Erotica Apps

Epictos Review

Text reader

Epictos is an iPhone-only dark romance reader sold at $2.99 a week, $5.99 a month or $39.99 a year, with offline reading and no ads by its own account. This Epictos review prints a gap in its age rules: the App Store rates it 18+, while the developer's privacy policy sets a floor of 13.

Epictos App Store screenshot 1
Epictos App Store screenshot 2
Epictos App Store screenshot 3
Epictos App Store screenshot 4

Official App Store screenshots, published by Epictos.

Updated

Quick answer

  • Price: $2.99 a week, $5.99 a month or $39.99 a year on the US App Store. No coins.
  • Age: the App Store listing rates it 18+. The privacy policy says Epictos is not designed for or directed to anyone under 13, which sets a floor of 13.
  • Where: iPhone only (also iPad and Mac with Apple silicon). We found no Google Play listing and no web app.
  • Features: offline reading, and "Completely Ad-Free" by the listing's own words. A claimed library of 500+ novels.
  • Who: a solo developer. The App Store seller is an individual, and no company is named.

What Is Epictos?

Epictos is listed on the App Store as "Epictos: Dark Romance Novels", in the Books category. It sells a library of dark romance, mafia romance and related tropes as a reader app, and it first appeared on January 27, 2025. Version 1.3.1 was last updated on February 20, 2026, about eight months before our check, and the listing has 8 ratings, a very small sample.

The App Store seller is an individual developer. This site does not print a private person's name from a store record, so we do not give it. The developer's policies portal reads "(c) Epictos" in its footer and names no company; it holds a privacy policy, an account deletion page and a data deletion page, marked "All pages last updated: 05 February 2026".

Epictos review: who it suits

Going by the listing, Epictos suits an iPhone reader who wants an ad-free dark romance library with offline reading, at prices that are published and plain, and who does not need a company, a refund policy or a content policy on the page. It is a weaker fit on Android, where we found no listing, and for anyone who wants the developer's age rules to match the store's.

What the library holds

The listing claims "a massive library of 500+ novels", with "New chapters and novels added every single day" and both short reads and long ones, up to "1000+ page epics". All three are the vendor's wording, not counts we made. The tropes it names are alpha male and dark romance, billionaire romance, mafia and crime romance, werewolf and paranormal, enemies to lovers, and forbidden and taboo. Our pages on dark romance apps, billionaire romance apps and erotic paranormal stories show where it sits among the others.

Audio, interactive stories and AI-written stories are not mentioned on the pages we read, so we make no claim about them. The listing says offline reading works: "Download your favorites and read anywhere". Our offline reading page lists the other services that say so.

Is Epictos free?

The app is free to download. The listing says "Completely Ad-Free" and "No interruptions. No annoying banners", and the listing carries no advertising flag, but it does not describe a free tier, a free chapter or a trial. What a subscription unlocks beyond an ad-free library is not stated. We therefore record no free tier. Whether a new user can read anything before paying is something only the app would show.

How much Epictos costs

PlanPriceBilledWhat you get
Weekly Subscription (App Store, US)$2.99weekSubscription; what it unlocks beyond an ad-free library is not stated
Monthly Subscription (App Store, US)$5.99monthSubscription; what it unlocks beyond an ad-free library is not stated
Yearly Subscription (App Store, US)$39.99yearSubscription; what it unlocks beyond an ad-free library is not stated

Checked October 27, 2026. Source: apps.apple.com. Prices change with region, promotions and the store you buy through.

The App Store prints three purchase items, all subscriptions. Twelve monthly payments of $5.99 come to $71.88, so the $39.99 yearly plan is about 56 percent of that, a saving of $31.89, or $3.33 a month. The weekly plan is the expensive habit: $2.99 a week, left to renew, is $155.48 over 52 weeks, or about $12.96 a month, more than twice the monthly price. The list is capped at ten items and shows three, so it is probably complete, but the listing does not say so. Our guide to cancelling a story app subscription covers the general steps, because the app's own route is not recorded.

Rated 18+ on the store, floor of 13 in the policy

The two age statements sit on different pages and say different things. The App Store listing shows an age rating of 18+. Its advisories are frequent horror or fear themes and infrequent fantasy violence, realistic violence, mature or suggestive themes and references to alcohol, tobacco and drugs; they do not list sexual content or nudity. The privacy policy, in its children's privacy section, says Epictos is not designed for or directed to children under the age of 13, and we do not knowingly collect personal information from children under 13.

That policy sentence is the only age sentence the developer publishes. It is about data collection from people under 13, so it sets a floor of 13 and says nothing about people aged 13 to 17, while the store rating says 18+. The Terms of Use named in the listing are Apple's standard licence agreement, which has no age clause. We print both statements and do not reconcile them. One caveat: the privacy link in the App Store's Information section fails certificate verification (a self-signed certificate) and we did not read it, so the policy we quote is the one the description links. The two texts may not match.

iPhone only, and the Android question

WhereAvailableNotes
iPhone and iPadYesLast updated 2026-02-20 (version 1.3.1). Seller is an individual (name not recorded); App Store rating 18+ when read; free; category Books; runs on iPhone, iPad and Mac with Apple silicon.

The listing says it runs on iPhone, iPad and Mac with Apple silicon. No Google Play listing turned up in a search on October 27, 2026, by name, which is not proof that none exists. There is no web version.

Privacy, billing and content rules

The App Store privacy card declares data linked to you (purchases, location, contact info, identifiers, usage data and diagnostics) and no tracking. The policy says account details may include sign-in data from Apple or Google and that the developer does not sell personal data. The portal's account and data deletion pages are the clearest documented route out; our page on deleting reading history explains how that differs from clearing history alone.

Several things are not published at all. The listing says "spicy tension" and "Dark Romance", but no page we read says whether explicit content is allowed, and there are no content rules. We looked for a statement that all characters are adults on the privacy policy, the portal and the App Store text and did not find one. That describes the pages we read, not the stories. We also found no refund policy, cancellation steps, account requirement or card descriptor.

Pros

  • Ad-free, by the vendor's own listing
  • Offline reading
  • Weekly, monthly and yearly prices published: $2.99, $5.99 and $39.99
  • The policies portal has account deletion and data deletion pages

Cons

  • iPhone only: no Google Play listing found
  • A small solo-developer app with 8 App Store ratings
  • The privacy policy sets a minimum age of 13, though the app is rated 18+ on the App Store
  • The App Store's own privacy link fails certificate verification
  • No terms of its own; the listing names Apple's standard agreement
  • No statement on explicit content or on the ages of characters

Best Epictos alternatives

The nearest in format is Crave, another iPhone-only text reader, which has ten subscription prices, no stated library and a Terms sentence saying all characters are 18 or older. Roma: Romance Novels is a serial reader for iPhone and Android with free preview chapters, coin packs and time-limited reading passes. Velvet Novel is a new iPhone reader for vampire and gothic romance that describes itself as dark fantasy. Spicify covers dark romance across iPhone, Android and the web with audio and Webtoons. The apps section lists the rest.

FAQ

Is Epictos free?

It is free to download and the listing calls it "Completely Ad-Free", but it describes no free tier and no trial. We cannot say what you can read without paying.

How much is Epictos?

$2.99 a week, $5.99 a month or $39.99 a year on the US App Store. The yearly plan works out at $3.33 a month.

What age is Epictos for?

The App Store rates it 18+. The developer's privacy policy says it is not designed for or directed to anyone under 13. The two are not reconciled on the pages we read.

Is Epictos on Android?

We found no Google Play listing on October 27, 2026. It is iPhone, iPad and Mac with Apple silicon only, per the listing.

Can you read Epictos offline?

The listing says yes: "Download your favorites and read anywhere". We did not test it.

Who makes Epictos?

An individual developer, per the App Store seller line. We do not print a private person's name from a store record, and no company is named on the developer's pages.

Final verdict

Epictos is a plain, ad-free dark romance reader for iPhone with three published prices and offline reading, run by one developer with thin policies. If those prices and the ad-free claim are what you want, the yearly plan is the cheapest published plan per month. If you want the developer's age rules to match the store's 18+ rating, or you need Android, a refund policy or a content statement, it falls short. We have not installed it, so this is a read of the listing and the policies.

Sources

Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 27, 2026).