Quick answer
- The honest answer: all five meter. Chapters uses diamonds and tickets, Choices keys and diamonds, Love Sick and Scripts diamonds and keys, Winked diamonds, Tabou Stories tickets. None publishes what one premium choice costs in diamonds.
- Most explained: Choices, whose public help centre covers keys, diamonds and VIP, and whose key timer and free diamonds are documented.
- Cheapest published unlimited plan: Tabou Stories, at $2.99 a week or $7.99 a month for unlimited tickets, against $9.99 for Chapters VIP, whose contents the Chapters listing does not state.
- Diamond price: Chapters diamonds work out at about 7 to 10 cents each on the four packs its App Store listing counts. Scripts diamonds run from about 7 to 10 cents, and Love Sick's from about 7 to 13.
- Ratings: Chapters is rated 16+ on the App Store and Mature 17+ on Google Play, with terms that set 18.
Why look for a Chapters alternative
Chapters is one of the most installed choice story apps, with 10M+ downloads on its main Google Play listing, and our Chapters review has the record. The reasons to look elsewhere are about what it leaves unsaid:
- There is no public help centre. Support is an in-game form, so the rules for diamonds, tickets and Chapters VIP are not published. Neither the store text nor any public page says what a diamond buys, what a ticket unlocks or what a premium choice costs.
- The packs are counted but the price of a choice is not. The App Store lists 20 diamonds at $1.99, 60 at $4.99, 250 at $19.99 and 550 at $39.99, which is about 10, 8.3, 8.0 and 7.3 cents a diamond. Without the diamond cost of a choice, that cannot be turned into a price per chapter. Five tickets are $1.99.
- The subscription is undescribed. Chapters VIP is $9.99 and DayPass is $0.99 on the App Store list, with no period or contents stated.
- Google Play shows only a range. $0.49 to $299.99 per item on the main listing and $0.49 to $129.99 on the second of its two listings.
- It needs a connection and carries ads. Both stores say it is an online game that requires an internet connection, and both list advertising.
Pack by pack, the numbers are on our Chapters pricing page, and Crazy Maple Studio describes its products on its company site. For how credits work in general, see how story app credits work.
The best Chapters alternatives, by how much they explain
We picked five and ordered them by how much of the meter you can read before you spend. None is free of a currency. Our alternatives hub sets this page beside the ones for Choices and Romance Club, which start from the same metering but ask different questions.

Choices
Best for a meter explained in a public help centre
$14.99/mofree tier
- Type
- choice-based interactive story app
- Free tier
- Yes
- Audio stories
- Not confirmed
- Interactive stories
- Yes
- AI stories
- Not confirmed
- iPhone app
- Yes
- Android app
- Yes
Choices keeps keys and diamonds apart and says so. Keys unlock chapters, with "a soft cap of 2 Keys" and a timer that gives a new key when it reaches zero. Diamonds pay for premium choices and outfits, and are free for completing a chapter for the first time, watching special ads, finishing tasks in the Rewards tab or completing offers. The help centre says a premium choice you have already paid for shows as free when you meet it again. VIP is $14.99 a month on the App Store, with "VIP for a Day" at $2.99, and the help article lists unlimited keys, 30 daily diamond rewards and early access, though it was last updated 678 days before our check.
It explains the rules, not every number. The length of the key timer is not stated, only one diamond pack ("60 Diamonds Sale", $1.99) has a count in its name, and the diamond cost of a premium choice is not published. You can play without an account, but we found no web version and no creator programme. The App Store rating is 16+. Chapters against Choices compares the two.

Winked
Best for a documented way to earn free diamonds
Free to readpurchases from $1.99
- Type
- dating-chat story simulation app
- Free tier
- Yes
- Audio stories
- Not confirmed
- Interactive stories
- Yes
- AI stories
- Not confirmed
- iPhone app
- Yes
- Android app
- Yes
Winked is a dating-chat story sim, not a chaptered story, and its FAQ lists the free routes: a daily reward, levelling up the love meters of your matches, the Game of Love mini game once every 24 hours, and Shop > Earn Gems for ads and offers. It also names some costs: skipping the Game of Love wait costs 150 diamonds, and when you re-open a chat you can restart for free or resume where you left off for a diamond cost. Photos, audio and video from a match are sold separately.
The packs are listed without counts, from $1.99 to $99.99, so the diamond price cannot be worked out. The App Store rates it 18+ while its Supercharge terms set a minimum age of 13. The price of a premium choice is not published and no subscription appears in the App Store list.

Love Sick
Best for printed pack counts and a perk list
$19.99/mo
- Type
- choice-based interactive story app
- Free tier
- Not confirmed
- Audio stories
- Not confirmed
- Interactive stories
- Yes
- AI stories
- Not confirmed
- iPhone app
- Yes
- Android app
- Yes
Love Sick prints more of its numbers than Chapters does. The App Store lists diamond packs of 15 ($1.99), 20 ($1.99), 60 ($4.99), 250 ($19.99) and 550 ($39.99), and key packs of 5 ($1.99) and 30 ($9.99), so a diamond costs between about 7 and 13 cents and a key between 33 and 40. Its store copy lists what the $19.99 monthly Premium Features include: a daily bonus of 15 diamonds, 20% off premium options, double rewards for ads and chapters, and more free keys with faster recovery. All the leads are female, according to its store copy.
It is the dearest subscription here. The premium-choice cost and the length of the free key timer are not published, and we found no web version. The App Store rates it 18+ and the terms say users should be over 16, or have parental consent if under 16.

Scripts
Best for a published Romance Pass, with an adult terms floor
$14.99/mo
- Type
- choice-based interactive story app with writer tools
- Free tier
- Not confirmed
- Audio stories
- Not confirmed
- Interactive stories
- Yes
- AI stories
- Not confirmed
- iPhone app
- Yes
- Android app
- Yes
Scripts publishes the contents of its subscription. The Romance Pass is $14.99 a month and, in the App Store copy, gives an 80-diamond bonus per renewal, 10 daily diamonds, double diamonds for watching an ad after a chapter, a Premium Choice Discount, a weekly 24-hour Key Pass and a daily Key Coupon. Diamond packs run from 10 for $0.99 to 600 for $39.99, which is about 10 down to about 7 cents each, and 5 keys cost $1.99.
Its Terms of Service set the minimum at 18 or the age of majority where higher, and the App Store lists 18+ with developer-managed controls. It is online only, and the price of a premium choice and what is free in the app are not published. It also has in-app tools for writing your own chapters. Payout terms are not published.

Tabou Stories
Best for a published unlimited-tickets subscription
$7.99/mo
- Type
- choice-based interactive story app
- Free tier
- Not confirmed
- Audio stories
- Not confirmed
- Interactive stories
- Yes
- AI stories
- Not confirmed
- iPhone app
- Yes
- Android app
- Yes
Tabou Stories is the closest analogue to Chapters' tickets. Its store text says the unlimited tickets subscription lets you "play as many chapters as you like" during the subscription period, at $2.99 weekly or $7.99 monthly. That is the lowest published recurring price here, and the store text says exactly what the plan removes: the limit on chapters.
The limits are the usual ones: packages and key packages in the in-app list have no counts, the price of a premium choice is not published, and we do not know what is free. Google Play rates the app in its 13+ tier while the App Store rates it 18+, and the terms say 13. What Tabou Stories costs has the detail.
Chapters and its alternatives side by side
Chapters heads the table. Plenty of cells read Not confirmed, because these apps keep many of their numbers inside the app and out of the store listing.
| App | Monthly | Free tier | Ads | Minimum age in its own terms | Store age rating | Web version |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Yes | 18 | App Store 16+; Google Play: Mature 17+ | Not confirmed | |
| $14.99 | Yes | Yes | 18, or the legal age to form a binding agreement if that is older | App Store 16+; Google Play: Mature 17+ | Not confirmed | |
| Not confirmed | Yes | Yes | 13 | App Store 18+; Google Play: Mature 17+ | Not confirmed | |
| $19.99 | Not confirmed | Yes | 16, or under 16 with parental consent | App Store 18+; Google Play: Mature 17+ | Not confirmed | |
| $14.99 | Not confirmed | Yes | 18, or the legal minimum age in the country of residence if that is higher | App Store 18+; Google Play: Mature 17+ | Not confirmed | |
| $7.99 | Not confirmed | Yes | 13 | 18+ on the App Store, 13+ on Google Play | Not confirmed |
The table makes the pattern plain. Every row carries advertising, none states a web version, and the minimum age in the terms ranges from 13 to 18, so the store rating tells you little about who the service is for. Only four rows state a monthly price at all.
How to choose
- You want the rules written down: Choices, then Scripts for a subscription whose perks are listed.
- You want to cap what you spend: a flat subscription is the nearest thing to a cap, and Tabou Stories' $7.99 monthly is the lowest published. Work out whether you finish enough chapters to justify it, because none of these publishes a cost per chapter. For a non-metered route, Romance Club alternatives looks at flat and free options.
- You want free diamonds to be reliable: Winked and Choices document how.
- You want an adults-only floor in the terms: Scripts, Choices and Chapters set 18 in their terms. Love Sick sets 16, Tabou 13 and Winked 13.
For a wider view, the best interactive erotica apps orders the whole field, and apps with branching choices lists every service whose record says it has them.
FAQ
Is there a Chapters alternative with no diamonds?
Not among the choice story apps with a currency. Choices, Love Sick and Scripts use diamonds, Winked uses diamonds and Tabou Stories uses tickets. Lore says it has no gems and no paid choices, and Literotica's story games have no currency at all; both are covered on the Romance Club page.
Which app is most like Chapters?
Choices has the same audience and a 16+ App Store rating, with keys and diamonds. It differs by explaining its currencies in a public help centre and by having no creator programme that we found, where Chapters has a Writing Room.
How much do diamonds cost in Chapters?
The App Store lists 20 diamonds at $1.99, 60 at $4.99, 250 at $19.99 and 550 at $39.99, so about 7 to 10 cents each. What a diamond buys is not published.
Is Chapters VIP worth it?
We cannot say. The App Store lists Chapters VIP at $9.99 and DayPass at $0.99 with no period or contents. Choices VIP at $14.99 a month and Scripts' Romance Pass at $14.99 list their perks.
Are there Chapters-style apps that are adults only?
Scripts sets 18 in its terms, and the App Store rates Winked, Love Sick, Scripts and Tabou Stories 18+. Chapters' terms also set 18, with a 16+ App Store rating.
Sources
Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 28, 2026).
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: seller, 16+ rating, in-app purchase list, update date,…
- pixelberrystudios.helpshift.com
- superchargemobile.app: Winked FAQ: free diamonds, diamond costs, purchasable media
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: 18+, subscription copy, in-app purchases
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: 18+ with content restrictions, Romance Pass copy, in-app…
- play.google.com: Google Play main listing: Mature 17+, downloads, update date
- play.google.com: Google Play second listing 'Chapters: Stories You Play': Mature 17+
- crazymaplestudios.com: Terms of service: minimum age wording
- crazymaplestudios.com: Company home page: products, HTTP 200
- crazymaplestudios.com: Contact page: game support is an in-game form
- ugc.crazymaplestudios.com: Chapters Writing Room
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: 16+, in-app purchases, store copy
- play.google.com: Google Play listing: Mature 17+, 50M+ downloads
- pixelberrystudios.com: Terms of service: minimum age wording
- pixelberrystudios.helpshift.com: Help centre: keys and the soft cap
- pixelberrystudios.helpshift.com: Help centre: VIP perks
- pixelberrystudios.helpshift.com: Help centre: sign-in is for sharing the save between devices
- pixelberrystudios.com: Developer home page, HTTP 200
- pixelberrystudios.com: Developer games page
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: 18+, in-app purchases, store copy
- play.google.com: Google Play listing: Mature 17+, 5M+ downloads
- superchargemobile.app: Supercharge terms of use: minimum age wording
- play.google.com: Google Play listing: Mature 17+, 10M+ downloads
- swagmasha.org: Studio terms: minimum age wording
- swagmasha.org: Studio EULA
- swagmasha.org: Studio landing page, HTTP 200
- play.google.com: Google Play listing: Mature 17+, story introductions, creator copy
- policies.gameshub-online.com: Subscription terms linked from the listing; they link the…
- policies.gameshub-online.com: Terms of Service (linked from the subscription terms):…
- gameshub-online.com: Developer home page, one-line page, HTTP 200




