Erotica Apps

Dipsea Review

Audio app

Dipsea is a subscription library of voice-acted erotic and romance audio stories: $12.99 a month or $69.99 a year, a 7-day trial on the annual plan only, and no standing free plan. This Dipsea review covers what the library holds, where it runs and what the service says about age and billing.

$12.99/mo

Free tier: No

Visit dipseastories.com
Dipsea App Store screenshot 1
Dipsea App Store screenshot 2
Dipsea App Store screenshot 3
Dipsea App Store screenshot 4

Official App Store screenshots, published by Dipsea.

Updated

Quick answer

  • Price: $12.99 a month or $69.99 a year. The App Store and Google Play descriptions quote the same two figures.
  • Free: no standing free plan is listed. The only free route is a 7-day trial, and it comes with the annual plan only.
  • Library: Dipsea's own FAQ says "1000+ audio stories and audiobooks", with new releases weekly. That is the company's claim, not a count we made.
  • Where: iPhone (rated 18+ on the App Store), Android (17+ on Google Play) and a web app. The store text mentions offline downloads.
  • Age: 18+, confirmed with a checkbox at sign-up. The privacy and age section covers what the pages say about the characters.

What Is Dipsea?

Dipsea sells voice-acted erotic and romance audio stories by subscription, on the web and in iPhone and Android apps. Its home page describes the stories as made "by women, for everyone" and promises "your fantasy, uncensored". The terms of service name Dipsea Inc. of San Francisco as the operator; they carry a last-updated date of 11.08.2022.

One practical point first. The domain dipsea.co is not this service: it is a parked page offering the name for sale. The real site is dipseastories.com.

Dipsea review: who it suits

Going by what the site and the store listings say, Dipsea suits a listener who wants one subscription to cover a large produced library: multi-chapter series (many of them full-cast audio dramas), single-narrator audios, audiobooks, sleep audio and guided wellness audio. It works on a phone or in a browser.

It is a weaker fit in three cases. If you want to sample before paying, the free options are narrow. If you want stories that branch on your choices, nothing on the pages we read mentions that. If you would rather pay per story, there are no coins or credits to buy, only the subscription.

What is in the library

Dipsea's FAQ post, dated May 9, 2024, says the library holds "1000+ audio stories and audiobooks" and that new releases arrive weekly. The App Store listing repeats both claims. Neither is a count, and we have not verified them.

The home page lists the formats the subscription covers:

  • multi-chapter series, many with a full cast;
  • single-narrator audios, in the second person;
  • very short "overheard" clips;
  • audiobooks;
  • sleep scenes and soundscapes;
  • guided wellness audio;
  • romance novels to read, which makes it more than an audio-only service.

The genre and trope tags on the home page include contemporary, fantasy, paranormal, historical and Regency, Western, sapphic, queer, M/M, M/F/M and "why-choose", with tropes such as slow burn and enemies to lovers tagged separately. There is an "Extra Spicy" tag for the most explicit material. If you read by genre, our pages on erotic romance apps and LGBTQ erotica apps show where Dipsea sits among the others. The pages we read do not publish story lengths.

Audio and narration

The home page calls the stories "professionally written and voice-acted", and the narration comes from voice actors that Dipsea recruits; there is a "Voice act for us" page for applicants. Many series are full-cast. We have not listened to any of it, so we cannot say how the performances sound. Our page on apps with voice narration lists which services say they use human narrators.

Interactive or branching stories, custom stories, character customisation and AI-generated stories are not mentioned on the pages we read. We make no claim about them either way.

What you can get for free

The sign-up page lists no free plan. The terms of service (section 6) say "We may let you listen to some of Content for free when you sign up for an Account", which describes something Dipsea may do, not an allowance it promises.

The one free route is the trial. The sign-up page words it as "7 Days Free ... (only $5.83/month) billed annually when trial ends", so the trial belongs to the annual plan, gives the full library for the week, and the $69.99 annual charge comes when it ends. The monthly plan has no trial. Whether a card is required to start the trial is not stated on the pages we read. Our guide to cancelling a story app subscription covers the general mechanics.

How much Dipsea costs

PlanPriceBilledWhat you get
Annual (web)$69.99yearFull library; 7-day free trial on this plan, billed when the trial ends ('only $5.83/month' billed annually)
Monthly (web)$12.99monthFull library; no free trial
Annual (App Store listing text)$69.99yearThe App Store description says '$69.99/year or $12.99/month'. The in-app purchase list also carries older price points that are not the current plans and are not recorded here
Monthly (App Store listing text)$12.99monthSame description line as the annual row

Checked October 27, 2026. Source: dipseastories.com. Prices change with region, promotions and the store you buy through.

The arithmetic is simple because there are no coins. Twelve monthly payments of $12.99 come to $155.88, so the $69.99 annual plan costs about 45 percent of that, a saving of $85.89. The $5.83 a month on the sign-up page is the annual price divided by twelve; you pay it as one charge.

The App Store and Google Play descriptions quote the same two prices as the web ("$69.99/year or $12.99/month"), so the listing text shows no gap between web and store pricing. The App Store's in-app purchase list also carries older price points beside the two current plans. We did not see the purchase screen itself, so we cannot say which price a new subscriber is offered there. For a closer look at how the plans stack up, see what Dipsea costs.

Mobile app, web version and offline listening

WhereAvailableNotes
iPhone and iPadYesSeller Dipsea, Inc; App Store age rating 18+; updated 2026-08-25.
AndroidYesDeveloper Dipsea; Mature 17+; 500K+ downloads; updated Jul 31, 2026.
Web browserYesApp.dipseastories.com redirects to the discover page; the Help Center article 'On what type of device can I use Dipsea?' confirms the web app.

Both store listings were updated within the last three months, so neither looks abandoned. Because there is a web app at app.dipseastories.com, a browser is enough if you would rather not install anything.

On offline listening, the Google Play text says "Download your favorite stories to listen offline" and the App Store listing says "Download your favorite stories". We found no page that describes limits on downloads. Services that clearly offer it are collected on our offline reading page.

For writers and narrators

Dipsea's Write for Us page says "All writing opportunities are paid", and a separate page invites voice actors to apply. Neither describes a royalty or a revenue share, so this is paid freelance work as far as the pages show. How other services pay is in how erotica platforms pay writers.

Privacy, billing and age

Sign-up asks you to tick a box: "By checking this box, I certify I am at least 18 years old". Section 4(a) of the terms says "You may use the Services only if you are 18 years or older". Neither the sign-up page nor the terms describes a document or ID check, so the age check is a declaration. The App Store rates the app 18+ and Google Play rates it 17+.

Dipsea's terms set a minimum age for the listener. They are a different thing from a statement about the characters in the stories. We looked for a sentence saying that all characters are adults on the terms, FAQ, About, Write for Us and sign-up pages, and in the App Store and Google Play descriptions, and did not find one. That describes the pages we read. We have not audited the catalogue. Only one service in this section, Literotica, publishes such a sentence; the audio hub sets out what each of the others says.

The help centre has a trial FAQ and an article on monthly versus annual billing. We did not record a cancellation walkthrough, a refund rule, a card descriptor or a privacy policy address, so we do not state any of them. If the statement line matters to you, read what erotica apps look like on a bank statement and check the first charge yourself.

Pros

  • Runs on iPhone, Android and the web
  • Offline downloads are mentioned in the store text
  • Claims 1000+ stories and weekly releases
  • The annual plan works out about 55 percent cheaper than twelve monthly payments

Cons

  • No standing free plan; the 7-day trial is on the annual plan only
  • The monthly plan, $12.99, has no trial
  • Whether a card is needed for the trial is not stated
  • We found no sentence stating that all characters are adults

Best Dipsea alternatives

Four services in this section cover similar ground, and the differences are mostly about price and how you pay. Quinn is cheaper: its About page lists $7.99 a month and the App Store lists $59.99 a year, and its audio comes from many independent voice creators rather than one recruited cast. Bloom Stories is human-narrated with a free account that unlocks a rotating selection, but its paid plans cost far more than Dipsea's and the visible prices could not be confirmed. The browser-only option is femtasy, at $15.99 a month or $109.99 a year, with its trial on the annual plan as Dipsea's is. BLANCHEstories offers a free ad-supported version and prices in Swedish kronor.

For the wider field, the apps section lists every story app we cover. If you want one to try first on price alone, our page on Dipsea alternatives weighs them. For head-to-heads, see Dipsea vs Quinn and Audible against Dipsea, the latter for readers deciding between a specialist and a general audiobook retailer.

FAQ

Is Dipsea free?

No standing free plan is listed on the sign-up page. The free route is a 7-day trial on the annual plan, which gives the full library and bills $69.99 when it ends. The terms say Dipsea "may" let you listen to some content free at sign-up, which is not a promise of a free tier.

How much is Dipsea a month?

$12.99 on the monthly plan, which has no trial. The annual plan is $69.99 a year, which the sign-up page presents as $5.83 a month billed as one annual charge.

Does Dipsea use AI voices or AI-written stories?

The home page calls the stories "professionally written and voice-acted", and the narration is by voice actors the company recruits. The pages we read do not mention AI-generated stories or voices, so we do not say either way.

Can I listen to Dipsea offline?

The store text says you can download stories. Google Play: "Download your favorite stories to listen offline". We found no page that explains limits on downloads, and we did not test the feature.

Is there a Dipsea Android app?

Yes. Google Play lists it as rated 17+, with 500K+ downloads, last updated July 31, 2026. There is also an iPhone app and a web app.

Is dipsea.co the same as Dipsea?

No. dipsea.co is a parked page offering the domain for sale. The service is at dipseastories.com.

Final verdict

Dipsea is the plain choice for a listener who wants a large, produced library in one flat subscription on any device, and is happy to pay between $5.83 and $12.99 a month with no free tier. It is a poor fit if you want to sample without paying, steer the story, or buy single stories. We have not listened, so this is a read of the price and the published claims, not of the performances.

Sources

Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 27, 2026).