the free Kindle app on phones, computers and the web, with downloads
  • A 30-day trial for new subscribers, and cancelling is done online

Cons

  • Titles leave when the subscription ends, and fees already paid are not refunded
  • The price excludes taxes, and prices outside the US were not recorded
  • No erotica rule is stated, and "pornography" is not defined
  • No minimum age or adult gating inside the app was found on the pages we read
  • Whether the trial needs a card is not stated

Best Kindle+ alternatives

Everand is the nearest subscription library, from $11.99 a month on its home page, and it has a dedicated Erotica category that needs a subscription to browse. The per-title stores charge no monthly fee: Apple Books and Google Play Books price each title, and Smashwords sells DRM-free ebooks with erotica switched off until a registered user turns it on. Wattpad has a free tier with ads, and Premium from $4.99 a month on its web page.

For a head-to-head, read Everand against Kindle+, and for a wider list see Kindle+ alternatives. The platforms section has the rest of the stores and libraries.

FAQ

Is Kindle Unlimited now Kindle+?

Yes. Amazon's article was updated on October 22, 2026 to say that Kindle Unlimited has been renamed Kindle+. It is the same subscription under a new name, and the old sign-up path still loads.

How much is Kindle+ a month?

$11.99 a month plus taxes in the US, per Amazon's explainer and FAQ. Other countries have local prices that we did not record.

What happens to my books if I cancel Kindle+?

You lose access to your Kindle+ titles. The subscription stays active until your next billing date, and then the borrowed titles go. Amazon says you will not receive a refund of subscription fees already paid.

Is there a Kindle+ free trial?

Amazon's FAQ says new subscribers who have not tried Kindle+ are eligible for a 30-day free trial. Whether a card is required is not stated, but the Amazon account needs a valid payment method.

How many books can you borrow on Kindle+?

Up to 20 titles at a time, with no due dates while you have an active subscription. Magazine issues count toward the 20.

Can you read erotica on Kindle+?

The pages we read do not say. They state no erotica policy for the subscription, and the publishing rules say pornography is not sold without defining it. We do not link to or name titles.

Is Kindle+ included with Prime?

No. Amazon calls it a distinct monthly subscription. Prime members get a free book each month through Amazon First Reads and a curated selection of the catalogue.

Final verdict

Kindle+ is a plain borrowing library at $11.99 a month plus taxes in the US: a good match for a heavy reader who wants no per-title charges and accepts that nothing is kept after cancelling. It is a poor fit for anyone who wants an erotica policy in writing or the ability to keep what they read. We have not used the service, so this is a read of Amazon's published pages.

Sources

Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 27, 2026).