Quick answer
- Rules: the Terms bar user content that a reasonable person could deem "objectionable, profane, indecent, pornographic ... or otherwise inappropriate". They do not use the words "sexually explicit". The page is dated January 14, 2019.
- Ratings: 16+ on the App Store, with an infrequent sexual-content advisory, and the 13+ tier on Google Play. The Terms set a minimum age of 13.
- Coins: packs run from 50 coins for $0.99 to 5,000 for $99.99, about 50 coins a dollar or two cents a coin. The coin cost of a chapter is not published.
- Memberships: "Membership_Monthly" at $9.99, a "Membership" at $4.99 with no stated period, and a "Weekly short story membership" at $19.99.
- Refunds: fees are non-refundable unless the law requires otherwise.
What Is Webnovel?
Webnovel is an app and website of translated and original web novels, fan fiction, comics, manga and webtoons, fantasy-heavy rather than romance-only. The App Store lists Eastern fantasy (wuxia, xianxia, xuanhuan), Western fantasy, sci-fi, romance, fan fiction and comics among its featured genres, and says "The library boasts hundreds of thousands of fanfictions". That is a claim, and no total library figure is published on the pages we read. The operator on the App Store is Cloudary Holdings Limited, and the Terms refer to "Webnovel" as the owner and operator.
One practical point: another iPhone app has a near-identical title and is not this service. Check that the App Store seller line reads Cloudary Holdings Limited before you install or pay.
Webnovel review: who it suits
It suits a reader of fantasy, progression and web-novel fiction, with romance as one genre among several, who is happy to pay for chapters in coins on a phone or in a browser. It is a weaker fit for a reader looking for an erotica library, since the written rules are against indecent and pornographic user content and the store ratings are not adult ones. It also suits less well anyone who needs a published price per chapter, because the coin cost of a chapter is not on any page we could read.
What the Terms say, and what the stores say
For this service the gap is narrower than for its rivals, and it is mostly a gap in the text. We read the Terms of Service as recorded from a browser session on October 27, 2026, because webnovel.com refuses plain requests. They are headed "Last updated: January 14, 2019".
| Where | What it says |
|---|---|
| Terms, section 8(c), prohibited conduct | You agree not to post or distribute content "that is unlawful, defamatory, libelous, inaccurate, or that a reasonable person could deem to be objectionable, profane, indecent, pornographic, harassing, threatening, embarrassing, hateful, or otherwise inappropriate". |
| Terms, section 6.5 | Webnovel may screen, remove, edit or block user content that "in our sole judgment violates these Terms or is otherwise objectionable". |
| Terms, section 2 | "You must be at least 13 years of age to use the Service." |
| App Store | Rated 16+, with the advisory "Infrequent: Sexual Content or Nudity" and flags for unrestricted web access, advertising, messaging and chat, and user-generated content. |
| Google Play | Placed in its 13+ tier (Google's own label for it is Teen), with ads and in-app purchases. |
The words "sexually explicit" do not appear in the clause, so the written limit is "indecent" and "pornographic". The clause is a limit on what users post, not a description of the catalogue, and the author-specific content rules sit behind the Inkstone login, which we could not read. The store advisory says sexual content or nudity is infrequent. We have not read the catalogue. The Terms text is more than seven years old, so recheck it against the live page before leaning on any sentence. Our guide to why erotica apps disappear from the app store explains the store rules these services sit under.
Is Webnovel free?
This is not confirmed in detail. Many chapters are free and some are locked behind coins, as far as we could tell, but we did not read the answers. The help centre index lists topics including free coins, Fast Pass, Batch Unlock and Golden Tickets, and those answers load only when clicked. We therefore record no free tier. Whether reading works logged out is also not confirmed, and the Terms say "To access most features of the Service, you must register for an account". Our glossary entry on serial fiction explains the format.
How much Webnovel coins cost
| Plan | Price | Billed | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| Membership_Monthly | $9.99 | month | Name as listed on the US App Store; contents not described on the listing |
| Membership | $4.99 | not stated | Name as listed on the US App Store; period and contents not stated |
| Weekly short story membership | $19.99 | week | Name as listed on the US App Store; contents not described on the listing |
| 50 Coins | $0.99 | once | 50 coins |
| 150 Coins | $2.99 | once | 150 coins |
| 250 Coins | $4.99 | once | 250 coins |
| 500 Coins | $9.99 | once | 500 coins |
| 1000 Coins | $19.99 | once | 1000 coins |
| 2500 Coins | $49.99 | once | 2500 coins |
| 5000 Coins | $99.99 | once | 5000 coins |
Checked October 27, 2026. Source: apps.apple.com. Prices change with region, promotions and the store you buy through.
The seven coin packs on the US App Store run at almost exactly 50 coins a dollar: 50 for $0.99 is 50.5, 150 for $2.99 is 50.2, 250 for $4.99 is 50.1, 500 for $9.99 is 50.1, 1,000 for $19.99 is 50.0, 2,500 for $49.99 is 50.0 and 5,000 for $99.99 is 50.0. A coin is therefore about two cents whichever pack you buy, with no volume discount, and a chapter that costs N coins costs about 2N cents. N is not published. That also means coin counts do not compare between apps: Dreame and GoodNovel coins cost about a cent each, so the same count costs half as much there, and the chapter prices they set are their own.
The memberships are separate. "Membership_Monthly" is $9.99, which comes to $119.88 over twelve months. A "Membership" item at $4.99 has no period in its name, and a "Weekly short story membership" is $19.99, which left to renew for 52 weeks is $1,039.48. The listing does not say what any of the three includes; the help centre lists Membership, Coin Bonuses, Privilege, Points and a Coin Plan, but those answers were not read. The App Store prints at most ten purchase items, and three of those are memberships, so the list may be partial. Google Play prints a range only. See what Webnovel costs and our guide to how story app credits work for more.
iPhone, Android and the web
| Where | Available | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| iPhone and iPad | Yes | Cloudary Holdings Limited, 48K ratings; free with in-app purchases. A different iOS app titled 'Webnovel - Romance Love Novels' (seller SITRO, TOV, id6447309639) is NOT this service: its own listing calls it LuvNovel. |
| Android | Yes | Cloudary; 10M+ downloads, 451K reviews; ads and in-app purchases (inventory). |
| Web browser | Yes | webnovel.com is a reading site; a plain curl is refused but a browser loads it. |
Google Play shows 10M+ downloads. The website loads in a browser, although a plain request is refused. The App Store listing carries an advertising flag. Audio, interactive stories, AI-written stories and offline reading are not confirmed on the pages we read.
For writers
The App Store text invites readers to join contests and "publish your novel with our matchmaking system". The author portal, Inkstone, redirects to a login page, so contract terms, revenue share, payout methods and exclusivity are not confirmed. Under the Terms (section 6.1), authors retain copyright and Webnovel takes a limited non-exclusive licence "only through our Services". Our page on how erotica platforms pay writers compares what other services publish.
Privacy, billing and age
The Terms (section 4.3) say a subscription renews automatically for successive periods unless you cancel, and that you cancel in the store: Apple ID subscription settings on iPhone, or Google Play on Android, not inside the app. All fees are non-refundable unless applicable laws require otherwise. The age check is the Terms' minimum of 13, and no document check is described. We looked for a statement that all characters are adults in the Terms, the help centre index and the App Store text and did not find one; that describes the pages we read. Our guide to cancelling a story app subscription covers the general steps.
Pros
- A very large claimed library of web novels, fan fiction and comics, on iPhone, Android and the web
- The Terms name the operator and set out cancellation steps for each store
- Packs run at a steady 50 coins a dollar, with no penalty for buying small
Cons
- The Terms were last updated in January 2019, and the explicit-content rule is worded as "indecent" and "pornographic"
- The coin cost of a chapter and the free-chapter count are not published
- Memberships at $4.99, $9.99 and $19.99 with no description of what they include
- Fees are non-refundable, and cancelling is done in the store
- No statement about the ages of characters
Best Webnovel alternatives
GoodNovel is the closest on price structure, but its coins cost about a cent each and its written ban on sexually explicit content is plainer; our GoodNovel vs Webnovel page sets them side by side. Dreame is more romance-focused and also a cent a coin. Roma: Romance Novels is the one to try if you want coin packs that get cheaper per coin as they grow, from about 100 to 150 coins a dollar. The apps section lists every other review.
FAQ
Is Webnovel free?
Not confirmed in detail. Some chapters appear to be free and others locked behind coins, but the help centre answers load only on click and we did not read them.
How much are Webnovel coins?
About two cents each. On the App Store, 50 coins are $0.99, 250 are $4.99, 500 are $9.99, 1,000 are $19.99 and 5,000 are $99.99. The coin cost of a chapter is not published.
Does Webnovel have adult content?
The Terms bar "indecent" and "pornographic" user content, and do not use the words "sexually explicit". The App Store rates it 16+ with an infrequent sexual-content advisory. We have not read the catalogue.
What age do you need to be to use Webnovel?
The Terms say at least 13. The App Store rates it 16+ and Google Play places it in its 13+ tier.
How do I cancel Webnovel?
Through Apple ID subscription settings on iPhone or the Google Play subscriptions page on Android, per the Terms. Fees are non-refundable unless the law requires otherwise.
Who owns Webnovel?
The App Store seller is Cloudary Holdings Limited, and the Terms refer to "Webnovel" as the owner and operator of the service.
Final verdict
Webnovel is a big fantasy-led web novel library paid for in coins at about two cents each, under Terms that predate most of the apps around it. If you read translated fantasy and comics and want a coin store that does not discount bulk, it fits. If you came for explicit romance, or want a published price per chapter, the pages we could read do not support it. We have not installed or read it, so this is a summary of the Terms as recorded, the stores and a help centre index.
Sources
Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 27, 2026).
- webnovel.com: Home page (browser): web reading, library, sign in
- webnovel.com: Terms of Service (last updated January 14, 2019): 13+, accounts, fees,…
- activity.webnovel.com: Help Center index: Coins, Fast Pass, Membership, Batch Unlock and…
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: seller Cloudary Holdings Limited, 16+, in-app purchase…
- play.google.com: Google Play listing: Cloudary, 13+ tier, 10M+ downloads, ads and in-app…
- inkstone.webnovel.com: Webnovel author portal Inkstone: redirects to a login page




