Quick answer
- The two plans: Standard is $8.99 a month and lets you select 1 audiobook a month. Premium Plus is $14.95 a month for 1 credit a month, and its credits roll over.
- The trial: 30 days free for new members on each plan. The home page's own wording is that it then auto renews for $8.99 a month.
- Our arithmetic: a year of Standard is $107.88 for twelve titles, so $8.99 a title. A year of Premium Plus is $179.40 for twelve credits, so $14.95 each.
- The catalogue: 55,012 titles in the Erotica category on 27 October 2026. At one title a month, working through it would take 55,012 months.
- Not recorded: a regular annual price, the price of individual titles, how to cancel and any refund rule. There is no free tier, only the trial.
What does Audible cost?
Audible is not an audio erotica service. It is a general audiobook retailer with a top-level Erotica category, and the price you pay has nothing to do with that category: it is the same subscription everyone else buys. The home page states both plans plainly: Audible Standard is $8.99 per month. Audible Premium Plus is $14.95 per month.
Standard lets you select one audiobook a month. Premium Plus gives one credit a month, and credits roll over. Extra titles beyond that are sold at full price.
| Plan | Price | Billed | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard (web) | $8.99 | month | Select 1 audiobook a month; 30-day free trial for new members |
| Premium Plus (web) | $14.95 | month | 1 credit a month; credits roll over; 30-day free trial for new members |
| Premium, annual (limited-time offer on the home page) | $99.00 | year | Home page: 'LIMITED TIME OFFER | $99 for a year of Premium. That's like $8.25/mo. Terms apply.' No end date shown; not a regular price |
Checked October 27, 2026. Source: audible.com. Prices change with region, promotions and the store you buy through.
The third row needs a warning. The home page also carried LIMITED TIME OFFER | $99 for a year of Premium. That's like $8.25/mo. Terms apply.
with no end date shown. We record it as an offer rather than as the annual price, because no regular annual price was confirmed anywhere we read. The page's own division checks out, since $99 over twelve months is exactly $8.25, and against twelve months of Premium Plus at $179.40 it would save $80.40. Treat it as a figure to verify on the day, not a plan you can count on.
The arithmetic, out loud
- A year of Standard: 12 × $8.99 is $107.88, and it brings twelve audiobooks. That is $8.99 a title.
- A year of Premium Plus: 12 × $14.95 is $179.40 for twelve credits, $14.95 each, which is $71.52 more a year than Standard for the same count of titles.
- What the extra $5.96 a month buys: credits that roll over instead of lapsing. If you listen in bursts rather than monthly, that is the difference between keeping a credit and losing a month.
- Against the category: 55,012 titles at one a month is 55,012 months, or roughly 4,584 years. No subscription here is a way to read a catalogue; it is a way to buy one book a month at a fixed price.
The one sum we cannot do is the one a bargain hunter wants: whether a credit beats buying a title outright. Individual title prices in the Erotica category were not recorded, so we have no figure to set against $8.99 or $14.95, and we will not estimate one. If a title you want costs less than a credit, buy it outright. That is as far as the published data goes.
How big the erotica catalogue really is
The category page counted 55,012 titles on 27 October 2026, with filters showing Literature & Fiction at 51,603 and Sex Instruction at 2,870. Those two add up to 54,473, which does not match the 55,012 printed elsewhere on the same store, and nothing on the pages we read explains the gap. We publish both numbers rather than pick one. Either way it dwarfs every specialist: for scale, Dipsea claims 1000+ audio stories and femtasy claims 700+ on its pricing page.
Size is not curation. The category mixes fiction with instruction titles, nobody filters it the way a specialist does, and with that many titles the catalogue was not audited by us in any sense. We also looked through the Conditions of Use, last updated 10 September 2025, for a sentence on explicit content or a minimum age and found none, which describes the pages we read rather than the company's position. For a specialist comparison, see Audible against Dipsea.
The trial, renewal, cancelling and refunds
The trial. The home page says each plan offers a 30-day free trial to new members, and its sign-up wording is Try for $0.00 ... Auto renews for $8.99 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Whether a card is needed to start is not stated on the pages we read. Thirty days matches the longest trial in our audio records: femtasy gives 30 days on its annual plan, Dipsea gives seven on its annual plan only, and Quinn states none at all.
Free tier. There is none. No standing free plan appears on the home or plans pages, so the trial is the only route to listening without paying.
Cancelling and refunds. We did not record cancellation steps or a refund rule, so we state neither. If you subscribed through the App Store or Google Play, a store subscription is cancelled in the store's settings rather than in the app, which our guide to cancelling a story app subscription walks through. Downloads work offline, and apps exist for iPhone, Android and the web.
Is it worth paying? By how you listen
- One book a month, every month: Standard at $8.99 is the cheaper of the two and the difference is the roll-over, which you would not use.
- A few long binges a year: Premium Plus at $14.95, because credits that roll over survive the quiet months. Over a year it costs $71.52 more.
- Unlimited listening: wrong service. A flat-price specialist is cheaper per hour: Dipsea is $12.99 a month for everything it publishes, and what Dipsea costs does that sum. Our Audible alternatives page lays out the specialists.
- Ebooks as well as audio: Everand is $11.99 a month for a subscription library of both, and Audible against Everand sets the two models side by side.
General advice for this niche: a retailer sells you titles and a specialist rents you a library, and the second is almost always cheaper per hour of listening. The full record, including what the Conditions of Use do and do not say, is in our Audible review. The ranked field is on best audio erotica apps, and the section starts at erotica app pricing.
FAQ
How much is Audible a month?
Standard is $8.99 and Premium Plus is $14.95, as printed on the home page. Each gives one audiobook or one credit a month, and Premium Plus credits roll over.
Does Audible have a free trial?
Yes, 30 days for new members on either plan, and the home page says it then auto renews at $8.99 a month. Whether a card is required to start is not stated.
How much does an Audible credit cost?
By our arithmetic, $14.95 on Premium Plus, since the plan is one credit a month. On Standard the equivalent is $8.99 for one audiobook, though that is a selection rather than a credit.
How many erotica audiobooks does Audible have?
The Erotica category showed 55,012 titles on 27 October 2026. Its own sub-category filters, 51,603 and 2,870, add up to 54,473, and the gap is not explained on the pages we read.
Is Audible good value for erotica?
For buying one title a month at a fixed price, yes, and the catalogue is far larger than any specialist's. For listening to a lot, no: one title a month is the cap, and a flat-price audio erotica subscription gives unlimited listening for a similar figure.
Is there an annual Audible plan?
No regular annual price was confirmed. The home page carried a limited-time offer of $99 for a year of Premium, described as about $8.25 a month, with no end date shown. We record it as an offer, not a plan.
Sources
Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 28, 2026).
- audible.com: Home page: plans, trial, credits, offline, limited-time annual offer
- audible.com: Erotica category: 55,012 titles and sub-category counts
- audible.com: Conditions of Use, last updated September 10, 2025
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing
- play.google.com: Google Play listing: rated 13+, 100M+ downloads




