Erotica Apps

Free Adult Story Apps

Almost every adult story app is free to download, and almost none of the store listings say what the free version holds. Of the 42 apps in our research records, only 11 do. This page sorts the apps for iPhone and Android by what they give you before they ask for money, and says plainly where the free part is unconfirmed.

Updated

Quick answer

  • The short answer: almost every adult story app is free to download, but only 11 of the 42 apps in our records say what the free version holds. Three say there is no free plan, and for 28 the record leaves it unconfirmed.
  • Free tiers you can read about: Choices, Winked, Dorian, Pirr, OhCleo, StoryLoom and huush each describe their free part. They meter it differently, with timers, daily actions or a count of stories.
  • Free with ads: BLANCHEstories, with about 100 stories, and Satinaire, which is Android only. Spicify's own pages disagree on what is free.
  • Free chapters, then coins: Roma, Dreame, GoodNovel, Webnovel and Lore. Among them only Lore gives a number of free chapters, and its two stores disagree.
  • Not on the phone: the services that cost nothing to read, Literotica, Archive of Our Own and Chyoa, are websites with no store app.

Free to download is the one free every listing agrees on

A store listing can say Free, and then list what you can buy. On the App Store the list of in-app purchases is capped at ten items, and our records note that the selection can vary between loads. Google Play prints a price range per item and no list. Neither store has a field for what the free version holds, which is why the record for 28 of the 42 apps leaves it unconfirmed.

We read store listings, developer sites, help centres and terms on October 27, 2026. We installed nothing, so what happens on the first screen of any of these apps is outside this page.

Two store rules matter to a reader. Apple's App Store Review Guidelines say Any credits or in-game currencies purchased via in-app purchase may not expire, and require a subscription to last at least seven days and to be clearly described before you are asked to subscribe. Google Play bars apps that contain or promote sexual content, but lets a book catalogue app carry titles with sexual content if they are a small part of the catalogue, are not promoted and are restricted for people under 18. That exception is the one reading platforms rely on. Our guide to why erotica apps disappear from the app store goes through both sets of rules.

The free libraries have no store app

The services that cost nothing to read are websites. Literotica's About page says it released one of the first adult Android apps and that Google later changed its policy to prohibit all adult apps. No Literotica app appeared in an iTunes search or a Google Play search for the name on October 27, 2026, and the only Android download it offers is an old APK on its own site, which we did not download. Its audio plays in an ordinary mobile browser. Archive of Our Own's FAQ says resources just aren't available for us to create and maintain mobile apps at this time, and a mobile layout is applied automatically.

Chyoa and Outfox Stories are browser products as well. We found no store listing for either by name search, which is not a source we can cite, so we call their app status unconfirmed and not absent. FanFiction.Net is the exception: it has an official app and is free to read, but its guidelines say it does not accept explicit content, so it is a fan-fiction reader and not an adult story app. The page on free porn story apps sets out which free services refuse explicit text.

Free tiers: the apps that say what is free

Seven apps describe their free part in enough detail to put in a table. The last column gives the store ratings as numbers, App Store first and Google Play second, as printed on the listings.

AppRuns onThe free part, from the recordStore ratings
ChoicesiPhone, AndroidFree to play. Keys unlock chapters, with a soft cap of 2 keys and a timer that gives you a new one. Diamonds are earned by finishing a chapter for the first time, watching ads, doing tasks in the Rewards tab and completing offers. No account is needed.16+, 17+
WinkediPhone, AndroidFree diamonds from a daily reward, levelling up your matches' love meters, a mini game once every 24 hours (skipping the wait costs 150 diamonds), and ads and offers.18+, 17+
DorianiPhone, AndroidFree to download and play. Sapphires are free, earned by logging in daily, winning events or in giveaways. Hearts can only be bought.18+, 17+
PirriPhone, Android, web betaUnlimited access to thousands of stories (vendor wording), 20 daily Standard AI actions, one character per story and three saved characters.18+, 17+
OhCleoiPhone, AndroidA free account: three stories heard in full, and some tracks marked FREE. Audio only.18+, 17+
StoryLoomiPhone, Android, webTwo bobbins a month, up to six in total per account. A bobbin is one short story of five chapters with narrated audio, and free stories are kept for 30 days.18+, 17+
huushiPhoneA selection of stories is free to explore. How many is not stated.18+, no Android listing found

Read the table for the shape of each meter and not as a ranking. Choices and Winked meter time: a key timer in one, a daily mini game in the other. Dorian meters currency, with sapphires and hearts both able to unlock choices and each creator setting the price of a choice. Pirr meters AI actions, StoryLoom and OhCleo count stories, and huush says only that a selection is free. The page on free interactive erotica goes into the choice meters, and free AI erotica stories into the AI ones.

Free with ads

BLANCHEstories is the clearest case. Its home page says We also offer a free version of the app, with ads. The App Store text, in Swedish, describes limited listening with ads and about 100 stories, where Premium holds 600 or more and is ad-free. Satinaire is an Android-only app of AI-written romance and fantasy serials. Its FAQ says it is free to download and free to start reading, with ads between chapters, and its privacy policy names rewarded ads that unlock free chapters. Coins unlock the rest, but pack sizes and the coin cost of a chapter are not published. An account is required to use most features, and accounts need a user aged 17 or older.

Spicify is the case where the vendor disagrees with itself. Its App Store and Google Play text says The first chapter or trailer of every story is always free. Its FAQ says Yes. All books on Spicify are free to read with ads, with the Ink & Desire subscription removing ads at $4.99 a month on the website. The Google Play text says No ads or in-app purchases, while the App Store listing carries the advertising flag. We cannot resolve that without installing the app, so we do not call Spicify free.

Epictos is the opposite arrangement. Its listing says Completely Ad-Free, which is a vendor claim, and sells weekly, monthly and yearly subscriptions at $2.99, $5.99 and $39.99 on the App Store. It describes no free tier.

Free chapters, then coins

Five apps charge in coins or a pass once the free chapters run out. Roma's FAQ says each book has free preview chapters and that premium chapters unlock with tokens, which the App Store calls coins, bought in packs of 500 to 6,000 or earned through daily rewards. Dreame's App Store text offers DAILY REWARDS and free chapters, and GoodNovel's says it has a lot of in-app tasks that you can easily complete to obtain coins to continue reading new chapters. Neither Dreame nor GoodNovel says how many chapters are free or what a chapter costs in coins. Webnovel's Help Center index mentions free coins, but its answers load only on click and we did not read them, so how much of Webnovel is free is unconfirmed.

Lore is the only one of the five to give numbers, and its stores disagree. The iOS text says The first two chapters of every story are free to play, while the Google Play text says The first chapter of every story is free (20-45 minutes of play). Its pricing page gives every plan a 3-day free trial and says there are no gems and no paid choices, and the App Store copy adds Lore has no ads and no premium choices. The App Store list still carries a 2,000-message pack and a pack of two extra story paths, and what the message pack does is not explained.

If you came for explicit stories, check before you install: the terms of both GoodNovel and Dreame contain clauses against sexually explicit content, which the page on free porn story apps quotes.

Trials, which are not free

A trial ends. The apps that offer one are Dipsea (seven days, annual plan only), Ferly (seven days), Erotic Stories - Erotica (3 days, with the listing not saying which plan carries it or whether a card is needed) and Lore (3 days, on every plan). Pirr's premium page has a "Start free trial" button with no length stated, and BLANCHEstories has a button labelled FREE TRIAL, also with no length. Crave's Terms say only that Certain subscription offerings may include a free trial prior to charging your payment method. No Crave plan or length is named anywhere we read.

Dipsea's record lists no free plan, so its trial is the only free route into the library. Where a trial sits on a plan that renews, it is a subscription that has not charged you yet.

Free to download, free part unconfirmed

For the largest group, the record says only what the listing says. These apps are free to download on the stores we checked, and we could not confirm what the free part holds.

  • Chapters and Romance Club: Romance Club's store copy says Our games are free!, but neither has a public help page that says what the free part covers.
  • Love Sick: a subscriber perk of More free keys with faster recovery implies a free key timer, but its length is not stated.
  • Scripts: the subscription copy says Watch an ad after reading a chapter for 2x Diamonds, so ads reward diamonds, but the free allowance itself is not stated.
  • MeChat: MeChat is free to play, online game, and the free part is not described.
  • Whispers and Tabou Stories: free to download, with no description of the free part and no Tabou FAQ.
  • Crave: free to download, with one open sample story on its home page and nothing stated about the free part inside the app.
  • Yuu: Yuu is free to download and use, without saying what is free. It is an iPhone app.
  • Quinn: no free plan or trial is stated in the store text or the About page, which says Your first Rose is free with a new subscription.
  • Smuthie and Velvet Novel: Smuthie's listings describe no free tier, and Velvet Novel's iPhone listing says Some content or features may require coins, purchases, or premium access.

How to read a store listing for the free part

  1. Open the in-app purchase list first. Names such as "VIP Subscription" or "Weekly Membership" point to a subscription, and names such as "Pile of Keys" or "500 Coins" point to a currency. The App Store prints at most ten items, so the list can be partial.
  2. Look for the advertising flag. App Store listings print "Contains: Advertising" where it applies, and Google Play prints "Contains ads".
  3. Read the description for a number: chapters, stories, actions or days. If there is none, treat the free part as unconfirmed.
  4. Look for a help centre or FAQ with a sentence on the free tier. Choices, Winked and Dorian publish one. Chapters and Romance Club do not.

For ranked lists by handset, see the best erotica apps for iPhone and for Android, and for the wider field the best adult story apps. If a service you use works offline, how to read erotica offline explains what to check.

FAQ

Are adult story apps really free?

They are free to download. What is free after that depends on the app. Seven describe a free tier in detail, two are free with ads, five charge in coins or a pass after some free chapters, and for most of the rest the listing does not say. The hub page on free erotica explains the five kinds.

Which adult story app is free without ads?

Few apps say. Lore states Lore has no ads and no premium choices, but its free part is limited to opening chapters and a trial. Epictos claims to be ad-free and sells subscriptions. The free options without ads are websites: Archive of Our Own says it hosts no ads, and the Outfox Stories home page describes itself with No ads, no censorship, and no account required.

Do adult story apps work offline?

A few say so. BLANCHEstories' App Store text offers streamed or downloaded stories for offline listening, Roma lists offline reading, and Dipsea and Epictos describe downloads. Chapters, MeChat and Scripts say they are online games that need an internet connection.

Is there an adult story app for iPhone only, or Android only?

Satinaire is Android only, and its site names Google Play alone. Yuu, huush, Crave, Epictos and Velvet Novel are iPhone listings for which we found no Android listing by name search. For Yuu, the Terms say the app is currently available on iOS.

Are free adult story apps explicit?

A store rating cannot tell you. Dorian's guidelines say explicit sexual content is not welcome, and StoryLoom's Acceptable Use Policy says pornographic content is not permitted. Many of the other apps here have published no explicit-content policy at all. Our page on free porn story apps sets out what the services that do publish one say.

Sources

Official pages, documentation and store listings we read for this page (last check October 28, 2026).