Quick answer
- The coin: about two cents in every App Store pack: 50 for $0.99, 250 for $4.99, 1,000 for $19.99, 5,000 for $99.99. No bulk discount (our arithmetic). A Dreame or GoodNovel coin is about a cent.
- Memberships: "Membership_Monthly" at $9.99, "Membership" at $4.99 with no period, and a "Weekly short story membership" at $19.99. Contents are not described on the listing.
- A chapter: the coin cost per chapter is not published on the pages we read.
- Refunds: fees are non-refundable unless required by law. The terms were last updated on January 14, 2019.
- Cancelling: in the Apple ID subscription settings on iPhone or the Google Play store on Android, not in the app.
What does Webnovel cost, and why a coin is not a coin?
Webnovel cost starts with a number that surprises people who have used other web novel apps: a coin here costs about twice as much. Our arithmetic from the seven App Store packs follows, and it is the same in all of them, so the pack you buy changes how much you hold, not the rate.
| Plan | Price | Billed | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| Membership_Monthly | $9.99 | month | Name as listed on the US App Store; contents not described on the listing |
| Membership | $4.99 | not stated | Name as listed on the US App Store; period and contents not stated |
| Weekly short story membership | $19.99 | week | Name as listed on the US App Store; contents not described on the listing |
| 50 Coins | $0.99 | once | 50 coins |
| 150 Coins | $2.99 | once | 150 coins |
| 250 Coins | $4.99 | once | 250 coins |
| 500 Coins | $9.99 | once | 500 coins |
| 1000 Coins | $19.99 | once | 1000 coins |
| 2500 Coins | $49.99 | once | 2500 coins |
| 5000 Coins | $99.99 | once | 5000 coins |
Checked October 27, 2026. Source: apps.apple.com. Prices change with region, promotions and the store you buy through.
The listing shows at most ten items; three are memberships, so the list may be partial. Google Play prints a price range per item, which we did not record.
Turning coins into dollars
50 coins for $0.99 is 50.5 coins a dollar. 150 for $2.99 is 50.2, 250 for $4.99 is 50.1, 500 for $9.99 is 50.05, 1,000 for $19.99 is 50.03, and 2,500 for $49.99 and 5,000 for $99.99 are both about 50.01. A coin is therefore about two cents whatever the pack.
| Coins you see in the app | About what it costs |
|---|---|
| 50 | $1.00 |
| 250 | $5.00 |
| 500 | $10.00 |
| 1,000 | $20.00 |
To price a book, multiply the coins per chapter by the chapters you expect to read and divide by 50. That gives dollars. The coins per chapter is shown in the app, which we do not install, and is not published on the pages we read, so there is no worked example here.
The same count costs half as much at Dreame or GoodNovel: 1,000 coins is $9.99 there and $19.99 here. Do not read that as a statement about chapter prices, which each service sets for itself. It does mean a coin count seen in one app tells you nothing about the cost in another.
Memberships, week against month
Three membership items sit on the list. "Membership_Monthly" is $9.99. "Membership" is $4.99 with no period stated. "Weekly short story membership" is $19.99 a week. Our sums, assuming the weekly plan renews every week:
- Four weeks at $19.99 is $79.96, and 52 weeks is $1,039.48.
- Twelve months of the monthly item is $119.88.
The monthly membership costs the same $9.99 as the 500-coin pack, which is the nearest comparison the list offers. What any of the three unlocks is not described on the listing, so we cannot say whether a membership is cheaper than coins for a given reader.
Things the help centre names but we could not read
The help centre index lists Coin Bonuses, Fast Pass, Privilege, Membership, Points, Batch Unlock, Golden Tickets and a Coin Plan. The answers load only on click and were not read, so we describe none of them. They matter because each could change what a chapter costs, which means a quoted coin rate may not be what you pay. The index also mentions free Coins. Neither that nor the free chapters is confirmed in detail.
Free, cancelling and refunds
Free. Not confirmed in detail. Our first-pass notes record many chapters as free with some locked behind coins, but the free tier is not documented on the pages we read. No timed trial is recorded; a trial would be a different thing from free chapters, because it ends in a charge.
Cancelling. Section 4.3 of the Terms of Service says a subscription automatically renews for successive periods unless you cancel your subscription or account. You may cancel at any time and it expires at the end of the period. On an Apple phone you go to Settings, iTunes & App Store, Apple ID, Subscription; on Android, Google Play. You cannot cancel inside the app. Our guide to cancelling a story app subscription covers the steps.
Refunds. The terms say all fees are in U.S. dollars and are non-refundable unless required by applicable laws. The text was last updated on January 14, 2019, so recheck it before relying on it. Apple's guideline 3.1.1 says credits bought by in-app purchase may not expire; the pages we read state no expiry rule for Webnovel coins.
Web price, store price and a lookalike
Webnovel also reads in a browser, but its coin prices there were not recorded, so we cannot compare them with the store. Stores take a cut of in-app sales, which is the usual reason for a gap, though Webnovel does not say that is why. One naming trap: an App Store app titled "Webnovel - Romance Love Novels" from a different seller is not this service, and its own listing calls it LuvNovel. The real one is sold by Cloudary Holdings Limited.
Is it worth paying? A short guide
General advice. Two cents a coin means a long book gets expensive faster here than at the cent-a-coin apps, if chapter prices are alike. They may not be, so open a book, read the coins on the next chapter and divide by 50 before buying. The cheapest way to learn is the 50-coin pack at $0.99.
The app's review is our Webnovel review. For the same sum at a cent a coin see what Dreame costs and GoodNovel's coin packs, compared in GoodNovel against Webnovel. The model is covered in credit-based reading, and every cost page is under erotica app pricing.
FAQ
How much do Webnovel coins cost?
About two cents each in every App Store pack, from 50 coins for $0.99 to 5,000 for $99.99. That is our arithmetic.
How much is Webnovel membership?
The App Store lists "Membership_Monthly" at $9.99, a "Membership" at $4.99 with no period and a "Weekly short story membership" at $19.99. The listing does not say what any of them includes.
Is Webnovel free?
Not confirmed in detail. Free coins and free chapters exist in some form, but how many is not published on the pages we read.
How do I cancel Webnovel membership?
Through your Apple ID subscription settings on iPhone or the Google Play store on Android. It is not done in the app.
Does Webnovel give refunds?
The terms say fees are non-refundable unless required by law. The terms were last updated on January 14, 2019.
Sources
Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 27, 2026).
- webnovel.com: Home page (browser): web reading, library, sign in
- webnovel.com: Terms of Service (last updated January 14, 2019): 13+, accounts, fees,…
- activity.webnovel.com: Help Center index: Coins, Fast Pass, Membership, Batch Unlock and…
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: seller Cloudary Holdings Limited, 16+, in-app purchase…
- play.google.com: Google Play listing: Cloudary, 13+ tier, 10M+ downloads, ads and in-app…
- inkstone.webnovel.com: Webnovel author portal Inkstone: redirects to a login page




