Quick answer
- No service in our records publishes its card descriptor. The field is empty in all 65, and so is the one for discreet billing.
- We did not subscribe to or pay for anything, so the first charge on your own statement is the only reliable way to learn the wording.
- What is published is the route: 17 services say where a subscription is cancelled, and seven records say who processes the payment, six of them by name.
- Buy inside an iPhone or Android app and the store holds the money. Two services say in their own terms that only Apple can refund such a purchase.
- Refunds are mostly not available. Of the 19 records with a refund policy, most say purchases are final.
This is the question readers in this niche ask most, and it has the least satisfying answer on the site. We looked for a published card descriptor for every one of the 42 apps and 22 platforms we cover and found none. Not one company states what its charge is called on a statement, and not one advertises discreet billing either. Both fields are empty in every single record.
Nor can we fill the gap from experience, because we created no accounts, started no trials and paid for nothing. Any page that tells you what a specific erotica app prints on a card statement has either subscribed without saying so, or is guessing. The useful true thing is that the first charge is cheap to inspect and the route it takes is documented.
Why the descriptor is the one fact nobody publishes
Adult services in other categories advertise a neutral billing name as a feature. Nobody in this set does. The likeliest reason is structural rather than coy: most of these products are sold through the app stores, where the descriptor is not the developer's to choose, and a company that cannot control the wording has nothing to promise about it. That is an explanation and not a published fact, so we mark it as one. What follows is published.
Who actually takes the money
There are three routes, and which one you are on determines who appears as the merchant, where you cancel, and who can refund you.
Through the app store. If you buy inside an iPhone or Android app, the store processes it. Dreame's terms put cancellation in the Apple ID subscription settings or the Google Play subscriptions page rather than in the app, and Webnovel's say the same. Erotic Stories - Erotica is blunter about the consequence: For in-app purchases made through the App Store, we do not have the right to issue any refunds. The only way to receive a refund for such purchases is to contact Apple.
AI Dungeon says the same of Apple payments, and Wattpad's payment policy points refund seekers at the stores.
Through the service's own checkout. Here the merchant is the service or its payment provider. Seven of our records say who that is, six of them by name, and one of the seven is a writers' tool rather than a reading app.
Through a membership platform. One service sells this way. Erota's FAQ names Patreon as the way to become a paid member and says of cancelling: Only you can cancel your Patreon membership (we cannot)
. Its own site also sells directly, at different prices and in a different currency, and the record keeps both.
| Service | Named in the record as processing or holding the payment | Where it says to cancel |
|---|---|---|
| Spicify | Stripe on the web, Apple on iPhone | Account settings, the Stripe customer portal or Apple subscriptions, depending on where you bought it |
| Outfox Stories | Stripe | Not stated on the pages read |
| Erota | Patreon, or its own checkout | On Patreon, for the Patreon route. The direct route is not described |
| NovelCrafter | Paddle, named as the payment provider for refunds | The customer portal inside the app, or account settings |
| Talefy | Card or PayPal | Switch off automatic renewal in your account |
| Bloom Stories | PayPal, credit cards, Apple Pay or Google Pay | Not stated on the pages read |
| NovelAI | A payment processor, not named | Through the processor or NovelAI's own payment centre |
| Dreame, Webnovel, GoodNovel, Roma: Romance Novels | Apple or Google, as the store that sold it | Apple ID subscription settings, or the Google Play subscriptions page |
| Satinaire | Google Play | Google Play, with the account that made the purchase |
The practical point of that table is that the name on your statement is probably not the name of the app. On a store purchase it is the store's; on a direct purchase it may be the payment provider's or the operating company's. Several of these companies trade under a name that is not the product's: Crave's record notes that no company is named on the web and the App Store seller is a different entity again. Our note on how we check explains why we will not extrapolate from that to a wording.
The rules that apply before the first charge
Store purchases are governed by published rules, which helps because they are the same for every app. Apple requires that a subscription must last at least seven days and be available across all of the user's devices
, and that before asking a customer to subscribe, you should clearly describe what the user will get for the price
. It also states that any credits or in-game currencies purchased via in-app purchase may not expire
, which protects a coin balance bought on iOS whatever an app's own terms say.
Google's lever is different: a developer who targets only adults can switch on a restriction after which users determined to be under 18 will not be able to search for, download or purchase the app
, and people who already installed it keep reading but cannot renew or buy anything new. That is worth knowing if a renewal fails for no apparent reason. More of this machinery is in why erotica apps keep vanishing from the app stores.
Trials are the commonest way to get charged by surprise
A trial on a plan that renews is a subscription that has not charged you yet, and several records say so in the service's own words.
- Dipsea's trial is seven days and only on the annual plan, which its sign-up page describes as
billed annually when trial ends
. The monthly plan has no trial. - Audible's home page offers 30 days and then
Auto renews for $8.99 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
- Everand's length depends on where you subscribe:
Enjoy a free trial for 30 days when you subscribe on our website, or a 7-day trial via the App Store
. - Kindle+ gives new subscribers 30 days, and Amazon says cancelling brings no refund of fees already paid.
- femtasy's 30-day trial is on the annual plan only, and its monthly plan says there is no trial.
- Wattpad's payment policy says to cancel before the trial ends, through the store where you subscribed.
Whether a card is needed is not stated for most of them. Two say it is not: NovelCrafter's 21-day trial advertises No credit card required, all features unlocked.
and Sudowrite's pricing page says Start Free Trial · No credit card, cancel anytime
. Where no card is required, no charge can appear.
Once the charge has happened, refunds are mostly not a thing
Nineteen records carry a refund policy and most close the door. Crave's terms say No refunds are offered for any products or services offered via the App.
GoodNovel's say All fees are in U.S. dollars and are non-refundable.
Spicify, Webnovel, Satinaire, Dreame, Everand, Kindle+, NovelAI, Talefy, DreamGen and Wattpad all say a version of the same, usually with an exception for mandatory consumer law.
Four are more generous, and all four are web services rather than store apps: DreamPress AI refunds an entirely unused subscription within 14 days, NovelCrafter points you at Paddle within 14 days, Erota prorates by the share of the membership used, and StoryLoom refunds unused spools within five days. Sudowrite is a contradiction its own record flags, its terms refusing refunds on cancellation while its documentation promises one in the first week.
What to check, and when
- Before you pay, find out which route you are on. If the purchase happens inside the app on a phone, the store is the merchant and the store is where you will cancel. If it happens in a browser, look for the payment provider's name on the checkout page.
- Prefer the route with a documented exit. Seventeen of the 65 services say where a subscription is cancelled. For the other 48 that step is undocumented, which is a reason to buy through a store, where the route is at least standard.
- Put the end of any trial in a calendar. A renewal that starts the day a trial ends is the normal arrangement rather than a trap.
- Read the first charge in your banking app, not at the end of the month. Most show a pending transaction within a day with the merchant string in full, and that is the moment this page's question gets answered for your service on your card. If the wording matters, test it with the smallest purchase on offer: a one-week plan or a small coin pack produces the same descriptor as an annual plan.
- Cancel before you delete anything. Satinaire states that deleting your account does not cancel the subscription, and most records do not address the point. Deleting an account and stopping a charge are separate jobs.
Watch out
One thing we will not do, here or anywhere on this site, is give you an example of what a charge might say. We have not subscribed to any of these services, no record in the set contains a descriptor, and a plausible-looking example would be read as a fact. If you need to know before you pay, the answer is a small test purchase on a card you can watch.
What the service records, rather than what your bank prints, is on how reading apps use your data. The services that can evidence something are grouped in the shortlist by property, the broader picture is in our overview, and what you are paying for is in the pricing pillar. This page sits in the privacy section with the rest.
FAQ
What will an erotica app look like on my bank statement?
We cannot tell you, and neither can the companies, because none of them publishes it. What determines the wording is the route: a purchase made inside an iPhone or Android app is handled by the store, and a purchase made on a website is handled by the service or its payment provider, which several records name. The only reliable answer is the first charge on your own statement.
Do any erotica apps offer discreet billing?
None of the 65 services in our records advertises it, and the field is empty in every one. That is notable, because adult services in other categories do market a neutral billing name. The likeliest reason is that a store-sold app does not control the descriptor in the first place.
Who charges me, the app or the app store?
If you bought inside the app on a phone, the store. Dreame and Webnovel both put cancellation in the Apple or Google settings rather than in their own apps, and Erotic Stories - Erotica's terms say only Apple can refund an App Store purchase. If you bought on a website, the merchant is the service or a provider it names, such as Stripe, Paddle or Patreon.
Can I get a refund if I am charged after a trial?
Usually not from the service. Of the 19 records with a refund policy, most say purchases are final and several add that there is no refund for the unused part of a paid period. Where the purchase went through a store, the store's own refund process is a separate route, and two services send you there explicitly.
How do I avoid a charge entirely while trying a service?
Use a trial that states no card is required. Two in our records do, NovelCrafter's and Sudowrite's, and both are writers' tools rather than reading apps. For everything else assume a card is needed unless the page says otherwise, because most of these records do not say either way.
Do my coins expire if I stop paying?
Not if you bought them through an in-app purchase on iOS: Apple's guidelines state that credits bought that way may not expire and that developers must offer a restore mechanism. Coins bought on a website follow that service's own terms, several of which say purchases are final, which is about refunds rather than expiry.
Sources
Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 28, 2026).
- sites.google.com: Terms of Use: refund policy through Apple, cancel at the App Store,…
- dreame.com: Terms of Use (published September 18, 2025): sexually explicit or pornographic…
- webnovel.com: Terms of Service (last updated January 14, 2019): 13+, accounts, fees,…
- spicifyapp.com: Privacy policy: adults only, service providers, account deletion
- satinaire.com: Privacy policy: self-reported date of birth, Unity Ads, retention
- patreon.com: Patreon membership prices in EUR, 7-day trial
- outfoxstories.com: Premium page: plans in USD, trial, AI mature-content rule, regional age…
- novelcrafter.com: Privacy Policy, last updated August 31, 2026: children's privacy
- talefy.ai
- dipseastories.com: Sign-up page: $69.99/year with 7-day trial, 18+ checkbox
- audible.com: Home page: plans, trial, credits, offline, limited-time annual offer
- policies.wattpad.com: Payment Policy: Coins, subscriptions, trials, cancellation, refunds
- developer.apple.com: App Store Review Guidelines 1.1.4, 1.2, 1.2.1(a), 2.3.6 and 2.3.8,…
- support.google.com: Google Play target audience settings and Restrict Minor Access, read…