Quick answer
- A second meter: Choices charges keys for chapters and diamonds for premium choices and outfits; Chapters names diamonds and tickets. Static serial apps charge one coin price per chapter, libraries a flat fee, and some sites nothing.
- The price of a choice is unpublished. None of the thirteen services on our interactive hub says what a premium choice costs. A static library prints its price: Kindle+ and Everand are $11.99 a month.
- Plans: interactive monthly plans run from $7.99 (Tabou Stories) to $19.99 (Love Sick). Static libraries and reading plans run from $4.99 to $12.99.
- Offline and endings: of 33 services recorded as interactive, three say they need a connection and none documents offline play; all 13 services that document offline reading are static. None publishes a number of endings.
- Choose interactive if you want to steer a story and will check the choice price first. Choose static if you want the story itself, offline, at a price you can read in advance.
Interactive stories and static fiction are the same stories told two ways: one path from start to finish, or a path that stops at a decision. The cost difference is not in the writing but in the meter. This page compares the formats, not the products, and uses the pricing and feature records behind our interactive erotica hub, read on October 27, 2026. We did not install any app, so everything below is what the services publish, and the one number that would settle most questions, what a choice costs, is not among it.
Interactive stories vs static fiction: what each means here
An interactive story asks you to choose what happens next. Our interactive stories page lists every service whose own record says it has the feature: 33 of them, 25 apps and 8 platforms, including AI tools and reader-written branching sites. Static fiction is everything with one path: a novel in a library, a serial read by the chapter, an audio story, a story on a free archive. It may be paid per chapter, by subscription or not at all.
The dividing line is the decision, and so is the bill. A static story needs one price: a chapter, a month or nothing. An interactive one tends to need two, because the app wants to meter the chapters and the choices.
A second meter on the bill
| Format | Example | What is charged | What is published |
|---|---|---|---|
| Interactive, two currencies | Choices | Keys unlock chapters; diamonds pay for premium choices and outfits; VIP on top | The rules, in a public help centre. Not the price of a choice |
| Interactive, two currencies | Chapters | Diamonds and tickets | Four diamond counts and one ticket count. Not what either buys |
| Interactive, creator-priced | Dorian | Hearts (bought) and sapphires (free) | Nine heart packs; each creator sets the price of their own choices |
| Interactive, flat pass | Lore | Weekly, monthly, yearly and season passes; its pricing page says No Gems, No Paid Choices | Prices, but every plan card carries the words Coming Soon |
| Static serial | Dreame, GoodNovel, Webnovel | Coins per chapter after free ones | Pack rates: about a cent or two a coin. Not coins per chapter |
| Static library | Kindle+, Everand, Dipsea | A flat monthly fee | The fee |
| Static, free | Literotica, Archive of Our Own | Nothing | That it is free |
| Interactive, free | Chyoa, Literotica story games, Outfox Stories | Nothing, or an optional Premium at Outfox | That it is free |
The interactive rows are the only ones with a currency for the decisions themselves. Choices makes the split plain: Keys are used to unlock chapters
, and Some story choices and outfits require Diamonds
. So a reader pays once to get into a chapter and again to take some of the routes inside it. Our guide to how interactive story apps work walks through the pattern, and the Chapters against Choices page shows two apps built on it.
Unit prices that look different and are not comparable
Where the packs print counts, a unit in a choice app costs more than a coin in a web novel app. Chapters and Love Sick diamonds run from 9.95 down to 7.27 cents, Whispers gems from 9.95 to 8.0, Scripts diamonds from 9.9 to 6.7 and Dorian hearts from 14.2 to 11.6, our arithmetic from the App Store packs. Dreame and GoodNovel coins are about a cent and Webnovel's about two.
Do not read that as "interactive costs ten times more". A coin pays for a chapter. A diamond pays for a premium choice or an outfit, and some apps spend a second currency on the chapter. The units are not interchangeable, and what a chapter or a choice takes, in any of these currencies, is shown only inside the app. The honest statement is narrower: both formats hide the number that settles the bill, and the interactive apps add a second place for it to hide. Our erotica app pricing section does the unit arithmetic app by app.
Plans: what a month buys
| Format | Plan | Monthly price | What it is stated to cover |
|---|---|---|---|
| Interactive | Tabou Stories | $7.99 (or $2.99 weekly) | Unlimited tickets to play as many chapters as you like |
| Interactive | MeChat | $9.99 (or $4.99 weekly) | Not stated |
| Interactive | Lore | $12.99 on its pricing page | A story pass, with a 3-day trial; cards marked Coming Soon |
| Interactive | Choices VIP | $14.99 | Unlimited keys, 30 daily diamond rewards, 2 extra diamonds on new chapters, early access |
| Interactive | Scripts Romance Pass | $14.99 | Diamond bonuses, a Premium Choice Discount and key passes |
| Interactive | Love Sick Premium Features | $19.99 | Daily diamonds, 20% off premium options, faster key recovery |
| Static | Spicify, reading plan (web) | $4.99 | Unlimited reading, no ads, no coins |
| Static | Epictos | $5.99 | Subscription; contents beyond an ad-free library not stated |
| Static | Quinn (audio) | $7.99 | The audio library |
| Static | Kindle+, Everand | $11.99 | The library; Kindle+ lets you borrow up to 20 titles at a time |
| Static | Dipsea (audio and romance novels) | $12.99 | The whole library |
The ranges overlap, $7.99 to $19.99 for the interactive plans we can price against $4.99 to $12.99 for the static ones, but the contents do not. A static library plan is flat: you borrow or listen. Most interactive plans do not make the choices free. Scripts and Love Sick describe discounts and bonuses, and the Choices help article, last updated 678 days before our check, lists keys and diamond rewards without saying premium choices cost nothing. Tabou Stories and Lore are the two that describe a flat pass. For the sum behind this, see subscription against credit-based story apps.
Replay, endings and what the choices change
The only published replay rule is at Choices, whose help centre says a premium choice you have already bought will show up as "Free"
when you meet it again after a restart. Elsewhere, whether replaying costs again is not stated.
On endings, the thirteen services on our interactive hub publish no count. They publish sentences instead: Romance Club says Every story has multiple endings!
, Lore says Make choices that change the ending
, MeChat says your choices impact the ending
. Static fiction has nothing equivalent to count: there is one ending. That is the difference worth the extra charge, and the pages cannot tell you how much of it you are getting. Our branching choices page makes the caveat that many apps call a cosmetic choice a branch. The two reader-written sites, Chyoa and Outfox Stories, work differently: their branches are written by readers, so the ending count belongs to each story.
Offline, online and audio
The records are lopsided here. Thirteen services document offline reading or listening, among them Dipsea, Kindle+, Everand, Wattpad and Archive of Our Own, and none of them is on the list of 33 interactive services. Our offline reading page lists all thirteen. Three interactive apps say the opposite: Chapters and Scripts describe themselves as online games that need a connection, and MeChat's store copy says the same. For the rest of the interactive list, offline play is not confirmed.
Audio is less lopsided. Dipsea, Kindle+ and Everand state it, and so do a few interactive services (StoryLoom, Erota, DreamPress AI, NovelAI and Literotica), but none of the choice-based romance apps confirms voiced narration. Choices has background music and no confirmed narration.
Free interactive and free static
Free exists on both sides. Of the 33 interactive services, 13 have a usable free tier in our records: Choices, Dorian, Love Island: The Game, Pirr, StoryLoom and Winked among the apps, and AI Dungeon, Chyoa, DreamGen, DreamPress AI, Erota, Literotica and Outfox Stories among the platforms. The other 20 do not confirm one, which is not the same as paid-only, since several are free to download. A free tier is a fact about the whole service, not about the feature, so a free app can still put its best choices behind a currency. The free interactive routes without a currency are the websites: Chyoa is free to read with ads, Literotica says reading and story games are free, and most Outfox Stories titles move to the free tier after a few months. Our page on free interactive erotica sorts them, and free static fiction needs no sorting: Literotica and Archive of Our Own have no paid tier for reading.
A rule of thumb for what interactivity costs
Tip
Price the decision, not the chapter. Before you buy a pack in an interactive app, find out what a premium choice costs in the app's own currency, whether a replay charges again, and whether the plan removes the choice charge or only discounts it.
- Start with the free route. A free site such as Chyoa shows what branching feels like without a currency, and Choices documents its key timer and four free diamond sources.
- Read the choice price off the next paywalled choice, then convert it with the unit price on the pricing page. This is the figure no listing publishes.
- Check the plan against the choice. If it only gives keys, daily diamonds or a discount, it is not a flat fee for interactivity.
- Expect to be online. If you read on a plane or a bad signal, the static services are the ones that state offline use.
Which format suits which reader?
| Best for | Pick | Why, from the records |
|---|---|---|
| Steering the story | Interactive | Only these ask for decisions; Choices documents its rules |
| A bill you can predict | Static | Flat library fees and free archives are priced in full; no interactive app prints a choice price |
| Reading offline | Static | All 13 services that document offline use are static; three interactive apps are online-only |
| Listening | Static, or an AI or web service | Audio is stated by Dipsea, Kindle+, Everand and a few interactive services; none of the choice romance apps confirms it |
| A free interactive try | A website | Chyoa, Literotica story games and Outfox Stories use no currency |
| A count of endings | Neither | No interactive service publishes one |
Other model comparisons are on the erotica app comparisons hub.
FAQ
Are interactive story apps more expensive than reading?
They add a second charge, for choices, to the one that static fiction has, and their monthly plans run from $7.99 to $19.99 against $4.99 to $12.99 for the static plans we can price. No interactive app publishes the price of a choice, so the total cannot be compared.
Can you play interactive stories offline?
No interactive service in our records documents offline play, and Chapters, MeChat and Scripts say they need an internet connection. The 13 services that document offline reading are all static.
Do interactive stories have different endings?
The apps say so, in sentences such as "Every story has multiple endings!", but none of the thirteen on our hub publishes a number of endings, so how different they are cannot be checked.
Are there free interactive erotica stories?
Yes. Chyoa is free to read, Literotica says reading and story games are free, and most Outfox Stories titles move to the free tier after a few months. Thirteen of the 33 interactive services have a free tier in our records.
Is interactive fiction worth paying for?
That depends on the choice price, which is unpublished. Try a free interactive site first, then read the price of one premium choice in an app before buying a pack.
Do replays cost again?
At Choices, a premium choice you have bought shows as free on a replay after a restart. Other apps do not state a rule.
Sources
Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 28, 2026).
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: 16+, in-app purchases, store copy
- pixelberrystudios.helpshift.com: Help centre: VIP perks
- pixelberrystudios.helpshift.com
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: seller, 16+ rating, in-app purchase list, update date,…
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: 18+, in-app purchases, store copy
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: 18+ with content restrictions, Romance Pass copy, in-app…
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: 18+, subscription copy, in-app purchases
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: 18+, subscription text, in-app purchases
- apps.apple.com: App Store listing: 18+, in-app purchases, store copy
- getlore.com: Own pricing page: plans, 3-day trial, 'No Gems, No Paid Choices'
- chyoa.com: The Rules: minimum age 18 for characters, definitions, other rules
- outfoxstories.com: Home page: branching, AI adventures, 'no ads, no account required'
- literotica.com: Interactive Stories FAQ: Story Games, choose-your-path, same…
- aboutamazon.com: Amazon article 'Kindle Unlimited is now Kindle+', updated October 22,…
- everand.com: Home page (browser session): 'From $11.99/month after trial', 'Read free for…
- dipseastories.com: Sign-up page: $69.99/year with 7-day trial, 18+ checkbox